Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Very nice place to stay. Excellent location. Clean room. Air conditioned. Overall it was a great experience. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by DANIELA, Hotel Management
All the best dear friends 🤗
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: LOCATION!
Cons: Directions to the hotel. Mostly because Rome is a maze of streets.
Location: Right next to the Pantheon, but within walking distance of almost everything. Good nightlife within steps of the door, but still quiet in the room.
Location can't be beat, especially for the price! Semi-private bath was not an issue. Nice and large. Room had a fridge and AC. Breakfast was yogurt, breads, cakes, jelly, juice, and coffee/cappuccino. No complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Accommodations were OK.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, location.
Cons: Too many rules about everything.
Location was next to Pantheon. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Had to share the bathroom with other guests. To many rules - can't do this, can't do that. Would look elsewhere before sting there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by DANIELA, Hotel Management
You beed to know how the house is working , if I explain it to you is because after 13 years we know how is working the best !! We work very hard to make this working , please appreciate .Giving an anonymus review doesn't means that I do know who you are , you book with shared bath , and I will copy the booking and forward to you , so don' t inform people wrong
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Great stay and awesome location

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
City House was definitely an amazing stay. First of all, the property is located like a one minute walk from the Pantheon, which is really cool. The place was very clean and the owner was so kind and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone! Also, your stay includes free breakfast. Great place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is key.

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Best location in Rome. Small room, TV didn't work, but who cares about that. It was clean, safe, and again, the perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of the town, within view of the pantheon. The room has A/C, something I thought would be normal on my trip to Europe, but it was the only room with it. They provided a basic breakfast, which was nice to save money, variety would have been nice though. The beds were very uncomfortable, felt more like sleeping in a cot with a pad. The last thing what was strange was the bathroom, it was shared. With another guest and the their was no shower curtain. It was a little hard to take a shower that way. It was also extremely hot in the bathroom due to some pipes in the wall that kept it a nice muggy 90 plus degrees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing central location in the heart of Rome

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Location, location, location! Feet away from the Pantheon, plenty of restaurants to choose from just outside the door. Friendly and accommodating host (Mario), delivered daily breakfast and arranged travel to airport. Fresh towels and linens upon request. Cons: Only one small window in the room. Shower drainage had issues. Internet upload speed throttled, could not upload to cloud. Must coordinate arrival time with host. Plenty of sleeping space, but sofa beds not very comfortable. Must pay city tax in cash before departure. Tip: think twice before buying Roma Pass if staying at this location, not much opportunity to use public transit.
5 out of 5
by Cezar E

Highly recommend

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for money, friendly staff, really close to all tourist attractions so you can expect an old building, but well maintained. Would defo go back to City House
1 out of 5
by David

Avoid if at all possible

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The good. Location. That's the only good thing about this hotel. The bad. Everything else. Beds are like sleeping on the floor. We arrived around 5pm and no one was there. We had to call a number and wait outside over 30 minutes for Mario to arrive and let us in. The room was a nightmare. Nothing worked properly. Even the trash can in the bathroom did open properly. The furniture looked as if it was from a salvage yard. The bathroom floors were extremely slick when you showered. Very easy to fall down. One of us fell down while showering and hurt their back. We are at a hospital in Rome now as I'm writing this review. We paid for 4 nights, the next morning after arriving we found a much nicer hotel behind the Pantheon. We moved to the new hotel asap. When we went to leave Mario handed me a phone with a lady on the other end, she started arguing with me about the reason we were leaving. I have never left a review on this site of a hotel I've booked through them. I felt compelled to let anyone know who would listen of my experience. I would recommend avoiding this hotel if at all possible.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Excellent location close to Pantheon

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has an excellent location, very close to the Pantheon. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. They bring breakfast to your room at a time of your choosing. Our only complaint is regarding the bath/shower - you could do neither as there was no plug nor a place to put the shower head. But I would still recommend this hotel based on its excellent location and friendly hosts!