Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be careful of the time period you book this hotel.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The staff (except for the managment) was excellent. The food was wonderful. The beach and water was just wonderful.
Cons: For the sake and safety of guests, especially with families, warn prospective guests about the annual 4-day "Dream Weekend." It's the least you can do
Location: The beach is fantastic. The view is equally fanatic and the water temperature is just wonderful.
Unbeknownst to us the Jamica Indepenace Day "4-Day Dream Weekend" occured during 9-night night vacation from July 26 to August 4th 2016. Unfortunately Expedia will not permit my exposing the kind of horrific detail that transpired so I will post those details elsewhere to serve as a warning to anyone planning a vacation at this hotel. Unfortunately Expedia makes a great effort to censor the truth of horrid experiences such as this. Suffice it to say this experience was so shocking and frightening that I can only give this hotel the lowest possible rating. Our $4500 vacation (my wife and myself) was ruined because of it. I only wish I could share with you what transpired at this hotel during this period. If I could I seriously doubt that you would ever want to vacation of this hotel, especially with your children. For families to be subjected to anything like this, even if it is just an annual event, substantiates (at least to me) that the RIU Tropical Bay does NOT put family first and will do nothing to protect them much less compensate them when such an unbelievably horrific experience/event occurs. Consider yourselves warned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice resort even nicer locals!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We stayed at this resort August 2014 and just recently, August 2016 and we noticed the food choices definitely got better. We paid for an upgrade when we got there to a beachfront view (3310) and did not regret the extra $100, it was worth it! The water is calm and clear, plenty of loungers, the resort is huge and you'll have a lot of walking but who cares, you're in paradise! We had lunches at Wayne's lobster shack which is to the right of the resort (if you're on the beach head right towards the shacks). He's a Rasta man so if you're craving fresh lobster and one day fresh crab! Ask any of the locals walking up and down the beach for Wayne and they'll point you to where you need to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Mosquitos Mosquitos Mosquitos

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: A chef personally fixed me curry shrimp and lobster and I enjoyed the jerk hut during lunch
Cons: Beds too hard..too many mosquitos...tub and shower combination very small...food same everyday and not good...nd to replace beach umbrella w/tree huts
Too many mosquitos...food same everyday and not that good...drinks were ok
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice location, bad room

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The location was beautiful and the grounds were well kept. The food was subpar. The room was dated and beds uncomfortable. Cleaning was inadequate also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I've stayed at the Riu in Cabo so that's why I chose it again. However, I was disappointed. The buffet was not good and flies were sworming over the salads and veggies. The front desk was not friendly or helpful at all when it came to asking for ideas or activities outside the resort. It wasn't my fav stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Hotel for Dream Weekend

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The hotel was great. We got upgraded to a partial ocean view room which was just as great as ocean view! The food needs a little more seasoning but it's resort food so you can't please everyone. The beds were okay, not plush but not hard either. PERFECT LOCATION for all the Dream Weekend Partying !!! I will be back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Entertainment and the best beach and water front. can walk out in the water about 60 feet 4 feet of water
Cons: Staff smoking in area, guest smoking around resort. no smoking sign posted but guess smoked freely in most areas.
Disappointed in hotel room location and staff. Stayed in section 2100 and staff continuously smoked in hallways. notified front desk no change over the 6 day stay. Hotel advised no smoking rooms however, people continued smoking in rooms couldn't seat on deck. Pool entertainment and the show in evening were great. Food was OK could been better. Long ride to most of resort entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

It was magnificent!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Mayfield Falls is breathtaking! Half Moon Bay snorkeling tour/barbeque lobster at Half Moon Bay/awesome! Black River & YS Falls gorgeous & Ricks Café
The hotel entertainment was fabulous and fun. The staff was awesome!!!! Food was superb!!! I miss Jamaica!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, fairly nice.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We enjoyed our stay but felt like communication of events was lacking. Also, the room service was less than stellar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Too old. Musty mold smell , reactions to problems was very slow. We were told to not drink the water but they were very stingy with bottled water. Two out of six days we were not given water in our room. We were told we had to wait until the next day to get water. Food was below average. The staff went the extra mile to help but they have nothing to work with. These issues are typical of most all inclusives. Save your money and take a real vacation.