Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Tx

Great place to stay in this small historical town!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Robin, the cook was awesome! Her food was delicious, and she was very personable! She is a Natchez native, so she could answer any questions we had.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Small town....everything close by!
Pretty house in a very quiet neighborhood! We were in the Louise Room, which was great! Inn Keepers were out of town, but their substitutes, Kathrine and John took great care of us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
should mention on website that Alice is in an annex
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murrells inlet, SC

Little Easy

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Location was great near Rosalie and Stanton Hall.
B & B was great. Loved sitting by the fire pit in the backyard just having a glass of wine chillin. You actually stay up the street in their cottage which was also beautifully furnished.,Being our first time in Natchez they had a lot of suggestions for us to try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dawson Creek, BC

Everything was great.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Walking distance to downtown Natchez restaurants.
Nicely decorated and furnished bedroom and dining room. Excellent breakfast and service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem of Southern hospitality in a historic town.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed for just one night as I was passing through town. Hospitality was perfectly balanced between attentive and not intrusive. The property has several indoor/outdoor sitting areas. It is an easy walk to the river and to historic old town for a meal. The property gave a sense of history without feeling you were in a stuffy museum. The owners exercise the finest qualities of hospitality. I loved the coffee outside my room in the early morning. Breakfast was delicious. I plan to return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Devereaux

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in Alice room which, to our surprise, is in a separate building down the street. Room was poorly laid out with two queen beds opposite each other so only one could view tv. Bathroom soaps etc are not premium and are dispensed from a push pump mounted on the shower wall. Tacky. Inadequate heat on a cold night. Breakfast is a little late at 8:30. Town center is a long walk; best to drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016
It is unfortunate these guests were unable to distinguish from our multiple marketing listings that our luxury Bed & Breakfast consists of two separate Victorian homes, our 1893 Queen Anne Main Devereaux Shields House and our 1873 Victorian Aunt Clara’s Cottage. We do allow guests to select between our more luxurious two 2-room suites in our main house and 4 more economical gracious guest rooms in our cottage. All our guest rooms do contain the same luxury Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities dispensed in wall-mounted eco-friendly containers to avoid the more typical and wasteful small bottles. We have found the vast majority of our guests, including families, girl-friends, or multiple guests traveling together, very much appreciate the multiple beds arrangement in our Alice Room that includes a queen bed and an antique full-tester canopy bed. The room includes a comfortable Victorian couch and stuffed chair for TV enjoyment besides the beds. The room does include a supplemental oil radiator electric heater stored in the closet. We do offer early or late breakfast options for guest’s convenience upon request. We are an easy 5-7 blocks or a 0.5 mile walk from the heart of downtown and an equal distance to an amazing view of the Mississippi River. Certainly driving is a quicker option, however a delightful stroll into town features a myriad of wonderful historic homes everywhere along the way to enjoy. We are sorry these guests seemed uptight about their stay and did not feel comfortable enough to bring these issues to our attention. Regards, Ron Fry Owner/Innkeeper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The best part of Natchez was this wonderful place. So comfortable and clean and hospitable! We stay in a lot of B&Bs but this was my fav over all. They are pet friendly and I really enjoyed the outdoor facilities.. Absolutely fabulous !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Ron Fry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do allow pets to accompany their owners in our Aunt Clara's Cottage as more families are traveling together these days. Finally, we do take great pleasure in creating outdoor garden rooms for our guests to enjoy. Kind Regards, Ron Fry Owner/innkeeper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, Miss.

You couldn't ask for a more pleasant place to stay

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The rooms were spotless and contained everything you need for a very comfortable and relaxing visit. The owners live there.
Cons: No improvements needed
Location: Natchez is full of historical places to visit. Good restaurants.
Most importantly the persons serving you from the owners to the kitchen staff were gracious, welcoming and competent. The staff waiting on us at breakfast anticipated our every need and were exceptionally pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property; friendly hosts!

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Comfort, style and privacy.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: History and the Trace.
Ron was the consummate host. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Devereaux Shields House, a beautiful, Natchez historic property. If you're looking for a great place to stay in Natchez, you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy from Somerset

Comfortable haven in Natchez.

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in the main house in a vast suite with verandah. There were no other guests. The house is a late nineteenth-century villa, beautifully preserved and furnished in character but with modern bathrooms and a pretty little garden at the back (with off-street parking). The whole area is composed of similar villas, set in a picturesque, quiet, leafy suburb just a few blocks from downtown. The breakfasts are served in the 'annex' (another smaller house) across the street. The breakfasts (at a set time and with all the other guests) are excellent and the care and quality of the service exemplary - for example, there is a 'happy hour' of wine and nibbles. The hosts know everything there is to know about Natchez and region and will recommend and book (excellent) restaurants for you, advise on tours etc. It's a great little town and this must be one of the best places to stay.