Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Will go again

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff; clean, quiet rooms; good food and drinks.
Cons: Additional area to get beach/pool towels. If you are in rooms 3000+ itba long walk; beach in this area is a fish sanctuary and cannot be used.
Location: Good location north of Seven Mile Beach; near Running Waters Park.
Stayed in about half dozen resorts/hotel in three years and found this one very good. Good variety of food and drinks; sports bar open 24 hours, with sandwiches. Did not have to book ahead for the specialty restaurants. Swim area has a lot of grass unlike the neighboring hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel staff was wonderful - very helpful and pleasant. Room was clean and spacious. Perfect sized resort. Variety of food at the buffet but hard to get seating at other restaurants (2 times 6:30 and 8:30) arrived at 8:15 and was turned away from the 8:30 seating, said "restaurant was full." Overall very happy with this resort and pleased with the price. Traveled with my family of 5 (2 teens and 1 preteen) to celebrate birthdays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Nice resort for price.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent for off shore snorkeling Excellent Food Excellent Entertainment Staff Very Clean
Cons: More snacks available after 10:00pm (only sports bar available) Dance Club Stock in room mini bars with more water and beer
Location: Loved Ricks Café, Margaretville, 7 mile beach.
Had a great vacation. Food, room, entertainment, was all very good. Beach party was my favorite. If you like to snorkel bloody bay is an excellent off shore spot! We seen sting rays, puffer fish, lion fish, and an octopus. Just remember this is a bay.. not a beach, therefore the water isn't as clear as 7 mile beach. It was not very crowded which was great! We ate at the jerk chicken hut everyday it was delicious. Take a stroll by the fish sanctuary in the mornings and you can see lots of crabs on the rocks and other little critters. We enjoyed the vendors between the 2 rui properties. You can buy souvenirs made by the locals. We learned during may there are thunderstorms every evening that last an hour or two. Sometimes.. it would poor! We didn't mind, we used this time to take a nap in our room to restore our energy for nightly entertainment. It is easy to get a cab to visit other places such as 7 mile beach or Rick's Café. You just go to the lobby and they have a drivers on standby. FYI... the ride from the Montego Bay airport is about an hour and half with no stops. It's a scenic drive.. so not too boring! Only complaint would be I think there should be a dance club at night and there should be more late night snacks available. The only place to get grub after 10pm is the sports bar and they don't have anything but simple sandwiches and popcorn!! Also, they didn't keep our mini bar stocked in our room. We would have to call everyday to get more beer and water!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but I won't come back

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The maid didn't clean my room very well after tipping her she did her job.dont know why I'm paying for an all inclusive that I have to tip everyone for everything.they didn't restock my fridge in my room.1 day they didn't leave any bath towels.guests should receive 4 sets of towels to dry off on.lousy Wi-Fi reception.2 out of the 4 restaurants are only open every other day.1 restaurant requires u to were long pants really im on vacation,so I only had a choice of 2 resturants to pick from.which i had to stand in line to get a spot to eat.when I did eat the food was excellent. The entertainment at the pool can be turned down some.the front desk took care of every problem that I mentioned.good front staff.this was my second trip at the resort. U asked I answered
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Decent hotel for what you pay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Having stayed at a riu in Montego Bay years ago, it was a no brainer to book one for our trip to negril. However, I was somewhat disappointed. I found the floor in our room to be sandy/sticky, there was a roach in our shower, as well as a dirty toilet that ran constantly and a broken shower handle. All this was fixed with a simple phone call and room change. The staff was wonderful for the most part. A few of the bar tenders seemed unhappy on a daily basis, but the entertainment staff and those who worked in the restaurants were extremely friendly and helpful. The people roaming the beach trying to sell you things weren't terrible, just annoying day after day because they'd ask you multiple times to purchase and shout Across the beach until you responded. The bay water was pleasantly warm, however there was a ton of plant-life and it wasn't crystal clear as I had expected(I'm not a fan of swimming When I can't see my feet or i can feel things other than sand in my toes!). They had 3 large pools which were great, especially the pool with the swim up bar! The only downside was the concrete surrounding the main pool was beat up and gravelly, so you needed sandals to avoid stepping on the loose rocks. I can't say the food was phenomenal, however it definitely wasn't bad. Tons and tons of choices at each meal, typical of quality you'd expect at a buffet. You wont go hungry! And the jerk chicken stand on the beach was awesome! kiddie pool was great for my 18 month old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking Respect

Posted Apr 18, 2017
As a native of the island, I felt as if I had to deal with racism in my own country. Some of the staff members we extremely disrespectful. If I asked for something I was directed to where it was, however when the person behind me of a different race asked for the same thing it was handed to her on multiple occasions. I also requested that a guest waited for me in the lobby, 20 minutes later she was still being harassed by the security. Jamaica is a beautiful island, I'm saddened that we as a people haven't evolved from certain stereotypes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hartdord, ct

Nice hotel. Bad experience

Posted Apr 16, 2017
I booked a vacation package with Expedia. They booked the cheapest airline which ended up costing me $400 in baggage fees which were not informed to use prior to the flight. When we arrived at the hotel, they did have our reservations and then informed us we had to pay out our pockets until they cleared the issue. We ended up booking another hotel for $250 until the issue was cleared up. Making the grand total of $650 in additional charges we paid. Expedia poorly planned and advised us about our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Great hotel. staff was friendly and hotel was super cleanz Would stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Friend's Bachelorette

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Cons: FOOD!
The hotel was beautiful but I was very disappointed with the staff and food. Most of the staff working in the restaurants were very rude. We had a group of 11 girls and we knew for dinner we would have to sit separately but the host at the Asian restaurant recommend we sit in 2s. she wouldn't join the tables together. Secondly if you do not get to breakfast by 9:30am you will be eating scraps. They didn't even have bread for you to eat. Its an all inclusive and we are on vacation. The snacks they had when the buffet wasn't open was horrible. Cold burgers and hotdogs that you microwaved and popcorn. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Nice resort, good food options, make sure not to hang on to the beach after 5pm sand flies are very very bad!