Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Comfortable hotel close to central historic rome

Posted Dec 17, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay - we wanted an historic location and we were pleased to find the Pantheon just across the square this hotel is in. Staff are friendly and helpful, room was clean and historic, breakfast fantastic. There are dozens of restaurants within 5 min walk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Large space great location

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Location, large space, clean, and friendly staff.
Cons: Better breakfast
Location: Best location. Pantheon is right there. 5-8 minute walk to Trevi Fountain, 10 more to Spanish steps. About a 15 minute walk to Coliseum.
Fist this is the best location possible in Rome with great view of Pantheon. We stayed in family apartment across square from main hotel. It was very cool and impressively large space with plenty of room for family of four (kids are 5 and 8). Furniture could be considered dated but perfect for us. Breakfast was at main hotel and was ok, but not great. Staff was very friendly. We had easy walk to all the major sights and the pantheon out our front door. You really can't beat this location and historic feel of this hotel, including annex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quaint historic hotel with modern amenities.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The welcoming and informative staff; the breakfast options with baked fruit and meusli topping and the historic charaacter of the hotel.
Cons: The room was warm and we opened our window on the breakfast terrace. Having control of the AC unit would have allowed us to adjust the temperature.
Location: Great walking access to all of the central Rome sites: Pantheon at your door; Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Colosseum, Vatican City
The Hotel Sole al Pantheon is just off the Piazza Pantheon. This allows for walking to the many districts and sites in Rome: the Colosseum and Roman ruins, the Vatican, Trevi fountain, Piazza Novana. The restaurants and shopping around the hotel allowed for relaxing evenings with many dining choices. The staff were welcoming (with a glass of prosecco and music to toast our coming to Rome) and provided great suggestions for eating and transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel Sole al Pantheon

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Quaint venue with an amazing staff
Location: All major tourist sites are within walking distance. From Palatine to Vatican are minutes away.
Great little hotel across the square from the Pantheon. Facility in excellent condition. Walking distance to all major sites. Great Staff......Love this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Excellent position for sightseeing in Rome
Cons: Room was a little cold
Location: See above
Enjoyed our holiday very much. Wea ther was mixed with some heavy rain. The absence of heating in the rooms made drying clothes difficult.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, But Noisy at Night

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
This is my second stay at Sole al Pantheon. Central location at the Pantheon with Tazza D'oro coffee and pastry bar/store around the corner with absolutely marvelous cappuccino and espresso. Another great coffee place is St. Eustachio, about 2-3 short blocks away. Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, Campo de Fiori all close and the Vatican is walkable as well. The staff were very helpful with one exception. I had a room with a view that couldn't be beat. I stayed in the annex. Adequate room, if worn, for my needs. However, the bathroom floor was dirty, clearly not washed in some time, as I found out when I had to wipe up some water from the shower off the floor with a towel to prevent slipping and falling. Sink, counter tops, toilet cleaned and acceptable. And it's noisy at night on the piazza, so be warned and bring ear plugs. This said, I'd book again. It's Rome and location is great, and the staff know me and I feel safe and looked after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a stay in Rome

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast, smartphone, TV channels and access to English when available
Cons: Nothing
Location: For active people, walking distance to All historic sites
Great location, staff, free breakfast, free use of smartphone during our stay. It's in the heart of Rome and in walking distance of all historic sites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Location is the thing - rest not so much.

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location worked well, not noisy after dark.
Cons: Price premium for location was steep, especially given room size, interior steps. NOT worth price regardless hotel location.
Location: Pantheon, a wonderful "must see" is just out the door. Local shopping, easy to arrive to other attractions by walking.
Location is excellent if you wish to walk out hotel entrance and be DIRECTLY in crowd surrounding Pantheon - a pedestrian strangled piazza area, several outdoor eating options for people watching - long lines proceeding into Pantheon - more people here than I've experienced before in over 25 years of visiting Roma, and this time, it's late October! Leave getting into and out of area to taxi drivers - only 10 Euro with tip from main (Roma Termini) train station. Our room (314, main building) was basic in terms of space, bathroom same - smallish but "normal" for this part of the world. We thought we'd do better in terms of room, given somewhat off-season time (late October) and pricing via Expedia's discounting (ended up $375 per night). What was NOT so nice was the fact that as the room door is opened, there was an immediate 3 steps DOWN from threshold, about half a meter to bed - a definite safety hazard with bags in hand or a bit of alcohol in system. Small step UP to bathroom (similar to the trip step experience for most cruise ship bathrooms. Staff hospitable and helpful, breakfast table was OK ... options OK, warm foods were just warm, coffee just warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pantheon perfection

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Room view onto Pantheon and the Piazza Rotonda was an amazing experience and blend of life today with that of antiquity. Makes one realize how our lives are just a tiny moment in the cosmos. Hotel also provided nice gesture of noting our anniversary with a bottle of Prosecco, which we shared with our friends who were joining us for a few days in the Eternal City.
3 out of 5
by Gary

Not overwhelmed

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
We were put in their separate Annex building. Very old and not very clean. No immenities to speak of either. The location was great across from the Pantheon.