Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Stephen from Miami

Terrible Terrible hotel DO NOT STAY HERE.....

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
This place was terrible. Not what was advised on your website. The rooms were hot the beds were hard. I called hotels.com numerous times to come change hotels but no one could help me. This hotel need cleaning and a make over and do not recommend Home sweet home Resort to anyone. I'm also disappointed in hotels.com not not accommodating and help make the matter better. I've used hotel.comprises for many years and have never dealt with anything like this.
4 out of 5
by Trudie from Richfield

Amazing view

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in a cliffside suite with a little kitchenette big enough for making breakfasts. The view is amazing and there was a kind of semi-private sunbathing area in front. Also a deck with table & chairs for outdoor eating and watching the sunset. Pelicans fly by late in the afternoon diving for their dinner!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Super friendly staff, cozy, gorgeous view

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Welcoming atmosphere, good food.
Cons: Nothing specific - staff were very responsive to a broken TV box and had it replaced no hassle.
Location: Good spot in Negril if you like taking long walks and shopping locally. Great little restaurants, shops, sights.
Year #3 and we'll be regulars for years to come. Don't expect super luxury but do expect great home cooked meals, incredible views, laid back atmosphere and an ever-growing flow of regular guests who start to feel like family year over year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Feels Like Home

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Home Sweet Home lived up to its name. From the moment of arrival we were treated like cherished family members. I was here with my son. When I was alone on resort I felt 100 percent safe. Monty is a great chef and made us several great meals. Housekeeping staff is very friendly and you truly do get fresh linens and towels every day. This location is perfect for snorkeling.
5 out of 5
by Angela from St. Louis

A Best Kept Secret

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Never having been to Jamaica I was not sure what to expect. However the friendly staff, the clean and well kept property and the views from the cliffs (which were breathtaking) made my first Jamaican visit spectacular! It was not a 5 Star all inclusive hotel but it was a wonderful boutique facility with a warm and welcoming staff that made it worth the stay. People from across the world visited during our time on the property. It truly lived up to its name, Home Sweet Home!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is on a cliffside and is well manicured. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. Directly behind the hotel, is a very busy and noisy road. There is also a loud bar across the street that plays loud music until 11pm. This bar also has a fenced yard with a huge number of dogs. We heard dog fights and barking throughout the night. The staff at Home Sweet Home initially appear to be very friendly, but they appear to be expecting you to tip them for basic services. This is an expensive hotel, why do I have to tip for every basic services? For example, We got a ride to the bus station- which would have cost $1 USD if we had taken a route taxi. Instead the staff insisted on driving us in the hotel's car- but then when we arrived at our destination made us pay $10 for the 8 minute ride to the station. We were under the impression that the trip would be free because we already paid a large amount to stay at the hotel. This was frustrating. While it was nice to look over the cliffs, I would recommend spending an evening at Rick's cafe and staying in a cheaper place- as you will be propositioned for so many tips while you are in Jamaica, and apparently staying at an expensive hotel will not shield you from that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay!

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Our first time in Jamaica and we didn't want to stay at an AI. We wanted a small authentic resort so we chose this place. Our room was the cliff edge king suite. It could use some updating but it was charming and very comfortable. I felt so relaxed! The A/C worked so well, I had to turn it off a couple of times. The maids kept the room very clean. The food was tasty. Good location; good restaurants are a 5-minute cab ride away. Close to downtown Negril. Only downside was the technology. The cable would go in and out at times or for a couple hours. I was having problems with our airport transfers and it was frustrating not being able to text or even locally call the shuttle company from my cell phone. There wasn't a phone in our room so I had to use the office phone. But that aside, we would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We had a lovely couple nights and almost had the entire place to ourselves. Our first night there we watched 2 grey dolphins playing about out front.🐬 🐬 With the sunset!!! It was beautiful ❤👍🌞🌞🌞 Monty cooks up a nice meal in his dining room looking over the ocean. Tina at the front desk is friendly accomadating and knowledgeable. I wish they would power wash or scrub the decks and outdoor walking paths more often. The streets are very dirty and walks onto the grounds with you. Be great to walk barefoot! Irie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mayland

Quiet stay

Posted Sep 7, 2015
The staff was friendly but I stayed at the property during the off season so there was no chef on the premises at the time and some renovations being done as well. I stayed in the Penthouse and it was beautiful but the air conditioning unit did not work so it was uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice quiet and peaceful I would definitely go back