Ratings based on 3,578 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: noise & elevators
too much construction noise leaks in hallways elevators crowded
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

Hope it's better after the remodel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Hotel is dated and needs some updates.The staff is helpful, friendly and outgoing.The food on the buffet is just ok. The speciality restaurants are good.The entertainment was lame. They have a large theater which holds over 100 people and they were putting on shows in the lobby near the lobby bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our room was nice but that's about it.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel was falling apart from water plumbing damage of some sort leaky ceilings. They are closing apparently to redo the place but I wish they told us that before we booked it because for our entire trip all we heard were saws and hammers on a vacation. They woke us up each morning drilling, sawing, hammering, and continued until night time. There was no relaxation. You heard this in your room, at the beach, and the pool. They didn't even play music to drown out the sound it was terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Renovations during stay

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Riu should have been closed. Hear constant hsmmering/drilling from 7am- 6:30pm in room, pool/beach areas; can't sleep late nor take naps. Ceiling leak in main lobby area. One day water was shut down throughout resort from 11am-5pm. Front desk said to fill bathtub with water to flush toilet. Specialty restaurants began closing down midweek. Staff was wonderful under the circumstances but limited number of staff by midweek.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

No water!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hotel under construction and should not have been open to the public. Front desk wasn't sympathetic or accommodating. Rodents running around. 1 day without water due to testing. The room above me was under construction and I had a cloud of dust in my room the same day I didn't have water. Was extremely loud as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

This hotel should never have been rented

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Balcony door never worked, had to go off site in order to be able to have a nice vacation which cost extra money. Rat and rat traps at hotel because of renovations. Water turned off during stay. Paid for an ocean view and received view of concrete. Lobby ceiling leaking water on our heads. Restaurants closed during stay. Room key worked sporadically.. very disappointed in Expedia for not researching hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Hotel Disappointment

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly front desk and door staff members. "Most" of the waitstaff/bartenders are attentive and friendly. Food was very good.
Cons: Rodent and pest control issue.
Location: Beach is steps away. Having access to Atlantis was a plus.
Worst experience ever. Roaches in room and main dining room. Water leaks from ceiling in room. Water leaks all over lobby. Buckets placed all over lobby to stop water flow. Rats racing back and forth outside dining room area creating an unpleasant outdoor dining experience. Cruise ships bring tour guests to beach. Unfortunately RIU guests share space with tour guests. When it was really busy hotel guests were not able to get seating/umbrellas. We found a lot of non RIU guests occupying chairs which is unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. New York

Perfection

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great place great people, food, drinks and very close to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach, nice friendly staff good food.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This was a.wonderful trip. Friendly helpful staff, we were able to book fun activities right at the hotel. Good food. The only negative were the bratty kids running around not the hotel's fault it was the parents not watching them. We had ocean front junior suites. Really nice rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Hotel is older but staff is very nice and attentive. Only problem we had was the construction that went on every morning between 7-8. Kinda of a disappointment for vacation. All in all a good stay!