Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, little too expensive for what it is.

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
This is a no-smoking hotel which was perfect for me as I do not smoke, however upon entering the room you can tell someone previously smoked in there. There are always a few people outside the front door smoking, I think it's disgusting. The management should make them walk at least 100 foot away, the smell fills the lobby pretty easily. There was a free bag of pop corn in the room when I entered it. The shower head trickles water, I love it when it's like a downpour on my head though. The desk has 2 different chairs to sit in, it's convenient for those who like options. The fridge was clean and kept my food cold. The front service staff was on their phones every time I saw them, a couple of times they didn't notice me and I had to get their attention. The price per night is about $130, I don't think the hotel is worth it though, maybe in the $90-$100 price range. When I stayed there it was pouring rain, in the front entrance is where the water from the roof funnels down and doesn't disperse around the sides or the back so if it starts to rain there BRING AN UMBRELLA or you will get soaked like I did. I get the neighborhood vibe that if you leave your vehicle unlocked, you will get it broken in to. I always carry my gun on me so I felt confident I would not be disturbed. I suggest you book a room at hotels.com instead of on site or on their website, it's about $10 cheaper per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Neal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We will ensure staff members inform smoking guest where the designated smoking areas are located. Thank you, again for the review, we value your feedback. Sincerely, Neal P. GM
2 out of 5
by Amy from Austin

hotel misrepresented available rooms, breakfast

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
We did not get the type of room that we booked through hotels.com Also hotels.com mentioned that there was breakfast included and there was no breakfast. Hotels.com has been accommodating about the breakfast, giving us a voucher for a stay at a future hotel. However, the hotel has not contacted us or even apologized for giving us a smaller room with no door between the bedroom and the living room. We have children that are 4 and 6 years old and we need a separate door to get any sleep. I spent 20 minutes on the phone with someone from hotels,com to get this type of room, and would have booked elsewhere had I known they did not have this available. I feel they misrepresented what they had available and then failed to even apologize. Also our room did not even get cleaned or re supplied in between our two nights. This was among the worst stays I have had at a hotel. I had to go out at midnight to Walmart to get breakfast supplies, as they informed us at check in there were absolutely no breakfast options. When we were checking out the front desk mentioned that we could have gotten something for free in the hotel store - AFTER I had made a midnight Walmart run! Do not book here - they are not accommodating or nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Neal Patel, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We value your feedback. I want to apologize for misrepresentation of our hotel and staff. Unfortunately, all Candlewood Suites do not offer complimentary breakfast. We will definitely inform the booking website about the issues at hand, as well as our staff. Thank you again for your review. Sincerely, GM
3 out of 5
by Joshua from Naples, ME

Bring your own alarm clock.

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Asked for a wake up call and a cab called for the morning- didn't receive either. Alarm clock in room didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2015 by Neal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the alarm clock malfunction you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Neal Patel GM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A helpful employee sets the pace! Thank you Alyss

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Chech person, Alyssa, was most accommodating. Very kind
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Neal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank You, for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay. Just wanted to say Thank You!!!
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Chandler, AZ

Not bad

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Not bad, other than the smell in the hallway which also permeated the room I tried numerous things to get rid of the smell but it stayed. My friend who lives in the area says that's just the smell of the area, but having to breathe that in all night wasn't great. The room itself was fine and although I didn't use them the fridge and stove would be beneficial on longer stays. For the price it was a decent deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Neal Patel, Hotel Management
Daniel, thanks for the review. We apologize about the smell, but we are currently in the process of changing the carpet and drapes. We hope this helps with the smell. Thanks again for writing a review or our hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Room was not clean when entered. Staff immediately handled when approached. Was informed at check-in rooms were only cleaned every seven days during stay (once a week). Otherwise stay was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the room move. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Neal P. GM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by becky from texas

nice hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels
I liked the hotel it wasnt a four star but it was more than I expected. It was clean and people were very nice. I would stay there again. The only problem was there was nothing to do in Nederland. Which has nothing to do with the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Armando Gonzalez from Houston, Texas

ok stay

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
Not a bad stay, it just seemed that they were a little busy, trash was overflowing in the second floor elevator landing and mud was tracked throughout the entrance(it had been raining) other than that it was an uneventful stay.
4 out of 5
by KS from Gulfsouth

nice hotel

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels
the condition of the hotel was good and the room was clean. I plan to use the facility again