Ratings based on 3,209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ks

close to beach. poor service.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: next to beach. nice view from balcony.
Cons: room service was awful. pool is limited in size. no service on beach. no activities.
Location: it did have good location. walking distance of atlantis and margaritaville. and a short cheap ferry ride to downtown shopping and senor frogs.
all service was poor. room service. dining service. it is close to the beach. also a small pool with bar. no service on beach. crowded on sand and in water. depth on beach drops off quickly, making the area crowded up along the shore. hotel in need of lots of maintenance. water is beautiful . food was below avg. all inclusive, was limited to what they wanted to provide for room service. room was clean enough. had to ask for washcloths and restock refrig. tv was poor reception and few channels for nighttime viewing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near Nice hotel beach not so nice

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice, house keeping excellent.
Cons: The attitude of the staff.
Location: The hotel is in a good location but the sea water is very rough. I had to go to another beach where the water was very calm.
The hotel was very clean, house keeping was excellent. The restaurant and bar employees not so nice. I felt that I was overlooked because I was alone. I felt invisible, they walked past my table to other tables asking the other people if they needed anything. I had to say excuse me numerous times to get a cup of tea. At the bar the employee took my order but totally forgot about me, thet took orders of the people that came after me. I asked did you forget that I ordered a x drink said they did forget and apologized but the deed was done. I will return to the island but not the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Had a good time, but...

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Spent 5 nights with husband and kids. The good: staff very nice, food very good- variety, taste, presentation. Beach was good but there were too much waves for the kids. Clear water with lots of fish. Rooms are good, simple but has what we need. The hotel is small so everything is close by. Comfortable when traveling with kids. The bad: very old hotel that needs renovations. Multiple leaks at diff places. Free wifi goes in and out all the time. No shampoo!! The body wash and hand soap is also the shampoo. They bring a conditioner though. Many "wet floor" spots. Only one pool that isn't kid friendly at all. special theme restaurants' food was so-so, but staff was nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best Birthday Week Ever at The Riu

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The staff in every venue is exceptional, as well as the accessibility of adult beverages and plentiful amounts of good food. Managers get gold stars.
Cons: A 2nd bigger pool, but there are plenty of chaise lounges around this pool. The retractable overhead awnings are great for sun or shade.
Location: Walking distance to Atlantis and casino is possible, but courtesy transportation for elderly would be nice.
The front desk, housekeeping, food servers, entertainers, managers are all wonderful. I was celebrating my 70th birthday with 12 family members. We were here a week and ate at all 4 restaurants. The menus and ambience each different. Food, service and wine in each very good. The breakfast buffet is amazing. I could not have had a better time. It was a fabulous vacation destination. The RIU is directly on the beach. Only steps from the swim up pool bar to the beach with umbrellas and chaise lounges.There seem to be less small children here than at Atlantis if that's a deciding factor for you. Plus, I appreciated the rule for men to wear long pants for dinner. In fact I appreciated all the rules at the RIU.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel on beach ...friendly staff ..great food and drinks...pool is beautiful...everything was wonderful . I would highly recommend this hotel. I can't wait to go again!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

Nice beach , outdated hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I feel really bad giving the hotel a bad review because I did have a great time at the beach. The hotel desperately needs a makeover . It seems as though they are cutting costs where they can. On the 15th floor is chaos because you have to wait forever for the elevator which is where my parents were. On the 7th floor where I was , the roof leaked. Carpets were torn in both rooms. Walls need a serious coat of paint. Rooms smell. Buffett needs to amp the quality up. I won't go into detail but a few situations the buffet was lets just say below par. This place has massive potential! Give it some TLC , Riu! Come on!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laguna hills california

Excellent location beautiful beach

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Well our room had the best view ever but the hotel is outdated the carpets were torn and it had a funky smell . I don't understand why they don't spend money to improve this beautiful hotel! The staff were the best ever very kind!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stoughton, MA

Great dinning experience.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Ocean view, all inclusive and friendly staff
Cons: There should be a computer and printer for guess to acces flight without being charges.
Location: Atlantic next door
Food are great, all waits staffs are professional Friendly and pleasant, over all experience are wonderful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

It was an OK experience. You get what you paid for

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Beach. Alcohol. Some food. You get what you paid for.
Cons: Hotel condition. Internet service. Better beach chairs, well maintained.
Location: Rose Island trip. Down town food. Atlantis pass.
Staff: some are friendly and some are extremely rude. Pool: small, one pool, at the end of the day it's full of sun screen lotion floating on the surface. Gets cleaned only during the night. Closes at 7. Room layout: you see the beach from an angle from the balcony. Superior view option offers nothing special. Food: stick with the buffet. Specialty restaurants are not as good as expected. Drinks: Bar tenders know their stuff. Ask for an extra shot of Rum if you want a good kick. Hotel condition: Roof was dripping AC water and they had buckets on the floor IN THE LOBBY for 3 days. Rooms are in fair condition. Phones in the room have no directory. Ask the front desk for extensions to room service and to the front desk. Internet does NOT work especially in higher floors. They had the router hanging off the ceiling on the 2nd floor with a wire. Room service for food after midnight: It's a hit or miss. You may get your order but then again you may not. Beach: AMAZING. Closes at 7. Concierge services: BEWARE OF WHAT THEY SAY AND COMPARE TO THE BROCHURE. Rose island is a pristine place with NO entertainment except the amazing water and beach. The boat trip was good. Half a day is more than enough. Atlantis pass: 160$ per person. Book a long time in advance (may be sold out). Fun. Water park. Lazy river. Expensive food and drinks (Not as good as expected). Casinos. very fancy environment. Down town: Gone Bananas and Twin Brothers offer very good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Graduation Trip

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Took my son for his high school graduation gift. Great value for money .... All inclusive great for anytime dining.