Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time, everyone was great

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Had a great time the hotel was amazing, island excursions were readily available. The food was amazing the staff very welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Great food, environment, staff.
Cons: We had a first floor room and were awakened everyday by the staff by 7 or 8 am. Either the maid service or the grounds crew.
Location: We went snorkeling, paddleboarding, kayaking, and parasailing right from the resort. We also went on an ATV trip one day that was great.
We had a great time on our trip and at this resort. This is the second time I've stayed here. The people are great, friendly, and accommodating. My only suggestion would be to not get a room on the first floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Wait staff and the nightly entertainment
Wait staff was amazing, and the entertainment staff did great work every night!!! Loved this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Very nice resort. Could use a little more variety in food venues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Return to Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The beach is in my top 5 with Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach, Isla Roatan Bay Island- West, runaway bay Jamaica, Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas
Cons: Pest control (mosquitoes, biting flies, etc), exterior condition, jerk hut, front desk willingness to address/ mitigate issues
Location: Negril Seven mile beach is nearby. We highly recommend taking a taxi and spending a day exploring that beach and the street that runs adjacent.
Fifteen years ago to the month, my husband and I stayed at this hotel. I've wanted to return for years because I fell in love with the beach. Because we've traveled extensively over the last fifteen years and because the property is 15+ years old, we knew not to have very high expectations. It was the right frame of mind to have. Here's the good and bad we experienced at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay: Good 1. The beach/ water is pristine. We've traveled to many Caribbean beaches (21+) including Grand Cayman seven mile bench. And after 15 years of Caribbean travel, this is still one of the best beaches on which we've relaxed and swam. The water is calm like a swimming pool. And so clear that you can easily/ clearly see your feet when standing in 5 feet of water. 2. The majority of dining, bar, and entertainment staff are awesome. They were very friendly and welcoming. It amazes me that with so many customers, they not only remembered preferences but also names. 3. The size of our accommodations was good. And the room was well cleaned each day. 4. The bathroom has a hand held shower head. (I truly wish more beach resorts would install these) 5. It seems like every room on the property has a view of the ocean. 6. The gardens were lush. Bad 1. Biting bugs. I saw multiple reviews in which travelers warned to be prepared for bugs. I wished someone had been more specific. Be prepared for BITING bugs. I and other guests (but not all) were bitten extensively as ev
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted May 30, 2017
Food was good and the staff was great. They were so welcoming and readily accessible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Ok hotel, excellent staff

Posted May 29, 2017
Hotel was older, could be updated. Staff excellent, friendly, and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TOLEDO, OH

Would highly recommend.

Posted May 26, 2017
Had a really good time at the riu palace. The beach was perfect and very very clean. Staff was a lot of fun and very nice and treated guests with nothing but respect. Food was good with lots of choices. Entertainment every night and throughout the day. Met lots of awesome people, staff and tourists. It was just a great trip my wife and I can't wait to come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

TERRIBLE FOOD!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the beach but then it's Negril. However, there weren't any umbrellas or tiki huts for shade.
Cons: Knock down this hotel and put up a new tropical Jamaican structure! If we wanted to see European decor, we would go to Europe!
Location: Location great. Things to do nearby were fine.
Food was abundant and beautifully presented. BUT taste was terrible! Quantity over quality doesn't work! Specialty restaurants were the worst!! It was evident that food was watered down; e.g. a hamburger was mostly filler so it tasted terrible, even condiments like ketchup were watery. Steaks were poor quality. Fried rice in the Japanese restaurant was horrible. Jamaican dishes such as jerk foods, oxtail, yams, and ackee, etc. were obviously not prepared or cooked by a Jamaican chef. They really missed the mark here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riu tropical palace

Posted May 20, 2017
Hotel and food was excellent overall the staff was not we had very good service for breakfast same waiter and specialty restaurant service was excellent everyone else was not so welcoming tho.