Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, fairly nice.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We enjoyed our stay but felt like communication of events was lacking. Also, the room service was less than stellar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Too old. Musty mold smell , reactions to problems was very slow. We were told to not drink the water but they were very stingy with bottled water. Two out of six days we were not given water in our room. We were told we had to wait until the next day to get water. Food was below average. The staff went the extra mile to help but they have nothing to work with. These issues are typical of most all inclusives. Save your money and take a real vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Ricks Cafe

Posted Jul 16, 2016
clean and comfortable, the staff are helpful and very kind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Great hotel for a great price!! Hotel staff were awesome and I'd surely come back again. Food wasn't the best but it wasn't bad at all. I stayed 6 days and wish I'd stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Beach, Great Entertainment, Great Staff

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: We LOVED the staff! They made our stay incredible! Also, the beach is amazing. The pools are nice and the grounds are well kept. The food=perfect!
Cons: The rooms have a smell, the beds/pillows are terrible. Need more Paddle Boards and Life Jackets - a lot more. Front Desk needs to be more welcoming.
Location: The location is beautiful! Not hassled as much as 7 mile beach. Go on the cruise but understand Ricks and Margariteville is expensive.
Here is a quick breakdown for those considering RIU Palace - Negril. The food was very good. Our favorite was Krystal - the food and service were outstanding. The Japanese Place was not very good. We didn't eat at the other restaurants. Kemor at Krystal goes above and beyond. The buffets were very good, lots of variety - Mexican Night was the best! Damien and Mario were the best at breakfast and Crefton was outstanding in service and making us feel like we were the only people there. Just fantastic. The entertainment goes above and beyond - Happy Feet does aerobics that is fun and makes you feel less guilty for eating so much! The rest of the entertainment staff are so incredibly talented and warm. They plan out so much. All you need to do is say yes to them and you will have an amazing time. Go to their shows - they practice hard and it shows. Tracy was our housekeeper and she was absolutely amazing. The rooms are old, the beds are uncomfortable, the pillows are terrible (all a management issue) but she goes above and beyond to clean. Alex the Lifeguard is a history lesson on Jamaica that you don't have to pay for a class to learn. He made the beach a great place to be. Shoshay (spelling may be wrong) at the lobby bar is the sweetest young lady. She got cartoons on the TV for our 9 year old and went above and beyond. All of the servers are so nice. If you haven't gotten my tip yet= get to know the PEOPLE. They are there to make the experience great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach....

Posted May 25, 2016
We had a great time. The beach is probably one of the most beautiful around.. It was our third time visiting RIU
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Posted May 12, 2016
Had a wonderful time. The staff was very nice and treated me great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beach is great!

Posted May 5, 2016
Entertainment staff is the best we've ever met. The rooms are quite outdated and smell a bit. The food was absolutely amazing. Some entertainment for the kids was provided, but no designated kids club (so a minus for that).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queens, new york

Awesome beach

Posted May 3, 2016
My stay at the riu was good. The beach is very nice. Very clean and close to the hotel. The rooms were comfortable if you were just using it to sleep and change. Not much to do at night but the bar is always a good option. Would definitely recommend this hotel for someone who wants to chill on the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Wonderful time

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Everything! Food great, drinks plentiful, staff wonderful helpful friendly, beach beautiful, water warm and wonderful very few vendors get by security
Cons: towel cards Most people don't read the back of cards and don't realize there would be a charge if the card is not returned $20 too high of a charge
Location: Went on boat to Ricks café. Wonderful! there was snorkeling and well worth the $50 per person!
There were 6 of us all couples in our 45-55 range. Went to 3 of the specialty restaurants Krystal, The Japanese and the Italian. The only disappointment was the Italian. Salad bar was great but the entres were lacking. Japanese surprised us we all thought we would be going to the buffet after but the food was wonderful. Buffet was also great. Clean beach and lovely water. Our only "glitch" was the towel cards. 2 in our group never even used towels and when we went to check out they did not know where their cards were and the hotel wanted $20 per card! Thankfully they went back to their room and found the cards. So remember to keep those cards safe or you will get charged! Very few kids and the ones there were well behaved!