Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay! Can't wait to go back!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Location: The only thing we did away from the resort was to take a shuttle to Rick's Cafe which is A MUST!
My husband and I stayed here from Thursday to Monday towards the end of April 2017. We had 3 other couples with us and we all had an EXCELLENT time. The staff is super friendly and very accomodating, from bartenders to the cooks to the rooms cleaners. The food was delicious; great breakfast buffet every morning, cooks to make special request eggs and a lot of the other items were different every day for variety. The grill is an excellent place to grab a bite during the day for lunch and the asian restaurant and the nicer restaurant for dinner were delicious as well. The activities are fun and plentiful, just make sure you check on them on your first day there because some you have to sign up for a day in advance and they may fill up. We did the glass bottom boat, the snorkeling, the paddleboards, and the Catamaran Cruise (booze cruise). All were GREAT! The beach here is beautiful with clear water and plenty of chairs and floats are provided for resort use. There is also a very nice pool with 2 jacuzzis and a swim up bar that is also accessible on the other side from the beach. But there are also servers that will come down to the beach to bring you drinks, all you have to do is raise your red flag that they provide! All in all we had an excellent trip and would love to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Strongsville,OH

Great time at Couples

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Smaller resort and easy to get around. Great staff. Good food.
Cons: House wine (red) was not very good so we had to spend $35 for a bottle of wine. Had to call for service on our safe twice.
Location: We did not leave the resort. It did take 1 1/2 hours to get to the resort from the airport.
It was our first time in Jamaica and we stayed at Couples on the recommendation of family. Arrived on a Wednesday and the check in went smoothly. We had a fabulous time sitting on the beach, eating good food and enjoying great drinks. Plenty of shady spots to sit for those who want it. Especially liked the Lychee Restaurant where I had the Asian noodle dish with chicken and shrimp at two different dinners. Had lunch and dinner at the Heliconia and loved sitting outside to eat. The buffet was enjoyable and the service was super. All the employees are very friendly. Enjoyed the catamaran cruise and snorkeling too. The local singer at the Piano Bar was great. The beach party was fun and the entertainment that night was varied and enjoyable. All I. All we had a super time and would definitely go back again. We loved the fact that the resort is not huge. It is easy to get around and there is plenty of room to spread out so you are not on top of each other. No saving chairs on the beach at 7:00 am needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Size, age of most guests closer to our age (60), beautiful grounds, beach & ocean very clean & close, security was very apparent - liked that. Staff😀
Cons: Easier reservations for dinner. Why only 24 hours ahead? We missed out! I had requested & had confirmation for first floor rooms - did not get!!!
Location: 7 Mile Beach. We stayed on site except for a private sunset cruise thru the resort.
Wonderful experience!!! Smaller resort, which was exactly what we wanted. Had a mega resort experience last year in Mexico which we did not like. Less than 10 minute walk to the white sand beach & crystal clear water - with no rocks!!! And we were in one of the buildings farther away. Staff was super friendly & helpful. Sometimes the beach staff were no where to be found - lunchtime. Food was good. Grill at lunch just so so. Lychee was very good & great staff. Night activities were just enough - dance, sing a long, piano bar. Loved the beach bonfire & singing. Lots of repeat guests - no better recommendations!! Mattresses & pillows could be upgraded & the shower drenched the bathroom floor - I like doors! Do as much as you want or just sit & relax on the beach. No pool time for us so no comments. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O Fallon, MO

Excellent place to get away and unwind!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
There are plenty of things to do or if you just want to relax this hotel is just the place. It's a little outdated but CLEAN & the employees are phenomenal! Everyone is very friendly & happy to help you. We've vacationed in Mexico several times yet the atmosphere here is so much more relaxing. Extra bonus points for menu items that are gluten free!! Even rolls & desserts! We will be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsfield, MA

Smaller resort with phenomenal beach and staff

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The staff and beach are unparalleled! Staff are more than willing to make your stay pleasurable and do what they can to help. One of the best beaches.
Cons: The decor is a bit dated and there needs to be some building upkeep.
Location: The beach is in a bay, making the water calmer and enjoyable. Located not too far from golf, Dolphin Cove, Chukka, Rick's Cafe, shopping & much more.
The smaller size lends to a friendlier atmosphere. It's easy to make connections with staff and guests. There's plenty to do at the resort and lots of opportunities to take excursions into the island. We golfed with another couple at the Negril Hills Club. Go early, as the course is challenging and very hot. The piano bar offers many karaoke nights and dancing...lots of fun. The facility is somewhat dated, but the beach, staff and food make up for it. There was always plenty of delicious food; fresh fruits and vegetables, different cultures and palates represented daily, as well as clearly marked gluten free choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME USA

Good food, fun, & people. Great overall experience

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Size, food, friendly staff, shaded beach space, especially the personal feel and Jamaican hospitality.
Cons: As an older resort, a few minor things could be updated, but everything is in good condition and we notice small changes and improvements every year.
Location: Beautiful location on a 1.5 mile beach. Lots to do in Negril if you want to leave the resort. Rick's Cafe is a 15 minute cab ride away.
We love Couples Negril. This was our third trip there and we'll be booking next year's trip to Couples Negril soon. We've been to Jamaica nine times and have tried five other all-inclusive resorts. Nothing comes close to our Couples experience. It offers everything, but is small and personal. No towel cards or bracelets, you get to know people, other guests and staff. The food is wonderful, beach is not crowded, and there is plenty of shade - without having to hire a butler to reserve a space for you. The beach is clean and about 1 1/2 miles long. You never feel unsafe taking long walks or bartering with the locals artists and vendors on one section of the beach. There are pools, jacuzzis and a swim up bar, but my wife and I both prefer the beach and view of Bloody Bay. Their is no standing in line for a restaurant reservation. You only need reservations at one of the restaurants and those are easy to get - and worth it for a romantic "Couples" experience. There was little to no wait at the other restaurants or buffet. All the food is great. The desserts are not only beautiful, but the flavor is incredible. One of the things we like best is that they hire local musicians, not only at night, but often for beautiful background music during breakfast or lunch. We also like that Couples is environmentally conscious and minimizes waste etc...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice hotel great staff

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Very nice hotel great staff very accommodating. Food was good roooms were clean beach was awesome! Had a great trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, Kansas

Excellent hotel and outstanding staff

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: NOTHING! Everything was perfect!
Location: Beautiful location and so many things to do!
Everything was outstanding! Truly enjoyed every minute we were there and will be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

So relaxing!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Being on Bloody Bay you can't beat the beautiful, calm water and gorgeous sand. The resort is well laid out and easy to navigate.
Cons: Entertainment needs to start an hour earlier and with more variety. Nude beach could be expanded.
Location: Great location! Easy cab ride into town. We ate at Best of the West jerk chicken hut then strolled the beach for shopping and entertainment.
Couples offers so much activity, however we did very little of it. The place is actively peaceful if that makes sense. There is a large variety of food. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, but didn't go out of their way and intrude on our trip. The special nights (Valentine's cocktail party) and beach bon fire (chocolate & champagne) were wonderful. They really know how to put together special events. The evening entertainment was just "eh". We didn't feel bad not staying and watching the shows. We only made it to the piano bar one night. Most nights it was the same entertainers. LOVED the beach, float cushions on the chairs and provided towels. Bar on the nude beach is a nice touch. The nude beach is quite secluded, but can get crowded. At times we felt like there were more people on the nude side than the regular beach. The Royalton next door is a monstrosity and blocks any view of sunsets from the beach. It is overwhelming to the cove.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wy

Great couples get away

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice property what're the staff is friendly and willing to accommodate. Beautiful grounds with a nice vibe and low key atmosphere. We will definitely return.