Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Nice Family Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Very friendly staff. Front office was understaffed and seemed disorganized. Lots of various people milling around in lobby that didn't seem to have a purpose there. Lobby and front office needs attention. Otherwise the food activities shows and staff was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Gorgeous beach, helpful and pleaseant staff, good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location on the beach
Cons: Some staff members, especially around the pool and in Scuba Caribe could be more polite.
Location: Go to the cliffs for a day and to Mayfield and YS falls
Overall quite nice, some staff is unfriendly, outside décor reminiscent of a hospital, also they were painting all of the buildings. But the beach and ocean are great (just not for snorkeling), food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We have stayed there 3 times and each time it's better. Words can't describe the beach with its smooth waters no rocks. If your looking for a beach to chill this is it. Our room was emaculate no worries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

pretty good a little out dated service excellent

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: the food was very good always fresh and the staff was amazing
Cons: pool could be kept cleaner through out the day the bathrooms were so far from the pool and beach..the bathrooms in the rooms are very small tubs tiny
hotel needs an upgrade...glad I came for the beach and not a pool cause the beach was incredibly beautiful.. the pool was disgusting didn't seem to have much filteration.. the staff was great and i mean great so kind and friendly always a pleasant experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Poor service

Posted Aug 4, 2017
I slipped and fell while getting into the bathroom tub, I reported the incident on the day it happened at the front desk and asked for a tub mat which was not provided. I was told that they would see if they could get one, with "my apologies". No one asked what my injuries were and if I needed medical help. I went back to the front desk the next day and repeated what had happened to me and my request for a tub mat. I was told the same thing by the attendant. At this time I asked if this was the protocol for an incident. Another attendant at the desk then asked if I needed to see the nurse. At this time I was very frustrated. I refused, it was already 2 days and no one cared if I had any physical injury. I had bruises on my leg and pain in my arm, shoulders and hip. I saw someone who had checked me in when I first arrived and was telling her about my experience and that's what's finally got the ball rolling because she was a part of the public relations team. I was contacted by the director the next day who took a full report. At the end of all this I had to pay the nurse to see me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, ny

Not as great as past visits

Posted Aug 3, 2017
In the past three years I've been here at least 6 times. The staff were very welcoming particularly with repeat guests. However, there was no rum punch/wine welcome at check-in as was customary. Small, but this was just the start of the many small changes to come that definitely added up. The room was clean (aside from stained bath tub) but the beds were very uncomfortable and not at all what we were accustomed to. The toilet did not have enough pressure to flush and was soon clogged. It took over an hour for the "plumber" to arrive and when he did, he simply handed us a plunger and walked away. When that didnt work we requested someone else and no one ever showed up or called to check in. we managed to correct it on our own the following morning. That night we were offered a complimentary room upgrade as usual, but only after complaining about loud noise and smoking in the room next door that kept us up through the night.The grounds were very well kept and there was security patrol at night. In regard to entertainment, there was no live reggae band in the negril restaurant as was also customary. There was NO variety in food; no seafood night or seafood a la carte as in the past. Authentic jamaican staples like coco tea were replaced by unauthentic. I dont eat pepperoni but even that appeared artificial and stained the cheese red. fruit flies were everywhere. room service was always out of everything. it was just very disappointing. Based on this trip, will try someplace else
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Worst Hotel...un clean, food is terrible, room service starts at 4pm, and items at mini bar not replaced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Room, furniture, dining room, overall room cleanliness.
Location: The RIU Club next door -- ended up going over there to eat a few times.
MUSTY, dirty box spring and lining falling off, toilet did not work all the time, furniture dark and banged up, bath tub was not cleaned properly, food sub-par, ran out of popular food items BEFORE the dining room closed. If I could get my money back, at least some of it, I would feel a lot better. It was a lot of money to stay in a place like that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Enjoy but "Beware" of Scamming

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: It was an exceptionally well kept hotel to include the rooms. Painting was going on around the property but it just lends to the intent of upkeep.
Cons: More plush beds and a broader selection for room service - very limited. Did not like being taken to a "specific" shop vendor.
Location: Location on the beach - excellent! Excursions - two hours or more to get to point..a few things like Rick's Bar and Cafe close but limited shopping!
Hotel RIU and every staff member were wonderful, courteous and accommodating! Now reviews are based on experience and being able to compare apples to apples. This is our first stay at an all-inclusive but not naive to what "comfortable and accommodating" feels like. Just a wonderful location - definitely "ocean front" (although not full view due to the trees which was a plus and minus), food was very good (albeit - may come to where you do not want to see any food!), staff was genuinely polite - even the construction workers, very peaceful and relaxing, evening activities were lively, and the separate restaurant choices were great to experience being off property while still being there. Would not recommend the Spa in current condition - unless there was some hidden oasis - got a manicure and pedicure no running bubbly hot water soak! Beware!! - we did two shopping excursions and one bar and grill type activity where I used my card - returned to the US to discover my credit card was compromised with over 8,000.00 in charges. Some where between Jamaica Tours LTD, the driver that took us to the places, the shopping merchants and the bar someone acquired my card information and went to town in charges. Ensure to monitor your spending!