Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Very nice place to stay. Excellent location. Clean room. Air conditioned. Overall it was a great experience. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by DANIELA, Hotel Management
All the best dear friends 🤗
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: LOCATION!
Cons: Directions to the hotel. Mostly because Rome is a maze of streets.
Location: Right next to the Pantheon, but within walking distance of almost everything. Good nightlife within steps of the door, but still quiet in the room.
Location can't be beat, especially for the price! Semi-private bath was not an issue. Nice and large. Room had a fridge and AC. Breakfast was yogurt, breads, cakes, jelly, juice, and coffee/cappuccino. No complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Accommodations were OK.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, location.
Cons: Too many rules about everything.
Location was next to Pantheon. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Had to share the bathroom with other guests. To many rules - can't do this, can't do that. Would look elsewhere before sting there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by DANIELA, Hotel Management
You beed to know how the house is working , if I explain it to you is because after 13 years we know how is working the best !! We work very hard to make this working , please appreciate .Giving an anonymus review doesn't means that I do know who you are , you book with shared bath , and I will copy the booking and forward to you , so don' t inform people wrong
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing central location in the heart of Rome

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Location, location, location! Feet away from the Pantheon, plenty of restaurants to choose from just outside the door. Friendly and accommodating host (Mario), delivered daily breakfast and arranged travel to airport. Fresh towels and linens upon request. Cons: Only one small window in the room. Shower drainage had issues. Internet upload speed throttled, could not upload to cloud. Must coordinate arrival time with host. Plenty of sleeping space, but sofa beds not very comfortable. Must pay city tax in cash before departure. Tip: think twice before buying Roma Pass if staying at this location, not much opportunity to use public transit.
5 out of 5
by Cezar E

Highly recommend

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for money, friendly staff, really close to all tourist attractions so you can expect an old building, but well maintained. Would defo go back to City House
1 out of 5
by David

Avoid if at all possible

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The good. Location. That's the only good thing about this hotel. The bad. Everything else. Beds are like sleeping on the floor. We arrived around 5pm and no one was there. We had to call a number and wait outside over 30 minutes for Mario to arrive and let us in. The room was a nightmare. Nothing worked properly. Even the trash can in the bathroom did open properly. The furniture looked as if it was from a salvage yard. The bathroom floors were extremely slick when you showered. Very easy to fall down. One of us fell down while showering and hurt their back. We are at a hospital in Rome now as I'm writing this review. We paid for 4 nights, the next morning after arriving we found a much nicer hotel behind the Pantheon. We moved to the new hotel asap. When we went to leave Mario handed me a phone with a lady on the other end, she started arguing with me about the reason we were leaving. I have never left a review on this site of a hotel I've booked through them. I felt compelled to let anyone know who would listen of my experience. I would recommend avoiding this hotel if at all possible.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Excellent location close to Pantheon

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has an excellent location, very close to the Pantheon. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. They bring breakfast to your room at a time of your choosing. Our only complaint is regarding the bath/shower - you could do neither as there was no plug nor a place to put the shower head. But I would still recommend this hotel based on its excellent location and friendly hosts!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathrooms have to be shared

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The worst experience I had while staying in a hotel. I and my wife had to share the bathroom with a couple staying in another hotel room. i would not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location 100%

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: everything
terrible place terrible place!!! .bathroom had broken tiles & holes in walls.smelt of raw sewage obviously had an issue with blocked toilet.whilst showering loo over flowed so i had to step into raw sewage.called for assistance was then accused of causing the problem.we then had to wait an hour to use the bathroom making us late with our plans.floor was just cleaned up with our room towels.owner could not answer our questions on local knowledge. breakfast consisted of a 'hot' drink that was cold every morning.a small cake,croissant,glass of fruit drink & a cheap yogurt from the local corner shop.this was repeated every morning.no choice of time or variation. obviously other guests didnt like the food as we found the fridge stuffed with out of date breakfast.terrible experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Daniella is a very nice and helpfull person

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: To share the buth with others
Location: Near the Pantion, Piaza Navona, Campo di fiori
A very good location. Close to all the atractions. It was great for 3 nights