Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menifee

Posted May 9, 2018
2nd stay at this beautiful b&b in Natchez. Ron was an amazing host. Room and house is truly representative of the “Old South”. Will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2018 by Victorian Comfort, Hotel Management
Dear Mark & Kathy, You are great guests and always welcome. We're very pleased you enjoy staying at our B&B and with us in Natchez. Maybe next time we can treat you to dinner. We much appreciate your kind words and fine review. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2018
Street parking. Wonderful home made breakfast. Welcoming host and hostess. Felt ‘homey’ in lovely old home.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2018 by Victorian Southern Comfort in Natchez, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in our 'homey' B&B, street parking, and our wonderful breakfast & hospitality. Thank you for your kind review. Please consider returning if you visit Natchez again. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Avery pleasant experience. Everything was just as promised
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Victorian Southern Confort, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, We are pleased you enjoyed your Natchez visit with us. Thank you for your kindness on your review. We appreciate it as it helps our small family-owned and operated B&B. You are most welcome to return. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It is run like a business

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Location, value for money.
Cons: Perhaps late-arrivers could pick up room keys at a local restaurant or some such arrangement.
Location: Stanton Hall, Longwood and St. Mary's Basilica were all worth visiting.
As with many other things you might do in Natchez, the Devereaux Shields House (a bit of a misnomer because our accommodations were in a more modest facility across the road) runs on a more fixed schedule than any other place I can think of staying in the past five years. So you need to arrive between 2 and 6 pm and have breakfast promptly at 8:30 am. If you can't do these things, accommodations can be made if you provide advance notice, though they seem like an imposition rather than normal stuff of the hospitality business. In the case of breakfast, it seems that the place setting for the person who arrived at 8:40 am would have been removed if it had not been for an intervention. One got the impression that the ladies preparing and serving breakfast were hired for a specific shift and would not be paid for any chore required after 10 am. It might have been 9:30 am considering the haste to move things along. That said, the breakfast was nice -- no complaints about that -- and our fellow guests were charming. It's just that "Ron and Eleanor", the unseen proprietors of this place, have not created the sort of easygoing, relaxing sort of experience that seems within their grasp. It could be my own preferences about what I hope for in lodgings, but I cannot concur with the distinction given to this place by Expedia. This was supposed to be a highlight of a two week trip. Unfortunately, it was not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2018 by Ron & Eleanor/Owners & Innkeepers, Hotel Management
Dear William, We are pleased your party enjoyed your Natchez experience that included touring many of our Historic Antebellum Homes, important city sites and our two Victorian Homes 1893 Main House and 1873 Aunt Clara’s Cottage that make up our Devereaux Shields House B&B. Our two homes provide guests comfortable choices in room accommodations (queen or king rooms and king suites), amenities and rates for good value. Such practices are quite common in our industry. We are sorry we missed your stay as we were away on a brief and rare break visiting family and enjoying our 1st grandson, now 18 months old. While away we did leave our Bed & Breakfast in the trusted hands of our fine staff with an established record for providing welcoming hospitality. We understand your desire for flexibility in checkin times and breakfast hours and service. We are exploring options for early or late risers who cannot make the full Southern breakfast we offer from 8:30am – 9:00am. Clearly our B&B strives for a fine balance between providing good hospitality, service and guest comfort and the realities of economical operation that supports a prosperous business. We have always been able to accommodate such issues in cooperation with understanding guests. Despite difficulties, our new-mother innkeeper did accommodate your last-minute booking and unannounced and late arrival time. We are sorry if our breakfast staff may have been perceived to be overly anxious with their service duties. We are proud of our 5-star track record of providing visiting guests of all ages a relaxing Victorian Southern Comfort experience for over 13 years. During this time we evolved policies and practices that provide a wonderfully relaxing experience for our guests. We apologize if your stay did not satisfy your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lees Summit, MO

first and last bed and breakfast for us

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Hosts were cool, and absent, for the most part, Room was freezing cold. Nice furnishings but difficult to enjoy the rooms because it was so cold. NOT a Southern breakfast at all. Food was barely warm and not particularly good. We were so disappointed. At least it was close to downtown and the riverfront. But, we will not stay at a bed and breakfast again after this experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Victorian Comfort, Hotel Management
Dear Guest “Teacher” We are truly sorry you experienced uncommon and uncomfortable conditions during our absence as we stated in our response to your previous similar review just days ago on this same visit. We appreciate you feel strongly about your views by posting two such reviews based on one visit to our family owned and typically 5-star Bed & Breakfast. Unfortunately a few guests experienced such conditions during our temporary absence on business travel. We apologize you did not experience our delightful 3-course breakfast that we have provided our guests for over 12 years. You should have enjoyed our usual fresh-cut fruit, an entrée with sides of southern grits or potatoes and side meats, and baked-goods, pastry or toast accompanied by local jams & butter all to a background of relaxing music and fireside in colder weather. We have a relatively new cook who we’ve recently learned was taking shortcuts and plating breakfast dishes well before they were served to the guests. We apologize this practice occurred and have replaced it with our common preference of plating hot food just prior to being served hot. Some additions are coming soon to our breakfasts to include more choices. Our weather this time of year often requires manually adjusting the Heat and A/C in the same day to maintain comfortable environments. On occasion we see our normally locked control settings are changed creating uncomfortable conditions. We or our staff corrects this as soon as discovered. We do provide guests (Checkin & Room Books) multiple telephone numbers to contact us for needs such as uncomfortable conditions. Staff did not receive any such calls. We do encourage you to a return visit and we will personally insure you receive our customary Victorian Southern Comfort Experience. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor Owners/Innkeepers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Great hosts

Posted Mar 14, 2018
Folks who run the place make you feel right at home. Its like staying with friends... friends who put out wine and cheese and make you breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Victorian Confort, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, We are pleased you and your wife enjoyed our hospitality and your stay with us. We do appreciate your kind words and hope we may see you again in a return visit. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor Owners/Innkeepers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

close to everything in town

Posted Mar 14, 2018
Not what I would describe as a Southern breakfast. Mediocre and not hot. Room was FREEZING and no heat was turned on until the morning we left,
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2018 by Victorian Confort, Hotel Management
We are sorry you experienced uncommon and uncomfortable conditions during our temporary absence on business travel. It seems a few guests experienced such conditions during our absence. We apologize you did not experience our delightful 3-course breakfast that we have provided our guests for over 12 years. You should have enjoyed our usual fresh-cut fruit, an entrée with sides of southern grits or potatoes and side meats, and baked-goods, pastry or toast accompanied by local jams & butter all to a background of relaxing music and fireside in colder weather. We have a relatively new cook who we’ve recently learned was taking shortcuts and plating breakfast dishes well before they were served to the guests. We apologize this practice occurred and have replaced it with our common preference of plating hot food just prior to being served hot. Some additions are coming soon to our breakfasts to include more choices. Our weather this time of year often requires manually adjusting the Heat and A/C in the same day to maintain comfortable environments. On occasion we see our normally locked control settings are changed creating uncomfortable conditions. We or our staff corrects this as soon as discovered. We do provide guests (Checkin & Room Books) multiple telephone numbers to contact us for needs such as uncomfortable conditions. We did not receive any such calls. We do encourage you to a return visit and we will personally insure you receive our customary Victorian Southern Comfort Experience. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor Owners/Innkeepers
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B

Posted Feb 3, 2018 on Hotels
This is a lovely B&B. Our first experience staying in one and we loved it! The hosts, Ron and Eleanor, treated us so well and were a wealth of information/suggestions for the local area. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2018 by Ron & Eleanor/Owners & Proprietors, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, We are most pleased you enjoyed a great experience at our B&B in Natchez. Thank you for your fine review and thank you for trusting us with your 1st B&B stay. We have enjoyed such trust from many other guests over the years and take seriously our role in introducing our guests to a wonderful Victorian Southern Comfort Experience on the Natchez Trace. We look forward to help you enjoy Natchez again in the future and all the relaxing, sightseeing, historical, cultural, outdoor, dining, musical and event experiences it offers. Very Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2018 on Hotels
Nice place to stay. Nice folks both owners and other guests
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Victorian Southern Comfort, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for your fine review and kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed our B&B, hospitality and other visiting guests. We do welcome wonderful guests from around the world, adding to our guest's experience. Very Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1st time at b&b

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: Furniture and decor.
Cons: Hospitality of owners.
Location: The location was great. Within walking distance of restaurants/bars, shops, and museums.
The house and rooms were really nice. Hospitality of owners could have been better. Maybe they weren't getting along or something. Wait staff and house cleaner were very friendly and provided awesome service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Ron & Eleanor/Owners & Innkeepers, Hotel Management
Dear 1st Time B&B Guests, We are so very glad you enjoyed your Natchez stay, our property, staff and our proximity to downtown. Thank you for trusting us with your 1st B&B stay, as we enjoy many such guests. We appologize if we may have seemed uncharacteristically distracted by compounding issues occuring during your stay such as severe cold weather-induced maintenance issues, national & state B&B association conference program planning and concern for pending surgery for one of us. We look forward to your return visit so we may share our customary Victorian Southern Comfort Hospitality with you. Kind Regards, Ron & Eleanor