Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stop off 81

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Solo traveler felt safe and check in was a breeze was upgraded :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palisades NY

Overnight trip to historic location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Meal should not always be buffet style
Location: hiking and museum nearby
Very nice hotel. Close to Natural Bridge an extremely beautiful site
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient historic hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Staff was friendly, very helpful. Some things not in rooms like hairdryer, frig, microwave (available in central location) but it is an historic experience after all. Comfortable, spacious rooms and great food and entertainment in The Fox.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Love Historical Hotels

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Our stay was terrific. We were traveling after our Son's wedding in NC. They joined us with our 5 Grandchildren. We loved the feel of the hotel and especially the dining room. Love the old world charm. The Natural Bridge was a bonus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family Road Trip

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Got to the Natural Bridge late. Decided to stay the night and hike the next morning. GreT staff and amazing hike. We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view from porch on rocking chair

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: -
Location: Lexington, VA
Spend more than one night to really enjoy the area. I watched a brilliant thunderstorm in the mountains from the safety of the porch, but didn't have time to really enjoy the area. I did drive to nearby Lexington for dinner, which was a really neat town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Location: Across the road from Natural Bridge
Nice hotel, great location. Clean and friendly, Everything was as expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Nice old hotel midway in our travels

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The room was clean and recently redone. The price was good and close to the Natural Bridge. The bridge was beautiful but expensive tho see. The cave tour guide was great but we've seen more impressive rooms and cave features.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The beds are hard as a rock, but everyone was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Insufficient staff

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, nice breakfast and dinners, very close to historic Natural Bridge.
Cons: See above.
Location: Quite a few interesting sites close to hotel.
Insufficient front desk and cleaning staff. No wake up calls 2 days in a row. Rooms are not ready 30 minutes after guaranteed check-in time. TV was down for 10 days and one popular channel still down two weeks after lightning strike. Water pressure from the shower head may cause injuries.