Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great for the money

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Rooms had great personality and a cozy feel, clean, close to great sights and transportation. Great breakfast spread, friendly staff (24 hours), Wifi.
Cons: The entrance to the building, the total lack of signage (and information that there would be no signage).
Location: Jewish Ghetto, Traversere, Plaza Venezia
A bit of a scare when we first entered. There is NO SIGN ON THE ENTRANCE OF THE HOTEL!!! It is just on the 1st floor of the building. The address was hard to find on the building as well. It would have been helpful for them to alert us that there would be no sign on the building when the reservation was made. Even the bell you ring to get buzzed in just says “HOTEL”... nothing more. Once you get buzzed in, you walk down a dark and dank midevil looking hallway with barely any light and chipped-up walls. There is an elevator that functions but is probably from the 50’s. Once you get past all this... the hotel itself is adorable. Rooms aren’t huge, but it is a city. Bathroom was relatively spacious. Great lighting and the beds were decently comfortable. Front desk staff was lovely and the breakfast room and set-up is by far one of the best I have ever seen in all of my travels (such care and attention to detail!). The only big thing that was a bit annoying was that the building is right next to the above-ground trams that have rails in the ground, so whenever a train went by, it quite literally felt like an erarthquake. Luckily trains don’t run too late into the night so it’s not like it kept us up, but it was certainly alarming until you got used to it. Overall, a great, clean place to stay for a decent cost and close to the Jewish Ghetto (AMAZING food) and public transportation. Oh, and then WiFi worked amazingly which is always a treat in these hotels that say “Free WiFi”!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Director, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, I would like to thank you very much for having shared your opinion and your pictures, after having stayed with us. I am very pleased to read that you absolutely captured the essence of our hotel even if you didn' t appreciate that much the first visual impression. In order to respect the outside facade of the historical building, the signage ought to unfortunatelly be limited. As far as the tram is concerned, I'm afraid it may be one of the less appreciated details of our central position.For your next stay you could maybe upgrade to a superior room which faces the beautiful square and is also bigger. I truly hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future. Best regards. Jaudine Cipolla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from bogota

Nice hotel on a second floor,

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast
Location: You are close to nearly every important attraction, but not with the rush and congestion of a tourist hotel.
Nice little hotel, more of a bea and breakfast. Breakfast was simple and not ver generous.The hotel is on a second floor, and you need to ride a very small old elevators. Rooms and service aswell as general decoration of the hotel is very tastefull. Was for us an overall good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Director, Hotel Management
Dear Juan, we are very pleased to read you appreciated our central position and calm atmosphere of our hotel. Our aim is to make every single guest at home whilst enjoying the hospitality of a fine and noble four star hotel. On the basis of your positive experience, we hope you will come and visit us again in the future. There is something new to do and tosee in our beuatiful and eternal city. Best regards. Jaudine Cipolla
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Tukwila WA

Rome holiday

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
it was very nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A delightful experience

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: My safe box was very temperamental until the battery was replaced, then it was fine
Location: The location is a few minutes walk from the major sites - Piazza dei Fiori, Trastavere, a few more minutes to the Pantheon, Piazza Navone etc
This is a small hotel for about 30 people with the aim of making you feel at home and it does that to perfection. The service is personal and impeccable and the interior furnishings and artworks a visual delight. Breakfast was refectory style, huge long table beautifully laid and a chance to be quiet or to meet some very interesting guests. Excellent fruit, a continental breakfast but requirements such as an omelette were met at an extra cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Director, Hotel Management
Dear Frances, we are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the furnishing, service and central position of our hotel. You absolutely captured the essential sense of our hotel and our aim to make every single guest feel at home whilst enjoying a high quality service. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future. Best regards. Jaudine Cipolla. Director.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Hussein

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very polite and helpful receptionist, good central area and room size is as you would expect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, could use some modernization

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was in a great location that wasn't particularly far from all of the main tourist things people want to hit up in Rome (30 min walk to the Vatican, 5 min walk to the Pantheon, 15 min walk to the Colosseum, etc.). However room was located next to the streetcars so it was kind of loud, mattress was OK, rooms could do with some modernization / better lighting to make them more comfortable for guests.
4 out of 5
by Vincent

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was fantastic and helped out with anything I needed. The hotel is in a convenient location, easily walkable to many parts of Rome. The only one real negative is, if the room faces the main street, you can hear the trolly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast, but noisy at night

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
A lot of noise at night (from both the street and other guests), so one could not get a good night sleep! everything else was great, especially the breakfast :-)
4 out of 5
by Seamus

More B&B than hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
First, the good: The room was big, the AC worked great, the hotel is super clean, and the art is fantastic. We didn't spring for breakfast, but it smelled and looked great. However, there are a few annoying things that took my rating down a couple notches. First, I was traveling with my mother and we requested two beds. When we arrived, there was only one large bed. I told the guy at the front and he said, "We'll split it for you tomorrow." After a long flight I didn't want to deal with it and we stuck it out for a night, but then the next day when we got back to the hotel, it was still only one bed. Not good. Second, you have to use a buzzer to get in and out, and they want you to check the key to your room in at the front desk when you leave. No one told us that when we arrived, and there was a very unhappy front desk man on the last night of our stay who informed us that we need to check in our key. That's not really a great situation. We were only in Rome for two nights and we were staying out late to make the most of it. The "hotel" definitely feels more like a bed and breakfast, and to be honest I wouldn't have chosen it in our situation had I known that. However, if you're looking for that charming homey feel in a fantastic location with very nice rooms, this is a great choice.