Ratings based on 2,441 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

Good place for the money

Posted Feb 20, 2017
It was a nice 7 nights stay. Most of the staff is nice and helpful. Food is ok. Could be better but still not bad. Hotel is old but it didn't bother us that much. Room was clean and bed was nice (that is the most important) We came here for the beach and beach was perfect. Water is so clean and beautiful. They have a free Wifi in the hotel but after 2 days of using it they started to kicking us out and we wasn't able to use it for the rest of the vacation and no body was able to fix it. Like i said good for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

close to beach and Alantis next door

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: great location
Cons: did not like that you could not reserve your dinner reservations, all other RIU we have been to you can reserve and that let you plan you day
Location: Love location
We went day before valantines just me and my husband, like to due to not many kids, also great location close to everything, took a couple of excurisions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great View and Comfort

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Food, location of room, bed, beach, drinks
We had room 1128. The view was gorgeous especially in the mornings with the sunrise flowing into the room. We had a king size bed and was very comfy. The food was delicious with a lot of healthy options. We enjoyed the Mimosas with our breakfast and the Mojitos were also very good. The staff was very helpful and entertaining. We felt very safe in Riu as security personnel was keeping an eye on making sure no outsiders came in. One thing is if you have small children there is not much for them to do except swim in the pool or play on the beach. You could purchase day tickets to Atlantis which is next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigam

Winter paradise vacation destination

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Check in and out was extremely quick and easy. The hotel was clean. Staff was friendly. Plenty of tasty food anytime you want. If you want a fancier dining experience, there are 3 dining rooms you can go to, but there is limited seating, so get there at least 30 minutes early to get a spot. Also remember to bring pants and a shirt with sleeves. It doesn't have to be fancy, but they don't allow shorts or sleeveless shirts. Parasailing and jet ski rental is available on the beach behind the hotel. Some require cash but one will take credit cards. We booked parasailing on Expedia and were able to walk to the hotel beach and get on. It was amazing. The hotel does have airports transfers, but you have to pay for it. Catching a taxi anywhere on the island is extremely easy. Taxi drivers wait outside the hotel all the time. It's about a 25 minute walk to Atlantis in a nice area that feels safe. I might recommend a premium ocean view because the room faced atlantis cove resort, but when you're on the balcony you could see the ocean. Ice is only available on some floors, not all of them, so you might have to go to another floor to get ice. Every night around 8 they had a show, so you don't have to leave the hotel for entertainment. There was also staff at the pool to rally people to play games and dance, but the pool atea clears out about 5pm every day. No matter where you are in the hotel, you can always get a drink. A taxi to the main land is $12-$13, to the airport it's $35- $38.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very nice property. The staff is great. The place is squeaky clean. Food and drinks the best. Stay there you will get a great bargain. I have nothing but praise for this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Cons: Reservations at the specialty restaurants are not taken. This should be changed to alleviate guest becoming angry.
The staff at this location is outstanding! They couldn't be more helpful, and they are the most pleasant group of people I've ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, had a great time

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The staff was friendly, the food was great, and the amenities were on oint.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Disappointing. Expected better.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Great food. Some of the staff was very friendly. Good pool area (pic attached) and beach as well.
Cons: Don't advertise non ocean view rooms as ocean view, wifi, stocking bars, buffet service, solidify a plan for dinner seatings.
Location: Right next to the Atlantis resort, so plenty of shopping and gaming there. Ocean front with beach and pool. 10 minute walk to a water taxi to Nassau
The one PRO I will mention is the food, which was excellent. We went to all the restaurants in the hotel during our stay, and they were great. CONS 1) Not ocean view - Advertised as such, but it certainly wasn't, unless you count the slivers of the ocean you could see between large trees and the roof of the 1st floor restaurant (we were on the second floor -- pic submitted with this review). 2) WiFi - Terrible. Didn't work at all for maybe 1/4 of our four night stay. Spotty the rest of the time. Very frustrating. 3) Bars - The pool bar ran out of mint leaves two days in a row, not good for mojito drinkers, and then ran out of orange juice one day. OJ!!! So many island rum drinks have OJ. Sorry, out of luck. 4) Buffet service - They come by to serve you a drink after you sit down, but you'd better only want one drink because they're not coming back. 5) Confusing restaurant seatings - Okay, so the hotel restaurants are advertised as having two seating times for dinner, but when you're there, they basically throw that out the window, saying dinner just starts at 6:30 and you can come whenever. BUT -- some of the restaurants operate as if there still are seatings. It's not just continual seating like a usual restaurant and like the front desk tells you once you arrive. We got the hang of it by day 3, but days 1 and 2 were frustrating, as we had to wait when multiple tables were open inside the restaurant we wanted to visit. 6) Bad TV remote - Barely worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Relaxing to be at

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and walking distance to a lot of other things to do
Cons: As I mentioned above the staff needs to be told that what they do is really appreciated .
Location: If anyone reads this they should really do the Powerboat Adventure . It is so worth it. A fun filled day that you will enjoy.
We go to the Bahamas to celebrate my husbands birthday . We stay at this Hotel everytime. However this time it was a little different that's why I gave hotel staff a 3 star rating . The staff just didn't seem as happy this time around kinda somber really. We just thought they were having a bad week. That won't stop us from coming back because we enjoy being there. I would absolutely recommend this place to friend and family. We just think the staff needs a little pick me up .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very friendly and hospitable country, found people to be very genuine. Plenty to do while vacationing.