Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West mids

Fab hotel and fab experience

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Location, Décor
Location: Vatican, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps and Coliseum are all within 15 min walk
We stayed at this hotel 20 years ago and returned for our anniversary. Its not lost any of its charm. The staff are courteous and friendly. Rooms are splendid, we had a suite. Well appointed, bottle of bubbly waiting for us and a hand signed letter from the hotel manager are nice touches. The rooftop bar/restaurant are beautiful and offer great views of the eternal city. (but it is very expensive!) Excellent location near to Piaza Navona Breakfast is vast and Bio/ Would recommend to all but particularly couples looking for a romantic stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Nice hotel, great location,easy to walk everywhere

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Location: Vatican, Pantheon, Spanish steps, bit of a longer walk to Coliseum. Nice to have dinner Trastevere then walk to hotel along the river.
Great location, near lots of touristy stuff without being touristy. Easy walk to many places. Close to taxi stand and buses lines. Great food in VEGETARIAN restaurant- loved that. Great breakfast, all organic, fresh, lots of choices beyond usual European bread and cold cuts, fresh vegetable/fruit juicer, actual eggs. Great staff, everyone pleasant, everyone speaks English. Some rooms ok, totally fine, not all updated. It's really worth the splurge for a Deluxe room in the front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Rome

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great locations, wonderful restaurant right outside the front door. Bedroom was small but modern. Bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom, which was nice. Air conditioning works great. Only issue was the front desk person as she neglected to tell us that we had complimentary breakfast each morning. The hotel gave us some nice gifts at the end of our stay to make up for the error. Overall everyone was very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.. hotel not so great needs updating

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Hotel is in a great location but need updating and to be cleaned in the lobby. The breakfast room is underwhelming! The
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated Rip Off In Rome

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything including the cheerless staff at the front desk.
There is nothing 5 start about this hotel except its pretty facade and desirable location. The rooms smelled like we were in a beer pub. The mattresses were older than the coliseum! The bathrooms were last renovated during world war 1.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Most comfortable BED in all of Rome!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The staff, service, location and comfort of our room was exceptional. We would've given a 5-star review, but our suite wasn't very clean.
Cons: Cleanliness of hotel room and getting rid of the seagulls on the terrace. Dinner menu is 100% vegetarian.
Location: Best location in Rome - only 5 minutes walk to Vatican and Tiber River! Very romantic neighborhood with excellent restaurants to choose from!
Best night's sleep you'll get on your vacation to Rome! We highly recommend this property for comfort and location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not as good as it should be

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: It is pretty, and could be really good.
Cons: Details. Nice to have a restaurant that is not entirely vegetarian. Not even fish.
Location: Excellent location.
When we arrived, we were asked to sit down, and someone would come help us check in. We would have been there for ever, because there was only one receptionist, and she was dealing with a long line. We were told we could have lunch on the terrace, which turned out to have closed, and the roof bar was full and noisy, and understaffed. The room was nice, and a good size, with a beautiful bathroom. But the mattress split in the night, and there was a lot of noise from outside. More insulation? Would have been nice to have bottled water daily, instead of just once. The price is not justified by what is delivered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A good middle rated 5 star hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Its central location close to all the sites and local restaurants
Cons: Access to the roof terrace, I was stopped by an officious member of staff who could not speak very good English
Location: Lots of very good and reasonably priced restaurants in the local area
Excellent breakfast selection, clean and uncluttered bedroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

An All Around Winner

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, rooftop terrace, great bathroom with bathtub and separate shower
Cons: The AC had not been turned on when we first arrived so the room would get warm during the day. The hotel activated the AC midway through our stay.
Location: Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Camp di Fiori
Hotel Raphael is in a perfect location near Piazza Novona, close to all the major sites in Central Rome and an easy walk to Trastevere and Monti. The famous rooftop terrace cannot be beat in terms of view and just the right place to watch the sun set while sipping prosecco before heading out on the town for dinner. The breakfast buffet was the most comprehensive we experienced on this trip. The staff is very friendly and the rooms, at least the Richard Meier rooms have been modernized to a very nice standard. In terms of convenience and overall comfort, it is hard to beat Hotel Raphael
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, Virginia

True comfort and luxury in the middle of all the a

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Ambience and location
Cons: Wish R&C would acknowledge that we use them. Never any acknowledgement that we have stayed at T&C in many countries, this was our 12th stay at a R&C
Location: East access to all the hustle and busltle and the roof terrace is wonderful.
Nothing like a Relais and Chateaux. This location is perfect, the staff very in tune with the guests. The roof top glorious. Always love good sheets and towels. Breakfast room with wonderful offerings.