Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Management Needs an Upgrade

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The front line staff is extremely friendly and courteous which is the only thing going for the hotel.
Cons: Fire the hotel management and hire some folks who have customer service experience. The property is definitely in need of a makeover.
Location: The beach is nice, the water is clean, and there are plenty of low key activities available on the resort and surrounding area.
The hotel has a problem with its building 5 that it doesn't want to admit to. There is a sewage smell that emanates from this building. We were moved two times before being moved a third time to a different building which was a downgrade from what we paid for. We have a six month old and this was very disruptive to her. The hotel offered to move us two days later to a better room, but that would have disrupted the babies routine again and we declined. The hotel was unwilling to give us any credit or money back for the room that we had paid for. This is fraudulent activity which all other travelers should stay away from. Management will not talk to you and you are told they are always busy. They don't seem to be able to handle confrontation of any type when it comes to dealing with customer complaints. I have stayed at other RIU properties which is what made us choose this property as we had always had positive experiences in the past. I advise that all folks who are used to a certain level of service and pleasure stay far far away from this outdated and poorly managed facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice Getaway on the Beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Could use some updates, and would prefer a shower separate from the bathtub.
Location: Right on the beach with plenty to do, or not, your choice. We did the Catamaran Cruise and the trip to Black River and YS Falls - both were well worth
My sister and I recently returned from a week stay at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay. We had a wonderful time at the resort! Everyone was so helpful and friendly - always with a smile! The resort is right on the beach and located on a beautiful Bay with the Scuba Caribe Dive shop right on site, with windsurfing, paddle boards and Hobie cats, as well as cruises you can book. We took the half day cruise that included snorkeling and stops at Rick's Café and Margaritaville. Big Bird (Mike) and the crew made this a cruise to remember!! The nightly entertainment is fun, but not exceptional and the buffet is standard, but the staff is very eager to please and very good at remembering what you like. Our every need was taken care of every morning with flowers on the table and bloody marys waiting thanks to our waiter, Damon. The specialty restaurants are decent, especially Krystal, which was exceptional. And highly recommended are "G Water" a specialty of Kenny at the pool bar. The room was clean, if a bit dated. Overall though, the experience was fabulous and I would highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, Delaware

Disappointing

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The staff in restaurants and grounds were excellent.
Cons: Better food, better customer service at desk, at least one elevator from lobby to lower area for people in wheelchairs and/or using walkers.
Location: Location is awesome, love bloody bay. Lots to do for younger folks if you can afford it.
Because of the experience for the first 3 days I cannot give a favorable review. This hotel is not geared for people with disabilities. No elevator, just steep ramps to go from lobby to rooms, restaurants and beach. I had to use a wheelchair because of health and my family had to push me up ramps to go to front desk. We were there for 2 1/2 days after complaining to desk of the awful stench in our room. Their sewage had overflowed and it was unbearable in our room. I didn't realize till later that the rooms they put my family in were not what I paid for. The room they moved me to was wonderful even though it was on the other side of facility from my family. The food was not very good but the serving staff and housekeeping and grounds staff were all great. I am not a complainer but this trip warrants these complaints. Thank God the weather and beach and pools were excellent. It would be great if Riu would offer me some restitution for inconvenience but I am sure that won't happen. Thank you for your service, it was great!! Jackie Lockerman
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach. Great view!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Nice hotel right in the beach with awesome view. The staff was great. The animation team was a pleaseant surprise, very entertaining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, Va

Great resort with an amazing beach

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Location, great beach, friendly staff, good entertainment, amazing food
Cons: Hot food on a buffet style service is hard to maintain consistent temperature. This is an area that could be improved upon.
Location: Negril is further to travel but we were looking for calmer waters and the beaches on this side of the island deliver that.....the water was like glass
Have stayed at RIU resorts before and have not been disappointed.....this was no exception. While this is an older facility, it has been updated and well maintained, Spent 7 days and did not want to leave. Negril beaches are the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Great hotel /staff/beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Had a great 1st and 2nd stay .We had a great time. Wish they would change back to reservations at specality resturants. Will go back again. Great experiance booking through expedia as always.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Jan 24, 2017
This hotel had overbooked for our first night there, mind you we were only staying three night and we were there for a wedding, which all of our friends had arrived early in the week and were settled. When we checked in they stated that we were going to have to go to another RIU resort for the evening because they were out of rooms, we reserved this in October. We then discussed this move with them and the promised us two nights comp at any RIU for a future date, free and quick transportation between the two resorts until we got a room at the resort we had a reservation at and an upgrade. Well the only thing we got was the upgrade. When we got to the other resort they told us we were not allowed to go back and forth and that this was our "home" now and to just relax. There was a huge communication break down between the resorts and it was absolutely a nightmare. Our room at the resort we didn't book was 3400 steps from the main lobby and did not have wifi, which are room at the other resort did and I needed because I was working. Finally the next day they "allow" us to go back to the other resort, gave us a fairly nice junior suite with an ocean view and we enjoyed 24 hours with our family and friends. Thanks for that quality time. When we went to check out and asked about our Club Mobay upgrade and our room comps for future use, everyone acted like they had no idea what we were talking about and kept telling us to hold on and we never got any information. Worst ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome time

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Great food and staff.
Cons: New beach chairs. A lot were broken and not enough chairs when resort was full.
The staff is outstanding! They made our stay special. It felt like we were leaving family when our vacation was over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Hotel is on a great beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
My Sister & I stayed here! We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful! Paul was awesome! It is a great beach & Awesome sunsets!! Buffet was incredible! We ate there all the time! Excellent servers! Crazy is very entertaining and so nice!! Everyone is so very nice! Took great care of us! Swim up bar very nice too! My only downside to it was I thought there would be a better nite-life? Maybe it was just me though? Would totally reccomend it for sure!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Nice beach, good hotel but a little far from de MBJ Aiirport.