Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

tourist friendly grand resort

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The friends we have there at the resort and the service was great
Cons: Love it all.
Location: I was arqb
Love this resort. The staff remembers us each and every visit and always does something special for us while we are there. We have made many friends at the resort and look forward to each trip we make there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Nice music and activities the jerk hut was very good also right on the beach also close to locals to buy nice souvenirs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Very Nice Location and View.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Willingness to please you.
Cons: The addition of an elevator would be GREAT .
Location: Great attractions, just need to have a better form of transportation.
Enjoyed the time . meals were great , and wonderful in house entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, al

Great experience

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff was friendly and bent over backwards to help you enjoy your stay. The food was incredible. The hotel room was fantastic!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Too many panhandlers allowed to pester the guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Clean, nice staff always ready to help

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Food
Location: Great location
Great vacation, all about location, our second vacation in Jamaica and Riu hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Jamaica was great, can't say the same about RIU

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location at Negril, one of the best beaches you can go to. The staff is fantastic and cheerful, people please don't be cheap and tip!!!!
Cons: Bathroom availability, umbrellas at the beach, food quality, overall renovation of the hotel.
Location: There is a place about 100 yards north of the hotel called Nature, where you can pick a live lobster from the water and have it grilled for $30.
This was our 4th experience with a different RIU hotel, we have stayed at RIU in Cabo and Puerto Vallarta before. This hotel is NOT a 4 star hotel currently. They were STILL in the process of remodeling as previous customers have stated. I wish they would shut it down for a month, bring a large crew, redo the hotel and open it back up. Although we weren't bothered by any noise from the construction, just the people constantly painting around you and in front of your room was not pleasant. Also there is no nearby restrooms around the pool, its a poor design, the hotel needs to make it convenient for people who are in the pool constantly drinking to use the bathroom that is close by. When the nearest bathroom is 50+ yards away, where do you think people meet their needs. I also wish RIU would provide umbrellas for those lounging near the ocean, for a 4 star hotel that should be something available. I also noticed that the quality of the food has declined at a RIU palace, I expect better food from a RIU palace, please decrease the quantity and increase the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Treated like Royalty at the Palace

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Wonderful hotel with friendliest staff every time we go. The beach is fabulous and you are made to feel at home. Most relaxing vacation I've had in a long time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Cali

Didn't want to part ways with this paradise!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I had an incredible experience staying at this hotel! Let's be real, no hotel is perfect. But if you're not the type of person who sweats the small stuff, you will have an amazing time. little issues such as a shower not working and having to move to another room, etc was just a minor thing for me because I had such an amazing time at this paradise. And the hotel staff and entertainers are one in a million! Amazing people, extremely talented, they really stuck with me when I left Jamaica. I will never forget them. Some of the employees here really go the extra mile to make someone happy ( like Cristoff at the front desk and David Stone and Mario in the dining area).. I loved the food. . They have some good curry goat and oxtail in the buffet some nights. For lunch, the best option is The Jerk chicken Hut, Mmm those thighs, so yummy it melts in your mouth. And all of the restaurants are delicious! The dishes are so innovative and unique! They have some amazing Lobster here. Last but not least, the bartenders are spectacular, especially the ones in the pool area. That dirty banana is killer!!! Love it! Oh and the Mojitos too! So don't be that uptight tourist. Get into that island mode, carefree, come on down and explore! You won't regret it! To every single employee that works here: I love you all so much. You are celestial. One of a kind. BEAUTIFUL SOULS. I'll be back to see you soon !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Wonderful hotel; amazing staff and beautiful beach

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was really the highlight, as well as the food, which we thought was very good (the buffet as well as the specialty restaurants).
Cons: Some reviews complained about the small pools and lack of shade umbrellas on the beach, but as we visited off peak, this was not a problem for us.
Location: We recommend the Scuba Caribe half day sunset cruise that goes to Nick's Cafe (cliff diving!) and snorkeling. The boat leaves right from the resort.
Our family (two parents and four adult children) had a great time! The location on the bay was great, and all the staff at the hotel (from the front desk, the groundskeepers, excellent housekeepers, attentive waiters at meal time, and energetic and friendly entertainment staff) were amazing. Special shout out to Damion, our breakfast server each day:). I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.