Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice Hotel Very friendly staff

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff Clean grounds not too massive of a resort
Cons: I guess the breakfast buffet could be better; it was a little bland and the pancakes and french toast was not made to order so it wars always cold
Location: I enjoyed the beach vendors ; we rented a car and it was easy to get to nearby party joints and Ricks Cafe
I enjoyed my stay at RIU; the staff was exceptional in customer service and friendliness Beach was beautiful and clean The daily lunch buffet was really good and had a good variety of food that changed daily not to mention the grilled jerk chicken on the beach I loved the location it made my first time in Negril memorable I would definitely return to Riu on my next trip to Jamaica
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Would not stay at this resort again

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The staff was friendly..the room had a old smell. There were cowebbs hanging from the ceiling...food not so good. The only hotel I have been where I did not look forward to eating...I was very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT,USA

Nice ,compact resort on the beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Staff.Oceanfront room.Walkable distance to everything.
Cons: Not enough beach lounges which forces guests to get up at dawn to secure seating for the day-which is very stressful.It's such a easy fix-bad managers
Attentive,excellent staff.Clean rooms.Beautiful beach with lots of shade and no palapas obstructing the views (if you're lucky to get a lounge(bad management)).Surprisingly (comparing to our other resort stays) aside from bananas no tropical fruits served-just melons and apples??
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, beach and staff

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Location, beach and staff were excellent. Queue system for restaurants was terrible, either line up at 545 to get a spot, or eat at the buffet. No second seatings, which meant if you wanted to eat there you had to cut your day short in order to make dinner. For every 1 functional beach chair, there were 3 broken. Resort also allows users to put a towel on every chair at 6am, and "save" them for the whole day, and return to actually use them at noon. Saving chairs should not be allowed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Management Needs an Upgrade

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The front line staff is extremely friendly and courteous which is the only thing going for the hotel.
Cons: Fire the hotel management and hire some folks who have customer service experience. The property is definitely in need of a makeover.
Location: The beach is nice, the water is clean, and there are plenty of low key activities available on the resort and surrounding area.
The hotel has a problem with its building 5 that it doesn't want to admit to. There is a sewage smell that emanates from this building. We were moved two times before being moved a third time to a different building which was a downgrade from what we paid for. We have a six month old and this was very disruptive to her. The hotel offered to move us two days later to a better room, but that would have disrupted the babies routine again and we declined. The hotel was unwilling to give us any credit or money back for the room that we had paid for. This is fraudulent activity which all other travelers should stay away from. Management will not talk to you and you are told they are always busy. They don't seem to be able to handle confrontation of any type when it comes to dealing with customer complaints. I have stayed at other RIU properties which is what made us choose this property as we had always had positive experiences in the past. I advise that all folks who are used to a certain level of service and pleasure stay far far away from this outdated and poorly managed facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice Getaway on the Beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Could use some updates, and would prefer a shower separate from the bathtub.
Location: Right on the beach with plenty to do, or not, your choice. We did the Catamaran Cruise and the trip to Black River and YS Falls - both were well worth
My sister and I recently returned from a week stay at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay. We had a wonderful time at the resort! Everyone was so helpful and friendly - always with a smile! The resort is right on the beach and located on a beautiful Bay with the Scuba Caribe Dive shop right on site, with windsurfing, paddle boards and Hobie cats, as well as cruises you can book. We took the half day cruise that included snorkeling and stops at Rick's Café and Margaritaville. Big Bird (Mike) and the crew made this a cruise to remember!! The nightly entertainment is fun, but not exceptional and the buffet is standard, but the staff is very eager to please and very good at remembering what you like. Our every need was taken care of every morning with flowers on the table and bloody marys waiting thanks to our waiter, Damon. The specialty restaurants are decent, especially Krystal, which was exceptional. And highly recommended are "G Water" a specialty of Kenny at the pool bar. The room was clean, if a bit dated. Overall though, the experience was fabulous and I would highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, Delaware

Disappointing

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The staff in restaurants and grounds were excellent.
Cons: Better food, better customer service at desk, at least one elevator from lobby to lower area for people in wheelchairs and/or using walkers.
Location: Location is awesome, love bloody bay. Lots to do for younger folks if you can afford it.
Because of the experience for the first 3 days I cannot give a favorable review. This hotel is not geared for people with disabilities. No elevator, just steep ramps to go from lobby to rooms, restaurants and beach. I had to use a wheelchair because of health and my family had to push me up ramps to go to front desk. We were there for 2 1/2 days after complaining to desk of the awful stench in our room. Their sewage had overflowed and it was unbearable in our room. I didn't realize till later that the rooms they put my family in were not what I paid for. The room they moved me to was wonderful even though it was on the other side of facility from my family. The food was not very good but the serving staff and housekeeping and grounds staff were all great. I am not a complainer but this trip warrants these complaints. Thank God the weather and beach and pools were excellent. It would be great if Riu would offer me some restitution for inconvenience but I am sure that won't happen. Thank you for your service, it was great!! Jackie Lockerman
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach. Great view!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Nice hotel right in the beach with awesome view. The staff was great. The animation team was a pleaseant surprise, very entertaining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, Va

Great resort with an amazing beach

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Location, great beach, friendly staff, good entertainment, amazing food
Cons: Hot food on a buffet style service is hard to maintain consistent temperature. This is an area that could be improved upon.
Location: Negril is further to travel but we were looking for calmer waters and the beaches on this side of the island deliver that.....the water was like glass
Have stayed at RIU resorts before and have not been disappointed.....this was no exception. While this is an older facility, it has been updated and well maintained, Spent 7 days and did not want to leave. Negril beaches are the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Great hotel /staff/beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Had a great 1st and 2nd stay .We had a great time. Wish they would change back to reservations at specality resturants. Will go back again. Great experiance booking through expedia as always.