Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Entertainment and the best beach and water front. can walk out in the water about 60 feet 4 feet of water
Cons: Staff smoking in area, guest smoking around resort. no smoking sign posted but guess smoked freely in most areas.
Disappointed in hotel room location and staff. Stayed in section 2100 and staff continuously smoked in hallways. notified front desk no change over the 6 day stay. Hotel advised no smoking rooms however, people continued smoking in rooms couldn't seat on deck. Pool entertainment and the show in evening were great. Food was OK could been better. Long ride to most of resort entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

It was magnificent!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Mayfield Falls is breathtaking! Half Moon Bay snorkeling tour/barbeque lobster at Half Moon Bay/awesome! Black River & YS Falls gorgeous & Ricks Café
The hotel entertainment was fabulous and fun. The staff was awesome!!!! Food was superb!!! I miss Jamaica!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, fairly nice.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We enjoyed our stay but felt like communication of events was lacking. Also, the room service was less than stellar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Too old. Musty mold smell , reactions to problems was very slow. We were told to not drink the water but they were very stingy with bottled water. Two out of six days we were not given water in our room. We were told we had to wait until the next day to get water. Food was below average. The staff went the extra mile to help but they have nothing to work with. These issues are typical of most all inclusives. Save your money and take a real vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Ricks Cafe

Posted Jul 16, 2016
clean and comfortable, the staff are helpful and very kind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Great hotel for a great price!! Hotel staff were awesome and I'd surely come back again. Food wasn't the best but it wasn't bad at all. I stayed 6 days and wish I'd stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Beach, Great Entertainment, Great Staff

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: We LOVED the staff! They made our stay incredible! Also, the beach is amazing. The pools are nice and the grounds are well kept. The food=perfect!
Cons: The rooms have a smell, the beds/pillows are terrible. Need more Paddle Boards and Life Jackets - a lot more. Front Desk needs to be more welcoming.
Location: The location is beautiful! Not hassled as much as 7 mile beach. Go on the cruise but understand Ricks and Margariteville is expensive.
Here is a quick breakdown for those considering RIU Palace - Negril. The food was very good. Our favorite was Krystal - the food and service were outstanding. The Japanese Place was not very good. We didn't eat at the other restaurants. Kemor at Krystal goes above and beyond. The buffets were very good, lots of variety - Mexican Night was the best! Damien and Mario were the best at breakfast and Crefton was outstanding in service and making us feel like we were the only people there. Just fantastic. The entertainment goes above and beyond - Happy Feet does aerobics that is fun and makes you feel less guilty for eating so much! The rest of the entertainment staff are so incredibly talented and warm. They plan out so much. All you need to do is say yes to them and you will have an amazing time. Go to their shows - they practice hard and it shows. Tracy was our housekeeper and she was absolutely amazing. The rooms are old, the beds are uncomfortable, the pillows are terrible (all a management issue) but she goes above and beyond to clean. Alex the Lifeguard is a history lesson on Jamaica that you don't have to pay for a class to learn. He made the beach a great place to be. Shoshay (spelling may be wrong) at the lobby bar is the sweetest young lady. She got cartoons on the TV for our 9 year old and went above and beyond. All of the servers are so nice. If you haven't gotten my tip yet= get to know the PEOPLE. They are there to make the experience great.
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful. Entertainment after 7 pm needed to be more oriented to adults.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach....

Posted May 25, 2016
We had a great time. The beach is probably one of the most beautiful around.. It was our third time visiting RIU
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Very clean and very good staff.

Posted May 12, 2016 on Orbitz
The only issue is the birds around the food. This is a health issue