Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Great location, roomy, clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location, roominess and cleanliness
Cons: WiFi
stayed for 4 days, great location walked to all sights, clean and comfortable rooms. AC was a bit week - might be an issue for peak summer Stayed in 2 different rooms - while bathrooms were modern - one had a faulty shower spraying water all around WiFi was non existent and they need to improve it Staff friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from gillingham kent england

Roman gem

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Comfortable with out unless add ons like gyms and hot tubs
Cons: The bar could be manned during the late evening for nightcaps
Location: Too many to list in full, just take your time and stroll, a discovery round every corner or just sit with a glass of wine and people watch.
A gem of a small hotel on the door step of the Campo di Florida and only leisurely strolls from the Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, the Forum and the Vatican. So many restaurants you will have stay a month to sample them all. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast in the remains of a 2000 year old theatre is an experience to be enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Walk to everything

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location and the staff
Cons: Hair dryer and wifi
Location: Eat at the Grottos Teatro Pompeo around the corner
We loved our stay here and would definitely stay again! All of the staff at the front desk were very helpful. Simona in particular was great. She made sure we had a safe, on time, ride to the airport and that we weren't ripped off in the process. She even went above and beyond to make sure our driver came early due to an accident causing major traffic. The room was nice, the view was charming, and the bathroom had a tub. We didn't hear any hallway or street noise, but did hear some noise above us one night. No big deal. We added the breakfast which was delicious and made mornings easy. If you go walking in any direction from this hotel in 10 minutes you'll stumble upon something worth visiting. Even closer are some great restaurants. The only super nit picky things are the hair dryer doesn't really blow back super thick hair and the wifi flickers. Not big deals, when Roma is outside your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Convenient and Ideally Located Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, Location, Price, Amenities especially the AC for the extremely hot summer.
Cons: Beans for the cappuccino. It was good but could have been better. I'm not a coffee snob but when in Rome, you can tell the difference. Wifi too...
Location: Everything you want to see in Rome is close by and if it isn't, public transportation is near so you can get there easily; especially the Termini.
I have stayed in the area before but I never knew this hotel was in the area... Quietly tucked away in a central location for easy walks to historical places like Campo de Fiori, Trastevere and the Tiber, Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, and many many more. The staff was very helpful and most important to me was cleanliness. This place for my visit was spotless. The beds were very comfortable especially after a day of endless trekking. I highly recommend this hotel for not only what was said above but for the price. It's a great hotel for your budget. It's also close tho many restaurants and markets, and especially Trattoria Der Pallaro... It's an old school Romana trattoria that doesn't change and is still run by Paola, a woman who could be your Italian Mother or Grandmother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, Texas USA

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Nice area, felt safe, and close to sights
Cons: No
Location: Did a walking tour at night and took in many sights!
Enjoyed our short stay in this cute little hotel that is close to many sights. The staff was excellent and spoke English. The breakfast was a nice surprise down some steps into a place that was updated like a cave with nice lighting. They made us cappuccinos and we had a buffet. As for European stardards, the bed was excellent. It was a queen for sure! The place was spotless and sheets and towels were very nice. Hotel receptionists were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Great location and accessibility to the airport

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo is just off the main shopping/restaurant area of Campo di Fiori. It is a very easy walking distance to most of the places in Rome and offers a quiet area to retire to in the middle of the afternoon to escape the summer heat and in the evening. There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel. It is also a 5-10 minute walk to the trolley that connects with Roma Trastevere train station which is an easy ride from the airport. The room was large and the front desk was manned at all times by very friendly and accommodating staff members who looked after our bags for half of the day after we checked out before we had to the fly out of Rome. If I had one criticism, it would be that the internet was very spotty and the bed was serviceable, but far from the most comfortable we had on our vacation. However, with plenty of cafes nearby with free internet and plenty of things to explore in the city, neither of these became a major issue for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Very informative and helpful staff. Perfect location to explore Rome. Breakfast was very good with lots of options for both Europeans and North Americans.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 Last Days in Italy

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Staff are pleasant but usually only one person available at the desk and one more for breakfast hours.
Cons: Annex needs to be published to warn visitors that if they can't do stairs, they shouldn't book. WiFi needed. Staff need to help visitors into here!
Location: Location is close to great shopping, a local market and historical sites within walking distance!
We were not even located in the hotel but in rooms around the corner on the top floor with no elevator. Having heavy bags, thankfully, the desk receptionist helped us with them. It was a struggle with locked doors in different sections and narrow stairs winding stairs. Some people would never have managed all these stairs and we were not even asked when booking if this was okay! They call these rooms which is full of private apartments, the ANNEX and there are no signs indicating this on the outside. Met a couple checking in at night, who were sent out to find their room in the Annex who we met helped by showing them the way! Found out that WiFi was not available in the Annex and only in the main hotel and it didn't work most of the time at the hotel either. When traveling, this is getting to be the standard for us and we depend on it. Our room did not have any typed information about the WiFi, checkout, breakfast hours, bar hours and the Reception phone no. It meant going up and down stairs every time we had a question. This was frustrating as well. The lounge is tired looking but adequate and the location is great for getting around. Breakfast was included and simple. Special coffees or tea were offered.I asked if they had an iron and none were available.Our room was spacious and the bathroom small but adequate. After 5 weeks in Italy, this hotel was rather a disappointing finale but we still love Italy!
5 out of 5
by Jim

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
There for a short stay while going through Rome. They fit exactly what we needed.
3 out of 5
by Cassandra

Great Location but Lacks Wifi/Air Conditioning!

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The booking through Hotels.com is for three rooms in a separate building. We knew this booking the trip, but what is very misleading about the description-- there is NO wifi in this separate building. To access the hotel's wifi, you need to go across the piazza into the hotel lobby. The hotel lobby wifi is spotty and the staff were not very diligent about fixing it. In addition, the air conditioning did not appear to work in our room, nor did the TV. On the plus side, the location is great, the breakfast is fantastic, and the room is quite spacious and cute. However, we spent 6 days/nights with no internet, no TV, and no A/C. The inconvenience of accessing wifi led to some pretty terrible travel snafus because I failed to get internet access in time to book tours, etc.