Ratings based on 3,507 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sonya

Posted May 19, 2017
It's a very great hotel staff excellent ,excellent food , I could recommend to any one .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Awesome hotel loved it there can't wait until next year when we go back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL- NIGHTMARE!!!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing- other than the fact that it was next door to the Atlantis, so when we relocated there we didnt need to get a cab.
Cons: The entire hotel should be torn down and rebuilt. Hire new staff that knows something about hospitality.
Location: Overcrowded beach. Atlantis next door which has a lot of things to do but very overpriced.
Worst "vacation" of my life. So many things wrong with this place. To start, we got to the hotel front desk to check-in and the ceiling almost caved in. No exaggeration- dust and wood started falling down and it looked like whoever was in the room above was about to fall through the floor. The rooms (all of them) smelled like mold mixed with Pine-Sol. The smell was unbearable and there was mold and rust all over. It was clear they had extensive water damage from the hurricane in October that had not been taken care of. The staff were extremely rude, to the point where we didnt feel comfortable taking drinks from the pool lady. I felt extremely uncomfortable even walking through the lobby. The hotel is advertised as "all inclusive" and that is a scam. Yes, there is a free buffet and free 24-hour room service, however the food is not edible. I heard the restaurant food was better, but the restaurants are impossible to get into unless you go down an hour in advance and stand in line (they don't accept reservations, first come first serve), and you are forced to eat between the hours of 6:30pm-9:00pm which is when the restaurants are open. The pool "entertainment" was ridiculous, the music was terrible, and the wait staff were not attentive. The beach wasnt much better- overly crowded due it being the only public beach and vendors everywhere- impossible to relax anywhere! We ended up booking a room elsewhere and left the trip early to cut our losses. Avoid this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Waterfront hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
The experience was great! The resort staff were friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food/ service, small hotel/ mediocre ameniti

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel was a lot smaller than expected, and the rooms were unimpressive. The king bed was two double beds pushed together and the rooms themselves looked old and in need of a makeover. The pool was also very small and filled up quickly. However, the staff, service and food was excellent. The drinks also actually had alcohol in them and weren't water down unlike other all inclusiveness I've been too. There was only 4 restaurant options and the specialty ones were very small only sitting about 60 people so it wAs first come first serve, but the food and service was excellent !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Good beach is about it!

Posted May 10, 2017
Our room was right over the air conditioning system, plus infested with ants! We couldn't hear anything but the air conditioner, so our balcony door could never be opened! On day 2, our room had ants everywhere! I demanded a new room and housekeeping acted like I was an inconvenience saying they didn't see any "bugs", only "ants". It was a big deal to me when I woke up and they were all over me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place to stay right on beach!! super staff

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Awesome
Location: Atlantis right next door! Beach n ocean front . Perfect location
Amazing .. perfect! Ocean beach front . Location perfect. Staff super friendly n catered to our needs . I will def stay there again . Clean and modern could not of been happier!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Riu Palace Paradise Island is fantastic

Posted May 6, 2017
I only have wonderful and positive things to say about this resort. We arrived around 11a and check in starts at 3pm. The front desk personnel were attentive, did our pre check-in, and gave us a bracelet so we could have breakfast/ brunch at restaurant. We explored the outdoors, stay at pool for 20 minutes, a cheerful waiter offered many drinks. For our surprise, the front desk found us a room for early check-in. We didn't ask. Staff does their best to accommodate you and make sure you're having a good time. Great pool with bar, drinks flowing. Good entertainment, dancing, and games for all ages by the pool. Live music at lobby every night. Nice beach, warm water, and bring a tiny piece of bread to the beach, so fish will swim around you. The International Buffet had a cuisine theme every night. We were very pleased with Japanese and Greek nights. Great service, wine and mimosas on demand. It was my first time traveling here. I have to say that I was happy that I bough an all-inclusive package. You get very little for your money if you go to a regular restaurant. It's much more expensive than Hawaii. I have no idea how someone can complain about this place.Just please have respect and consideration for the natives. We always had a good conversation with vendors, waiters, bell man, etc. Bahamians have a zest for life. Paradise Island is clean and safe. Marina's village is so pretty. They sell Atlantis day pass at hotel. Riu Palace is pure joy and I can't wait to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Very near the Atlantis property, so that you could walk over and enjoy it as well.
Cons: The swimming pool is looking a bit worn out. It had repairs in several places.
This was my first stay at this hotel, though I have stayed at other RIU properties. The room was clean, staff was friendly and accommodating, and the food was fresh and well prepared.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not go there!

Posted May 3, 2017
Hotel was dirty, staff was extremely rude and food was awful. I would never go back to this hotel. I travel twice a year and have never encountered such an experience. They should be shut down.