Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2018
This hotel had an excellent location on the beach. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Huge balconies. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Boutique hotel along 7 Mile

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Pros: The location is exceptional as we could walk along the white sand beach in either direction for miles, and cross the road to grab a bite to eat.
We were looking for a boutique hotel on the beach in Negril, and Idle Awhile exceeded all our expectations. We had a garden view room that looked out onto lush greenery. The room was spacious and just a short stroll to the magnificent 7 Mile Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No idle workers here!

Posted Mar 13, 2018
I knew that I wanted to return to Negril,albeit 25 years later, and this time to experience the beautiful 7 mile beach with 17yo daughter. I wanted to stay at a modest, boutique hotel this time, and not an all inclusive. Idle Awhile looked interesting on paper but the reviews were mixed. I want to thank the reviewer who gave it 5 stars, who wrote that he has been a frequent guest over the years. His review seemed genuine. The reviewer who wrote that her room was mosquito infested must have mistaken this Idle Awhile Beach hotel for a different one. I did not see one mosquito my entire trip! Of course, everyone should bring insect repellant regardless of their destination. Ok, now to specifics: The check in was seamless, thanks to Carleton! The room was airy and spotless, and the beds soft and neatly made. Our bathroom had every toiletry imagine able! The free welcome rum punch was well made and not weak at all! The bartender, the older Carleton ( or the "real Carleton," as he called himself), was friendly and attentive. Above all was Marcia- she literally served as an EveryWoman! She waited always at the front of the property to walk us across the street, like a crossing gaurd! Why did we cross the street? To get to the other side of course, where the best roadside restaurant was located, called "Best in the West." They served a wonderful conch soup, jerk chicken, and made the smoothest Pina colada ( both virgin and alcoholic).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Annetha , Hotel Management
On the half of the Idle Awhile family we would like to thank you for making us your home away from home, we enjoyed hosting you at our beautiful resort. We appreciate your comments about our staffs as we will continue to aim for the best so next time we will exceed your expectations. Can't wait to see you guys again. Kind Regards Annetha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from billings, mt

No reason to ever stay at an all inclusive

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Hotel is simple, but beautiful. Close to great dining served up local style by the folks that live in the area. A+ Note that you will be approached by beach vendors, but that's just Negril. If you don't want that, an all inclusive in Mo Bay would be a better choice for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best on the beach.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Pros- Beach staff. Cool Vibe. Great beach. Location
Cons: Cons - So many mosquitoes in room we could not sleep or even hang out in room at all. Front desk not accommodating or friendly. Food and Bar quality.
Location: Eat outside hotel. Best of the West for jerk. Firefly for breakfast.
Cool boutique hotel on the beach with sister property on the west end/cliffs. Very nice and quaint with good decor. Food is average at best, but more expensive than major cities in U.S.. 22+ day cancellation policy is strict...so don't book without insurance. We booked and stayed first 3 nights during a monsoon flood and tried to cancel last few nights with 50+ hrs notice and they said no. Pros- Beach staff. Cool Vibe. Great beach. Location Cons - So many mosquitoes in room we could not sleep or even hang out in room at all. Front desk not accommodating or friendly. Food and Bar quality just O.K. at best and very expensive. Lots of smokers on beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous Property on the Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet and intimate environment. Location and convenience. Free water bottle with filtered water fountains also a plus.
Cons: Nothing
I was sad that I only stayed here one night. This property is centrally located, provides a boutique hotel feel, reasonably priced for the level of service received. I'm already looking to book for next year.
5 out of 5
by Neil

Private retreat in the middle of the beach strip

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean, welcoming staff, very well maintained rooms and grounds, and a fantastic snapper salad!!! right in the middle of everything, yet quiet and private. I have stayed at their resort on the West End side of Negril also, loved that and thought that being on the beach would be a step down, but I was wrong - both properties are amazing. Staff regularly transfer between properties, and one of the bartenders welcomed me 'back', despite it being a different location - that's customer service! Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Jared

Excellent

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
The staff saw to our every needs. We felt safe and secluded on the beach late at nights. And lots of fun activities on the beach during the day. The drinks and food were awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Very friendly, experienced and attentive staff set this resort apart from many others in Jamaica in a big way. The dining was high quality and reasonably priced, with a nice romantic atmosphere. The rooms were boutique but not over done. Having a rental car or cash to take taxis around will add to a guest's enjoyment of the area. This place would be really hard to beat in Negril for a luxury, laid back, uncrowded resort. No faults, complaints or misgivings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Kerry, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are elated that you have found and enjoyed your stay at Idle Awhile. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you home on your next visit. Warm regards, Kerry
4 out of 5
by Krystal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels