Ratings based on 1,027 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place with few things which should be improve

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We stayed in different RIU resorts and we expected the same experience in RIU Negril. People are very nice and they do their best to help you. Every night they have good entertainment. This hotel is closed to road and rooms facing that side are not really quite. There are many restaurants but breakfast and lunch are served in a single restaurant. These restaurants are very crowded and often they ran out with food and plates. On the beach they have one place where you can get a drink. There is always long line and getting drinks from your room helps a lot. We purchased internet connection for a week and we paid $40. The connection is slow and it is not worth that money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not typical RIU quality

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: room, bed, shower, balcony
Cons: food, locals selling products on the beach, sand flies, clean the pool
Location: Rick's cafe, ATV, Black river
I have stayed at RIU chain hotels in Dominican Republic and Cancun multiple times and was looking forward to what Jamaica had to offer. Went for a 5-day trip for a friend's wedding. The pool was dirty and smelled like beer or urine. The dining halls were filled with flies. The food and drink quality was poor overall. Enjoyed my room - it was clean and modern.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resorts are a class of their own

Posted Feb 11, 2017
This resort itself was fine (aside from the food). They do a great job of making sure there is something for everyone. The best part is that you can take out their kayaks, paddle boards, sail boats, and snorkeling gear for free! Also offer great deals on scuba diving and snorkeling excursions. Entertainment every evening...one of which was a reggae band, so that was great! Seemed like most people there were just there to get drunk and not learn about anything in Jamaica that's real. However, that's probably who the crowd is at all resorts, I'm realizing! So no real problems with this resort, just resorts in general, for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Only negative this part of beach the water is not as pretty or clear
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Nice place. A few things need a little upgrading. Proximity to attractions are not close, but that's is with most places in Jamaica. The staff strives hard to make sure you are are satisfied.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Jan 26, 2017
This is a 3 star hotel. Dont expect anything more than that. It also is not on 7 mile beach it is about 4 miles north. Hotel was clean and food was awesome. Beach chairs were awful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troy , NY

Lots of free water sports, nice calm bay to swim

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Some sea weed, staff is excellent- shows are very good- food has improved since last there 7 years ago One negative- Jamacains walking on beach trying to sell weed to all who pass through
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Stayed here last year I knew what to expect

Posted Jan 17, 2017
This is my 2nd time here had a great time. The staff are very friendly and accommodating Food needs to improve and deserts are lacking. We love Negril this is a safe and friendly town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but the room smelled like mold & mildew

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The food was great and it was near the ocean.
Cons: The rooms shouldn't smell like mold & mildew.
The resort was close to the beach and the food was great, but as soon as we walked into our room we got hit with a strong smell of mold & mildew. We called the front desk immediately and they moved us to another room that had the same smell but with less of a view of the ocean. We ended up staying since we were tired of moving around and they seemed to not care about our complaint. Apparently those rooms in the semi- ocean view section were discounted for that reason. Aside from that everything was good. Although, I wouldn't go back to this hotel for the lack of attention to our complaint and the horrible odor in the rooms we stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Beautiful hotel. Great food and awesome staff

Posted Jan 13, 2017
It was great. The place has everything. Pretty beaches, unbelievably nice staff. The food was delicious. Every night was food, music and drinks!