Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Greeley, CO

Fabulous location!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, having a separate bedroom, and plenty of hangers to drip-dry our laundry.
Cons: The stairs were tricky. The walls were scuffed. The icebox needed defrosting.
Location: Right across the street from Plaza Romana. Walking distance (though not short) to both the Colosseum and the Vatican.
Our family of 4 spent 5 nights in this apartment. It was a little tricky finding it and there was no front desk. The owner was very helpful in arranging for a ride from the airport and getting the driver to let us in the building. We met him the next morning and he gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. The apartment had one bedroom and one pull-out sofa. They even put in a roll-away for us. Tiny kitchen, but all we needed. The apartment was on the 4th floor and the stairs were tricky. The location is right across the street from Plaza Novana. The air conditioning was better than any of the other places we stayed in southern Europe. Plenty of hot water. Walking distance to EVERYTHING!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice Location - steep stairs to 4th floor

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Great location, very Italian feel with wooden beam ceilings. Nicely decorated
Cons: lights too dim, lack of hot water, very thin sofa bed mattress, very steep stairs, stock more toilet paper, never saw manager/owner.
Location: Great location with lots of restaurants. Steps away from Piazza Navona and walking distance from major historic sites
This is not a hotel but rather an apartment. We arrived at 3:30 pm and had to pick up the key at the next door store so we never really got to meet the apt owner. The stairs are very steep to climb (no elevator and we had the 4th floor) so if you have heavy luggage, it may be a struggle. The apt was roomy enough for 4 adults (2 in the bedroom and 2 in the pull out sofa in the living room). The lights were not bright enough so the room always felt kind of gloomy (it didn't help that it was not sunny out either). Biggest problem we had was lack of hot water for 4 people. 3rd and 4th people in the SMALL shower didn't get warm ones. IT took a long time to heat up after the first person showered. We also ran out of toilet paper and requested the manager (via text message) to restock some but she never did. It came with a small kitchen with fridge and sink which was nice. The location was great and the moment you went out the door, you were near the activity. Easy walking to a lot of the sights. There's even a McDonalds right out the door if you want a quick breakfast or lunch. Lots of cool outdoor restaurants just steps away. Overall it was a nice place to stay but would be better suited for just 2 younger people. It gives you an idea of how people in Italy live compared to a more modern hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and economic apartment

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location, centric and walking distance to all-historic Rome. Very friendly owner-manager. Will use it again if needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great great location, clean, very helpful owner!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Apartment very clean, prepared for us (family of 5). Had trouble finding the building as the GPS was one block off and never easy to find streets and house numbers in Rome - at least for foreigners. We arrived by car, and the owner was very helpful and responsive over the phone and text messages while we were driving. We ended up arriving a few minutes after 8pm but she didn't charge us the late arrival. One morning we found there was no water, texted to her, and got an immediate response telling us that the pizza place downstairs had to cut the water for a moment; water was back when we came back in the evening. The apartment has a great location; longest walk to any point of interest is 30'. The apartment is small, we were 5 and have almost no space with the sofa bed open and the extra bed - but ok for only two full days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, but quaint, convenient and fabulous location.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Older building but fits the area. Right on the outside edge of Piazza Navona and very close to tons of shopping, cafes, restaurants, sights, etc. Can walk to Vatican City as well. Transportation is about 4 blocks away. Taxi stand across the street. We stayed in the 1st Fl apt. 1 bedroom with a pullout couch. Both the bed and the pullout bed were comfortable and we slept well. AC worked well to cool apt. Kitchenette was nice to have tho we never cooked anything. Bathroom is functional but very small. Tiny stand-up shower only which was fine for us. The stairs leading up to the stairs are a little dangerous. Made of stone that has worn away and now slants, it was a little difficult in the dark so def use the lights. We had everything we needed and the location was exceptional. Fantastic restaurants nearby made it easy to always eat well. I would def stay here again next time I'm in Rome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place to stay in rome

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
really nice, we knew it was a fourth floor walkup, but that wasn't bad. the only issue we had was that the a/c was out when we arrived, but the manager managed to fix it on the last day we were there (we didn't realize it was fixed until after we left as she emailed us that she fixed it). it was really wonderful location, centrally located so that we could explore all the sights within the historic district and even walk to the vatican. it was fun to stay in an apartment and nice to have the kitchenette and living room to relax in. great stay and would stay there again. when we would come back we would often see tourists looking at the door interested in the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice cozy apt with lots of space

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Cozy, comfortable, clean and spacious one bedroom apt located in the best location. Bus stop is one minute's walk away, taxi lines were just outside the apt. you can walk to all the tour spots and great restaurants. And it is very safe! If I ever visit Rome again, I would definitely want to stay in this apt instead of some 4 stars hotel room which hardly has any free space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio, USA

Perfect family apartment- great location!

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Loved Casa Navona! Our family of 5 was so comfortable there for our 10 days in Rome! Owner, Sara, very gracious and willing to do anything to make our stay a perfect one. Location near Piazza Navona perfect "midpoint" to all areas of Rome. We walked -everywhere! Walking 4 flights of stairs to apartment a bit challenging but perfect exercise to "walk-off" all the pizza, pasta and desserts of Rome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good location

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Near a lot of good sits. Quiet room. The AC was weak in one of the rooms. The freezer in the fridge was useless, full of ice. The place needs more attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

close to the action

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Wotif
We had 2 nights to explore rome and it was a great location