Ratings based on 1,055 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

Paradise!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
I absolutely loved my week at the RIU Negril. The staff was extraordinary! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The food & drinks were excellent. There were so many activities for all ages. We will definitely be returning soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Needs to be updated

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The Resort needs a major upgrade, not what you would expect for a RIU. The staff is amazing and the mosquitos are out of control.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a Major upgrade

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: The grounds and rooms all need to be upgraded.
The staff is friendly, food is good but the rooms and resort need a major upgrade. I was disappointed at this RIU resort and if I came back I would try the RIU Palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Something to look into

Posted Jun 2, 2017
A decent resort with decent amenities. Hardworking and friendly staff. Clean and open space. Mosquito are everywhere so bring big spray. Definitely a place to look into. Don't forget to tip the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loxahatchee,Fl.

Nice hotel,staff very friendly.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel was nice my room was far in the back. It rained so it was uncomfortable to get to main area to get food etc without getting wet. They need after hours disco on Saturday nights.the food was ok.The staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Very relaxing and convenient

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: I liked the convenience of everything - food, drinks, activities, shopping. It's good for relaxing or getting active or spending time with loved ones.
Cons: I almost slipped and fell a few times from wet floors. Non-slip stickers in hallways and doorways would be helpful.
Location: I didn't leave the resort this time, but I did get a snorkel ride all to myself with my boat driver and tour guy. That was awesome!
This was my sixth time at this exact resort. The staff were really friendly and even brought me a fruit plate since I was a returning guest. AC in the room was too cold, and the thermostat didn't seem to adjust for me. I was torn between being way too hot and sweaty in the evenings or feezing! There was also a "sewagey" smell down the bathroom sink drain, but it wasn't too terrible as I tried to minimize time in my room and maximize time on the beach. The beach is right outside of the rooms, so there really isn't a bad room in the place. I wouldn't spend the extra $$ for a beach front or garden view room unless you planned on people watching during your trip. The ocean front rooms are a stone's throw away from the main sidewalk, so I don't see the benefit of sitting on the balcony to watch people walk by in front of that ocean view. My room was cleaned nicely each day, and 99.9% of the staff were so friendly and helpful. There was a lady in the spa who refused to give me change for my $20 so I could tip my masseuse, but she did give me a $10 discount, so I can't be too mad at her. The beach peddlers are nice and not too pushy as long as you're straight with them and throw a "no thanks" and keep moving. If you're a sucker for a good salesman, they may get you to buy their cigarettes or aloe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

nice hotel with lots of activity

Posted May 27, 2017
Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean. Could choose beach or pool and never felt crowded at either for it being a large complex. Great variety in food and the bartenders were outstanding, there were a couple different bars on the beach as well as a swim up bar and the main lobby bar.All were very nice. Lots of activities and entertainment available as well. Non stop fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Will go again

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff; clean, quiet rooms; good food and drinks.
Cons: Additional area to get beach/pool towels. If you are in rooms 3000+ itba long walk; beach in this area is a fish sanctuary and cannot be used.
Location: Good location north of Seven Mile Beach; near Running Waters Park.
Stayed in about half dozen resorts/hotel in three years and found this one very good. Good variety of food and drinks; sports bar open 24 hours, with sandwiches. Did not have to book ahead for the specialty restaurants. Swim area has a lot of grass unlike the neighboring hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel staff was wonderful - very helpful and pleasant. Room was clean and spacious. Perfect sized resort. Variety of food at the buffet but hard to get seating at other restaurants (2 times 6:30 and 8:30) arrived at 8:15 and was turned away from the 8:30 seating, said "restaurant was full." Overall very happy with this resort and pleased with the price. Traveled with my family of 5 (2 teens and 1 preteen) to celebrate birthdays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Nice resort for price.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent for off shore snorkeling Excellent Food Excellent Entertainment Staff Very Clean
Cons: More snacks available after 10:00pm (only sports bar available) Dance Club Stock in room mini bars with more water and beer
Location: Loved Ricks Café, Margaretville, 7 mile beach.
Had a great vacation. Food, room, entertainment, was all very good. Beach party was my favorite. If you like to snorkel bloody bay is an excellent off shore spot! We seen sting rays, puffer fish, lion fish, and an octopus. Just remember this is a bay.. not a beach, therefore the water isn't as clear as 7 mile beach. It was not very crowded which was great! We ate at the jerk chicken hut everyday it was delicious. Take a stroll by the fish sanctuary in the mornings and you can see lots of crabs on the rocks and other little critters. We enjoyed the vendors between the 2 rui properties. You can buy souvenirs made by the locals. We learned during may there are thunderstorms every evening that last an hour or two. Sometimes.. it would poor! We didn't mind, we used this time to take a nap in our room to restore our energy for nightly entertainment. It is easy to get a cab to visit other places such as 7 mile beach or Rick's Café. You just go to the lobby and they have a drivers on standby. FYI... the ride from the Montego Bay airport is about an hour and half with no stops. It's a scenic drive.. so not too boring! Only complaint would be I think there should be a dance club at night and there should be more late night snacks available. The only place to get grub after 10pm is the sports bar and they don't have anything but simple sandwiches and popcorn!! Also, they didn't keep our mini bar stocked in our room. We would have to call everyday to get more beer and water!