Ratings based on 740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Ocean front gives the closest view of the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The bar at check can be more accommodating, ,it depends on who is minding the bar. The bar pool side is the best. The front desk personal are friendly, ,Andrew is the man,,he will make your stay more inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville SC

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Friendly, accommodating staff. Great location directly on the beach with all the amenities at your fingertips. Food and drinks were plentiful and enjoyable shows topped each evening! I would definately go back! Wonderful Jamaican experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frequent guests...overall great stay!!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Everything was great, as usual from the food to the staff to the condition of the room. As frequent guests we are treated like family and often given complementary services. The food was great and more jamaican dishes were added which was a plus. The beach is beautiful and not rocky like some others. My only complaint which i have brought to the attention of management is that the no smoking policy is not enforced. Its horrible that nonsmokers have to constantly be subjected to secondhand smoke at the bar, on the beach, in the lobby pretty much everywhere. We usually just move but its quite annoying and oftentimes can not be avoided. If managment would strictlt enforce this policy this hotel would deserve a 5 star rating for sure.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

It depends on what your looking for...

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Need renovation badly
Location: Paying 20 US dollars to go in to town is a rip off. It's better to find your own drive plus the location is really ,HANOVER they just falsely advertis
If you are looking for beauty don't stay at the tropical palace. Although it's rated higher it's the lower standard hotel in my opinion. The palace is older looking and has not been renovated in years so it doesn't have new fresh decor or even comfortable beds. I was so unhappy with my room I switched it three times. The beds were so hard my ribs literally hurt for two days until I finally begged the folks at the front desk to please put two mattress pads on my bed because it was unbearable.i wanted to "downgrade" to the club house because the beds we're new and the rooms were much nicer also the food was better at the other location as well as the kids area was way much nicer. However since I booked through Expedia which I'll never do again it was taking up too much of my vacation to try to get a representative help me transfer so I ended up staying at the palace eating terrible food everyday. Most of my time there I went to other places to eat because the hotel food was so bad. If your in Jamaica looking for a hard bed, american food and the access to walk in the hot sun on the beach to for 15 minutes to the other location than this may be the place for you. The staff was just ok it took days for them to respond to any request. Also there must be only one bell boy because the moment I checked in I was moving my own luggage to each room I was ever in no one ever showed up to assist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Placid, Fl

Great All Inclusive!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
First time staying at the Riu in Negril. Staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The food was great, our only complaint was no American beer (Miller Lite) lol. We have stayed at the Riu in Ocho Rios and also in Montego Bay and we like this one just as well. Beach and the water was the best ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2015
I read several reviews about this hotel and almost did not make a reservations because of some of the negative comments. I will agree with some that the Jamaican food could have been better but I understand that they are catering for foreigners. Being Jamaican I know what our food should taste like. The other thing that was lacking was quality entertainment. But apart from that the hotel was clean and the staff friendly and professional. We would like to give a shout out to Ullian at the front desk because she made our trip even more enjoyable. We would definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Best vacation spot ever.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Beautiful resort, staff top notch, especially in Buffet. Wait staff were the best. Food was great. Beaches were clean and beautiful. Rooms very clean and compy. Would recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting in the center of large bay.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
White sandy beach just steps from pool, rooms centered around facility dining and activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Gorgeous resort located right one beach

Posted Dec 15, 2015
I just returned home (sadly) from a 5 day stay at the riu tropical in negril. Couldn't be happier with my choice, all inclusive was amazing. Huge breakfast Buffett every morning, swim up bar, excursions are easy to book. Staff was beyond friendly and courteous, I loved them all. The reservation only restaurants weren't all that great in my opinion, I would have much rather have had a quick meal at the dinner Buffett and then a drink on the beach instead of dedicating so much time inside but that's just my personality. Sadly it did rain a majority of my trip which isn't the hotels fault obviously lol will definitely be returning soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Nicest AI we've ever stayed in.

Posted Dec 13, 2015
The food was Costco quality. Cheap but plentiful. That was our only real complaint which wasn't even a complaint really. 24 hour room service. 3 restaurants (make res early the steakhouse sells out). All the beer, liquor, soda, water you want in your room. Amazingly happy and helpful staff. Nice pools w swim up bar and recliners in the water. Beautiful beach. Nice lobby bar, fun evening entertainment. Catch the steel drummers on Monday if you get a chance. Amazing.