Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Not a good experience

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Spent 4-22 to 4-26 at this resort ...found out after we got there that the hotel was closing to be torn down 4-26. Restaurants we not open like expected. The hotel did not have the supplies they needed. Called room service and was told they didn't have Caesar salad the first time . Second time they had salad but no dressing at all and ended up putting some warm mustard flavored stuff on salad which wilted the dressing. And that was supposed to be a Caesar salad . They ran out of things to make drinks. The food was overall not great at all. The only good thing I will say is the night we were able to go to the one restaurant Olives that ended up open we had a very nice experience . Our room air conditioner stopped cooling our 3 rd night and they sent up someone who didn't fix it. But the entire time it was running our room was filled with water that was running out of the air conditioning . Our last night there the aid conditioner went nuts and kept us awake all night sounding like it was going to blow up,and throwing out warm air..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing with the Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: honesty should have been the first priority
I was very disappointed with the hotel for not advising me that the hotel was closing for renovation on April 26, 2015. I have booked this trip in February and there was plenty of time for them to advise me of the closing not when I arrived on April 19, 2015 to tell me this news. The food was horrible. There was not much of selection of restaurants as they have posted in their website. They alternated the restaurants every other day. There were only 2 restaurants opened and then the buffet, which was horrible. I've been to other resorts and have seen a huge selection at the buffet and they have approximately 7-8 restuarants. This Hotel, Grand Lido, is very disappointing and misleading to guest and those who are booking the trip. Although they are closing for renovation, they don't care about this review, but tourist, be aware they will open in a year and it will have a new name, Royalton Resort. I wouldn't go and i advise those to do the same. I deserved a partial refund especially for the money that I spent and to find this out. HORRIBLE!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

If only had known

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Went days without towels, switched rooms due no curtains on Windows. Causing a day spent waiting. A/c broken in next room. We nearly paid for another resort. Long list of issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Best beach ever!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The Grand Lido is being completely torn down at the end of April so a review would be unnecessary. We stayed for 8 days..also stayed last year. Staff is wonderful . The beach is the best I have been on and I've been at several in the Caribbean and Spain. They are bulldozing the entire place down in May and are going to rebuild a 5 star hotel over the next 2 years. Even though staff will be unemployed within a few weeks, they still were pleasant and helpful with anything we needed. They don't have unemployment like in the US so hopefully everyone can find a new job within a short time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far away

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Beach was nice
Cons: Everything lol
The hotel is completely outdated and the food is not very good. Plus the hotel was far away from the night life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
It was great! The food was not the best at dinnertime but lunch and breakfast were great. The variety was wide to choose from. The Entertainment for daytime needs some improvement. The experience there was an enjoyable one, nonetheless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Good time

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Good times. Great beach good coffee would return when reopen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ingerid from Oslo

Grand Lido Negril var en opplevelse

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastisk påskeferie i Jamaica. Vi bodde på Grand Lido Negril, hvilken var et fantastisk valg. Vi ønsket et hotell med muligheten for "Clothing optional", og Lido viste seg å være det riktige valget. Hotellet har en vanlig strand forbundet til samme stranden som en del andre hoteller (hvert hotell har sin del av en meget lang strand som går rindt hele bukten). I tillegg har hotellet en egen skjermet strand som er forbeholdt de uten badetøy. Det er fullt lovlig å oppholde seg her med badetøy også, men de fleste vil nok finne det litt markelig da alle andre er nakne... Vi hadde aldri vært på denne type hotell, men endte med å BARE være på Clothing optional området. Maken til rolig, avslappet og behagelig atmosfære skal man lete lenge etter! Maten var også veldig god. Ønsker man litt fest og morro på kvelden, er ikke dette stedet å dra. (men rett over gaten ligger Hedo II, med mere fest og galskap en de fleste er vandt til. Så muligheten er kort vei unna). Synd de nå river ned hotellet. (slutten av april). Nytt hotell er klart om ca 2 år
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Posted Mar 31, 2015
The staff and hospitality was great, they were very helpful. We had a blast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The lack of grand.
Cons: The rooms needed some updates.
Location: Mostly stayed on the resort. It had beautiful beaches and many things to do. Went into Negril once for the market.
To bad they're demolishing this old resort. It needs some fixing up, but liked the small quiet feeling.