Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rick from Carcavelos

Wonderful Location, Great Apartment

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Not a hotel.....so much more - it is an apartment with 2 separate double bedrooms, kitchen, outside eating area etc. You meet the owner outside, very nice guy, shows you around the apartment, explains where everything is and how to get there. Great location, very comfy, definitely recommend it, especially for 2 couples or a family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Rick for your stay and for your review! U have fully undestood the meaning of being in the heart of Rome in a charmy and typical apartment. See u soon. Francesco
3 out of 5
by Jeff from Jacksonville

67 STAIRS! HaHa

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
I was aware of "the steps" so it is my fault; however, we were not prepared for 67 steps! 67 tall steps. It was a chore just to get up to the apartment. Once there it was great. But getting there took everything we had. It was 1 bedroom, with a loft bedroom (more steps), 1 bathroom a kitchen, living room and a terrace. The kitchen was not very well equipped so cooking even the basic meals you will have to be creative. The place is in a great location and central to quite a lot that Rome has to offer. The place is quite noisy with street noise and the sirens never ended. The WiFi worked great and we had no issues. The condition of the place is "rustic" and it is well worn. I believe that it needs to be taken off the market for a few months to make repairs to the windows, doors and refresh it overall. It is a great place, but for me, it was just too many stairs (thought my wife and friends were going to kill me for the forced climb everyday.) Once we were in, we dreaded going back out because we knew what waited us when we returned. If you are brave and in excellent shape...go for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome stepping up

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely Up 5 flights of stars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice apartment, great location, reasonable price

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location and price
Cons: child safe locks on the doors to the balcony and on the French windows
Location: All the main tourist attractions are within walking distance
Had a great stay at Terrace Cancelleria, the apartment is in an excellent location, being walking distance from all the main sites. It is 100m from Campo di Fiori, which is a lively piazza so expect to hear the buzz of street noise late into the night and traffic 1st thing in the morning. Apartment is in a maisonette arrangement, with 1 double bedroom on the mezzanine, up a spiral staircase, above the lounge (my 8-year old daughter used this one) and the other double bedroom off the lobby landing; decor is clean and rustic, with exposed timber beams (below head height). Apartment is on the top floor, up steep steps, so expect to be a little out of breath when you eventually get up to the door (there is no lift). Email communications from the landlord Francesco before and during our stay was excellent, as were the reliable airport transfers he arranged for us. We arrived at 11:00hrs and were allowed to leave our bags in the room whilst it was being prepared. The only problem I found being, it is not clear which buzzer you press for the apartment from the street level door but I gave him a call and his friend let us in a 2 minutes later. Francesco arrived later in the afternoon and importantly explained that the hot water boiler switch is right next to the bathroom light switch (in the same fitting); be aware, it looks exactly the same as the light switch (don't switch the boiler off unless you like cold showers).
4 out of 5
by John from France

Great Rome location

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
If a central Rome location is important then Terrace Cancelleria is the place, very close to Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona. However, it is up 4 flights of steep stairs and isn't in perfect condition. It is spacious and well equiped and has a nice street view and a small terrace for outdoor eating - even in the winter!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent service provided by Francesco in arranging airport transfers. Nothing was too much trouble to be taken care of. The location was central to all the sights of ancient Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything I Hoped for and More

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Really, the Terrace Cancelleria was a positive experience in every way - easy to get to, wonderfully located and great service from beginning to end. Inside, the apartment was spacious and comfortable (upstairs bed - best I slept in the whole 2 weeks trip, and HUGE, as far as European doubles go). Thank you gentlemen for an excellent experience, in every sense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Perfect Stay

Posted Nov 7, 2012
The location was perfect and central to everything. Security was wonderful and the owner was very friendly and helpful with advice and directions. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Trés bien situé. La terrasse est un vrai plus!

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Super séjour à Rome. Appartement très bien situé proche des commerces et de plein de restaurant. permettant également de bien rayonner a pieds pour la plupart de nos visites. Un très sympathique accueil! Nous y retournerons!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Vieux et mal entrenu

Posted Mar 5, 2018
L’emplacement de choix! La petite rue est géniale et on y trouve d’excellents restos. Nous avons vu l’Hôte qu’à la remise des clefs et il était sympathique. Le problème c’est le vieux matelas qui semble avoir reçu trop de visiteurs et la salles de bain! La douche a de la moisissure entre les tuiles et le drain ne coule pas. Nous avons demandé une réparation qui à durée le temps d’une douche. Impossible de se laver sans que le fond de la douche ne déborde. De plus, il y a une mauvaise odeur de moisi dans l’appartement. Si nous avions payé la moitié du prix demandé, nous aurions compris, mais là! Je ne vous le recommande pas à moins de payer moins cher et si vous être prêt à vous laver au lavabo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Terrace Cancelleria, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. For me it is an opportunity to better explain this apartment. First of all, however, I would like to say that I will ask my guests a judgment on the mattresses and if they confirm that are uncomfortable I will replace them. Now I would like to point out that this house is an old apartment located on the top floor of an ancient building. It is a place full of charm but inevitably with some flaws. The apartment is an attic obviously not insulated. In winter, the difference in temperature between the outside and inside generates moisture that stagnates and turns into mold if it is not regularly ventilated. And this year the winter in Rome was very cold and rainy (it also snowed). Bathroom. As you have noticed the bathroom is weirdly positioned. It was built at a later time because once (long time ago) bathrooms into apartments didn`t exist Putting a bathroom in an apartment in an ancient building is not easy. The draining pipes have a minimum slope and is enough a little 'dirt in the shower drain that clogs. The only thing I can do when it happens is to promptly intervene. Those listed above are not the only defects of the apartment. There is no elevator and the stairs are quite narrow and steep. Because of some leaks in the heating system it can locks, etc ... In short, I think small defects are bearable in a place with a history of five hundred years or so. That aid, the cost of the apartment is in line with the prices of the area and in this case you do not pay the comfort (there are many apartments certainly more comfortable but anonymous) but because you stay in a piece of history of Rome, with a terrace. By the way. Have you seen what's on the terrace? Do not ask me how they got there ... :). Thanks again and I hope your review and this answer can help for a conscious choice.