Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

This was our first and last stay at a Sandals

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Our stay was only OK (at best), not good or great; which was very disappointing considering the cost of the trip and the Sandals reputation. There were a number of things that really dissappointed us with our stay. First off I will say we have stayed at 5 different all inclusive resorts in different locations, so we knew what to expect, and it did not meet expectations. By far, the biggest upset was that we both only ate and drank at the resort and we both ended up with FOOD POISONING which ruined 2 days of our stay. Beyond that, there were very few activities to do, the drinks were poorly made(not even mixed/shaken), restaurant service was very slow (average dinner took 1.5 hours for 2 of us), dirty dishes in the room were not replaced by the cleaning people, the bars smelled extremely bad of old spilled beer, the poolside bars were SWARMING with bees (no one could sit by the bars), the room service menu was a joke for the extra cost, I could go on but I will stop here. The beach was nice, private island was nice, and food was good until we got food poisoning. All in all, the service and experience is what I would have expected from an all inclusive that should cost half the price of what I paid to stay at Sandals. This is the most expensive all inclusive we stayed at, and it was by far the worst. I have never got food poisoning from any other all inclusive resort or international vacation. I am shocked at how high their review rating is. BEWARE!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl.

yes, private setting

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: hospitality and courtesy
Cons: more entertainment at night.
Location: everything self contained.
enjoyed the vacation , everyone their showed great hospitality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Terrible service

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Rooms were nice
Cons: Service
Location: Had a great meal on New Year's Eve at Graycliffs in town. Did some jet skiing and snorkeling.
The staff at this particular Sandals were so fake, they tried to be nice , but think no one at the hotel had the authority to make a decision. We would make a reservation and get to the restaurant and they couldn't find our names. Had a lot of trouble just getting a fresh towel, used mine for 3 days and needed a new one. Asked for more towels and received floor mats. Expedia gave me 175.00 spa credit and sandals could never find the credit, even after I showed them on my reservation. Overall the staff just could not help with anything! If you go make sure you get a butler. We only ordered room service for breakfast one time and took over an hour. Will not be going back to this particular sandals. Go to Atlantis .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Five star experience, exceeded our expectation!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
This is our 2nd Xmas at the Royal Bahamian. The whole experience is amazing. I've never met a staff of friendlier people from the valet to the people serving drinks or handing out towels at the pool, each person is nicer & more helpful than the next. They don't let you do a single thing! With 10 restaurants on site, the food is good & choices are plentiful. Really not a negative thing to say!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great beach, Restaurants and Service.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Modernize the hallways to the rooms and bathrooms in rooms a little.
Location: A short taxi ride to downtown, hourly free boat ride to beautiful private island.
Excellent location, great beach, boat ride to Sandal's private beach. Very good food selections and staff friendliness and service outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

relax in paradise

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Amazing beach, amenities, service, food, and staff! Very relaxing vacation for couples!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great amenities

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Food, service, whirlpools, piano bar, Sandal's Island, and snorkeling.
Cons: I wish the pools were warmer. A bit too chilly in December for unheated pools so spent most of the time in the whirl pools.
Location: Quick ride from the airport which was great. The hotel included snorkeling, sailboats, kayaks, paddle boards, and a boat to Sandal's Island.
Just about everything was perfect. The food was great and we tried a majority of restaurants. Drinks were good, and it was nice to have the mini bar in the room too. Staff at the bars/restaurants were quick and courteous. The staff on site was polite and greeted us throughout the day. The pools and whirl pools were very nice and there were plenty of chairs around the property to lay in the sun or under an umbrella. The snorkeling was fun, as well as, the short boat ride over to Sandal's island. Very impressed with the cleanliness inside and outside of the hotel. My only complaint is since we were there in December, I wish the pools (or at least one of the two pools) were heated. It was in the high 70/80 degrees and there was a cool breeze most of the week, and one day was cloudy overcast so the pool just wasn't an option most of the week. But the whirlpools were a great alternative and really everything was better than we expected and I would highly recommend to friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Offered all I expected, they just did not deliver.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Great facilities including restaurants.
Cons: Staff to respond in a timely manner, 2 hours for a drink to be deliver on the only 2 occasions I asked. Hot food delivered cold!!!
Location: Location was good, easy to get to Nassau.
"We will deliver to your room", allow 2 hours for a bottle of champagne and 90 minutes for a hot meal to be delivered cold. Staff are groomed to behave in a certain way, yes sir, no sir, but they do not deliver on their promises. The staff are forgetful and some are arrogant. I believe there had been a recent turnover of staff and it showed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great resort with access to private island

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We had a great room with beach, island and pool view from private balcony. Buffet was great and food in restaurants was just ok. Gym and spa were excellent but pool was not heated and s little chilly as were the piano bar and pub. Staff was extremely friendly and more than just polite. Suggestions for improvement: better quality of alcohol, better room service, heat pool, turn down air in bars and pub, Overall we would definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
It's so nice to stay at Sandals - the hotel complex is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are so nice and welcoming. There is a fantastic choice of restaurants (we didn't get to eat in all of them!) and the food is really good. There are two main pool areas, both with swim up pool bars, with plenty of sun loungers available. Sandals has its own beach, but better than that, it has its own offshore island half a mile away which was amazing! The beaches are fantastic and the sea is lovely to paddle in! The island also has its own restaurant and pool area. Visiting the island was one of the best days we had. The only negatives are that, whilst the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, they are very much on "island time"! We found that we often had to wait for quite a long time, particularly at check in and in some of the restaurants, and if you are used to city life this is a little frustrating. The selection of trips offered at the travel desk could also be more varied.