Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great swim pools by the beach

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: It's a 3.5 stars but if you can get a good deal, go for it! You may get a little more if you choose a 5* but you'll have to pay for it.
Cons: Wi-fi was okay.
Location: It is 20 min walk from Ponta Negra, at night it might be not so safe to walk and during the day too hot. You may need a bus or taxi to leave.
Despite a slow start due to our expedia booking was not in the hotel system (luckily they were not sold out) I'm happy with my stay. Vila do Mar is one of the oldest hotel on Via Costeira built in the 80's . Rooms are good size and clean. All of them have ocean view. You need to ask for a key to use room's safety box. The hotel is by the beach and has 4 great pools. My booking included 1 meal which we chose dinner, I would not recommend to get all meals included so you can enjoy the region culinary .
4 out of 5
by Ernesto olivera

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

World Cup Bliss

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We stayed here during the World Cup and couldn't have had a better experience. It was a bit far away from Ponta Negra but we had no trouble getting taxis to and from there. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful Would definitely recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Canada

Connect to Ocean

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Open atmosphere between pool, restaurant and ocean!
Cons: 110V outlets in rooms.
Location: Parque Das Dunas , Fort Reis Magos
Stayed 3 days at the beginning of World Cup. Good hotel to experience the coast at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
by Chris from Lansing, Michigan

Great ocean view, tranquility, and isolation

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels
If you get an ocean view room, it will not disappoint. Overall, the facilities were clean, and most important, the WiFi worked. The glaring drawback is that this resort is off of the main road running north of Natal, close to Ponta Negra, and is thus very isolated. Beyond other nearby resorts, you will not within walking distance to any restaurants or stores. Should you desire isolation and the constant sound of the rough ocean, this is your place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fredburgram

Great escape

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Orbitz
Stayed here for just a couple of days during our World Cup trip and had a great time. The location is a little bit out of town but that is compensated for by the great views of the ocean and the sand dunes. Room was small but perfectly functional and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Great experience.
2 out of 5
by Lise from toronto

horrible

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: lost cause , too much to be worth it!
Location: isolated nothing to do, nothing near by. all you got is hotel food and no where close to go. no activity at the hotel and no antertainment .
My paper\reservation said luxury room !! what a joke,,,,the room had no clock\ alarm clock, no hot water, the bed only had a tiny sheet no cover, air conditioning had no control and it rattle so loud !! it's either you freeze or turn it off and you can't breath too hot. when it broke down after 2 days they did not want to fix it ! I had to yell and bring my stuff in the lobby and laydown on the cough,,, for them to give me another room! you just touch the phone you are charged, weather or not you got connection!! and they don't tell you either,,, even when someone calls you, or even if it's in town,,,, 2 people called me, they never gave me my messages. you try to speak your best Portuguese no one cares or helps you, only when they found out I was Canadian then they tried to help me and understand. (they thought I was American) and there are NO activities and no entertainments,,, nothing!! I will never ever go there again!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deecepiece

One night only

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Orbitz
We only stayed at Hotel Vila do Mar for one night. We saw that the normal price for a night at the hotel is much more than what we paid, and I can't say I would have paid full price for a night's stay here. The place is under construction, so maybe things will be better by their World Cup deadline. The room was nice, although the floor could be redone and the tv had broken buttons. The hot water on the shower was a little tricky to work, but got the job done. We woke up at 7a to the sound of a jackhammer outside our window. That was great .... Otherwise, good food, right on the beach, nice pool area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mmgra

Excellent Location, Poor Rooms

Posted Feb 28, 2012 on Orbitz
I was there for couple of days end of February during a business trip. The location is unique, half way from the Punta Preta restaurants and the old city of Natal. The beach, the palms, the sand are amazing. It's simply a postcard location! The hotel is a bit old, the rooms need to be refurbished. They seems quite clean anyway. The service is very good, people there is very friendly and try to help. The meals are ok, nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MiamiTraveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2012 on Orbitz
First the bad - you can clearly see from the beach side that the hotel is older and needs painting. The rooms are small but comfortable enough. Now the good - the other amenities are great though! Every single room has an ocean front view, the staff is very friendly, the food is delicious and one of the pools faces the ocean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a great time in this beautiful city.