Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted May 30, 2017
Food was good and the staff was great. They were so welcoming and readily accessible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Ok hotel, excellent staff

Posted May 29, 2017
Hotel was older, could be updated. Staff excellent, friendly, and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TOLEDO, OH

Would highly recommend.

Posted May 26, 2017
Had a really good time at the riu palace. The beach was perfect and very very clean. Staff was a lot of fun and very nice and treated guests with nothing but respect. Food was good with lots of choices. Entertainment every night and throughout the day. Met lots of awesome people, staff and tourists. It was just a great trip my wife and I can't wait to come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

TERRIBLE FOOD!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the beach but then it's Negril. However, there weren't any umbrellas or tiki huts for shade.
Cons: Knock down this hotel and put up a new tropical Jamaican structure! If we wanted to see European decor, we would go to Europe!
Location: Location great. Things to do nearby were fine.
Food was abundant and beautifully presented. BUT taste was terrible! Quantity over quality doesn't work! Specialty restaurants were the worst!! It was evident that food was watered down; e.g. a hamburger was mostly filler so it tasted terrible, even condiments like ketchup were watery. Steaks were poor quality. Fried rice in the Japanese restaurant was horrible. Jamaican dishes such as jerk foods, oxtail, yams, and ackee, etc. were obviously not prepared or cooked by a Jamaican chef. They really missed the mark here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riu tropical palace

Posted May 20, 2017
Hotel and food was excellent overall the staff was not we had very good service for breakfast same waiter and specialty restaurant service was excellent everyone else was not so welcoming tho.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sunrise, FL

Unfriendly to the disabled and elderly.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The grounds are well maintained Staff pleasant An abundance of food
Cons: Fix cable TV More disabled and elderly friendly; three floors and no elevator? Unheard of.
Location: Toured the town, nothing really to see. Went to Rick's; that was fun. Heard about Margaritaville; never made it though
Too far to walk to get to dining area, especially since it was raining. No cable TV the entire time. Limited entertainment. On the up side, the hotel is beautiful, the staff pleasant, the Michael Jackson show very nice, food a wide variety and tasty and lots of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the beach!!!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: staff and presentation was fantastic
never a dull moment, staff was on there game and without a doubt the best we have come across. already looking to book out next visit to this hotel next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted May 11, 2017
Cons: Better water pressure
Go there, you won't be sorry. Food is great, as is the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Had a beautiful view of the garden and beach!

Posted May 7, 2017
The pictures I see does this place NO JUSTICE! It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! The hospitality was superb!! Food was soooooooo good!! My family and I are already planning our trip back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU castle palace negril Jamaica

Posted May 6, 2017
Stayed here for my 14 year wedding anniversary and we had a blast food was good as well as the staff. Will return one day