Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great resort with access to private island

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We had a great room with beach, island and pool view from private balcony. Buffet was great and food in restaurants was just ok. Gym and spa were excellent but pool was not heated and s little chilly as were the piano bar and pub. Staff was extremely friendly and more than just polite. Suggestions for improvement: better quality of alcohol, better room service, heat pool, turn down air in bars and pub, Overall we would definitely return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
It's so nice to stay at Sandals - the hotel complex is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are so nice and welcoming. There is a fantastic choice of restaurants (we didn't get to eat in all of them!) and the food is really good. There are two main pool areas, both with swim up pool bars, with plenty of sun loungers available. Sandals has its own beach, but better than that, it has its own offshore island half a mile away which was amazing! The beaches are fantastic and the sea is lovely to paddle in! The island also has its own restaurant and pool area. Visiting the island was one of the best days we had. The only negatives are that, whilst the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, they are very much on "island time"! We found that we often had to wait for quite a long time, particularly at check in and in some of the restaurants, and if you are used to city life this is a little frustrating. The selection of trips offered at the travel desk could also be more varied.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort experience. New Sandals fan

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Couples only policy. No kids and no drunk buddies being obnoxious at the resort. The staff is amazing always helpful and friendly
Cons: The pools should be heated. In the evening they have very nice blue lighting that makes you want to swim. But it was freezing cold and I jumped out!
Location: The private island is a must. The experience would not be the same without it!
Crystal clear water at the island. I felt like I was swimming in Jello. There was plenty of private lounge areas and the food was excellent for an all inclusive resort. Just don't expect premiere USDA prime steakhouse quality food and you'll be just fine. The included room service was great. Better burgers than the island restaurant. We noticed employees are there much longer than the standard 8 hours a day and can see some of them looking exhausted. They maintained a smile and excellent customer service which was impressive. We ran into only one lady that was cranky at the bar and you can tell the other staff did not like her. When she was not around the bar was much more lively and fun to work with the bartenders. I would definitely consider Sandals where they are available for all my future vacations. It was amazin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

great value for your money.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Visit to the private Island
Cons: Speed at check in... Also, the photos on the brochures are retouched! The size of the Beachdid not match the reality !
Location: Not much to tell... usual Bahamas fun..
First time at an all inclusive for us. Were surprised what a great value for money this was.. Had to 4 hrs. at check In, to get to our room and it wasn't as expected !!. They seem to care more for groups than individuals. Overall, thevstagf was very friendly... and the restaurants wrecvgood. We nhoyedcour 3 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waited so long for a room

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Because of a mishap at the airport, I was inable to check in on a Thursday afternoon. I called to notify the resort that I would be arriving the following day. When I arrived at 1pm the following day, my room was not ready, and was made to wait 2 hours before the room was ready. What strongly bothered me was that I had paid for the previous night, and yet still, my room wasn't ready. Then when I finally get into my room, the toilet overflowed with one flush so my entire room had to be cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Terrible service -- at best LACKADAISICAL!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Dining facilities had good service but the food at the resort was mediocre at best.
Cons: EVERYTHING! The very first person graciously greeted us with warm/moist hand towels. Service was TERRIBLE thereafter. Dining staff OK, food not!
Location: I really can't remember. I was counting the days until we could leave. I have NEVER had such poor service. TV advertisements are deceiving.
My son got married at the facility (butler service). We were a group of about 24, checking in under 12 different names. From the time my 2 reservations arrived we were told that we'd be escorted to our rooms "in about 5 minutes." An hour later, after having complained about the delay, we were once again stalled. However, this time another couple in our group arrived. TWO AND A HALF HOURS LATER all six of us were fed up and complained vociferously. Thirty minutes later four of us were finally escorted to our room, and an hour later the last two were finally escorted to their room. After the first hour of waiting and observing other parties arriving, I formed the opinion that the check-in staff were not only ill-prepared but also had a lackadaisical attitude, and the lackadaisical attitude we found prevailed throughout the resort (with the exception of the dining facilities). When our stay was finally over, we asked for a morning wake-up call at 4:00 A.M. We awakened on our own to discover it was 4:15, and our luggage was to be picked up at 4:20. We met with the other reservation arriving with us and boarded our transportation vehicle. Another couple boarded as well. The very courteous driver cheerily asked "How was your stay?" He was met with a resounding response: TERRIBLE! Even after we were escorted to our rooms and my son apprised the staff that he wanted the resort to take good care of us during our 5-day stay, he was given lip service. WE'LL NOT RETURN
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

10 year anniversary getaway

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Staff was very friendly and attentative. The pools were very cold, even the hot tubs were not heated. The water pressure in the room was so weak, the shower head couldn't spray water out of all spouts, and had to take a cold shower a couple times. There were more things to write about. Overall not a great place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Booked our trip 7 months in advance. A week before our honeymoon we got an email stating it would be closed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stpete fl

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: beach access
Cons: revamp the villas
Location: casino
Great food , room needed renovation , Expedia let me down could Hav saves 10% on hotel if they let me know about military discount which Expedia didn't mention. Wouldn't book they Expedia again , would ck either the hotel first !!!
5 out of 5
by Sunni from Mountain View

Amazing resort... staff needs a happy pill though

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I LOVED this resort. The pools were great. The restaurants were WONDERFUL (especially Bacarat & Gordon's at the Pier). When we checked in, Dawn and the other gentleman at the front desk were great, friendly and personable... However, the rest of the staff were a little rough around the edges. Not the friendliest. I've heard this is just kind of "how it is" in the Bahamas but for the price of the hotel, I was hoping this resort would be the exception to that. Unfortunately, it is not. So, pack your bags and prepare for a great view, wonderful amenities and some excellent cuisine but do not expect to enjoy the company and presence of the staff at this place.