Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia, USA

Amazing view!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The view, and the ocean breeze! The people were amazing...
Cons: Shower outside (semi private) was a bit much for my modest self, but ok for others I guess.
Location: Great location, on the cliffs, and the sister resort Legends provided much beach and drink.
Overall, a great stay. Very friendly staff and always willing to help. Food was simple, plenty and "adequate". Room (Pillar House Oceanfront) was clean and had an amazing view. No AC or shower in the room was a challenge for me... (but I knew this going in.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Quiet clifffside resort with very friendly staff!!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Our stay at SamSara was very relaxing! The staff were very polite and friendly! Most guests leave to go to the "sister" resort Legends down on the beach...My daughters and I enjoy the peace and quiet and the ocean breezes! We all had massages from Sharice - amazing!! Food is good - not a lot of choices but always fresh, hot and made with love from Georgia and many others!❤️ Bartenders were friendly, efficient and always entertaining - Owayne sang and danced daily! Shereona made wonderful fruit drinks for my daughters and I! Our rooms were clean and comfortable!!! Many types of rooms available - we were Oceanside but didn't really have a great view - plan to book a King cottage next time for more room, more beds and a more unique experience! The cottages are hexagon shape rooms! The Pillar rooms have no A/C...but look very romantic!! Had a great "personal shopper" and amazing service from Omar - he provides shuttle service and taxi service from the resort! Had an experience of a lifetime going to the "Hummingbird Gardens" had these tiny creatures eating from my hand as a walked around a lush beautiful tropical garden! Sunsets are breathtaking from SamSara...no need to go and pay for expensive drinks and be jostled about at Rick's Cafe - even though you should go once for the experience! You can jump off the cliffs at SamSara too!! Lots were snorkelling but it is a bit rough most days! We went on a great catamaran tour on the Tortuga! Was an amazing holiday and we will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Spent 5 nights too many here, couldn't sleep due to the loud noisy guests who stay up all night. The bar floor was being renovated and could hear the tile saw middle of the night. The whole time a ladder was in front of our room while the painters worked on something that could have been done in a day. We couldn't sit outside to enjoy any view. Bed was uncomfortable...too many to list won't return. Food was not as good as in the past, found a staple in the breakfast muffin. Ciao across the road used to be good and found hair in the pizza horrible!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

We refused to stay.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Location: On the cliffs. Beautiful setting.
We have been to Jamaica six times. We stay at various locations/hotels/resorts. We are far from "snobs" and we like the small, personally-owned resorts just as we like many of the larger resorts. We tend to stay at 2 or 3 different places each visit. We booked this resort online and when we arrived we found the lobby and grounds near the lobby to be very nice and very pretty. The staff was friendly and warm. We toured the resort and found that they had recently re-tiled the main pool and it looked good. The other "pool" is just a wading fountain. We were hugely disappointed in the patio area overlooking the cliffs. The majority of it was in disrepair. They told us we could jump off the cliffs into the water but there are only two small portions of that area that you could ever consider walking on barefoot. The majority is pitted and jagged. The grounds were acceptable at the price we paid but the room was not acceptable and any price. The bed was in such poor condition that we would not consider trying to sleep in it. The room smelled awful and no adjustment on the AC would cool the room or recycle the air to relieve the odor. We checked out and left to a different resort as no other rooms were available. We have found other much better (and cleaner) resorts at this same price point in Negril. We wasted money on this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and lots of coastline on property

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Food was great - local Jamaican cuisine!
Cons: Dining area is dark during dinner, could hardly see what you were eating. Dinner hours should start earlier than 7pm. Provide beach towels.
This is a nice private resort on the coast with lots of space to sit, enjoy, swim in the pool, sit at the bar, snorkle off the cliffs, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great location, very relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view with great staff

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Such a pleasure coming here. The staff is super friendly and always there to help, rather through email or in person they are quick to answer any questions or concerns. The food is great a little repetitive, especially if staying for more than a few days but tasty and fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fairland, OK

We had a wonderful relaxing time in the cliffs.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: We liked the All-inclusive, being a seclusive resort, just relax, no hassle, no problems.
Cons: This was our 3rd time over the years to Samsara Resort. It's run down and needs some TLC.
Location: Go to Rick's Cafe and see the cliff divers or eat at Ivan's, both are great places to eat and see the sunset.
We woke up each morning feeling very rested. We totally enjoyed the resorts (Samsara and Legends). Swimming at the cliffs and beach was very nice, along with the pool at Samara. The staff was very friendly and did a great job taking care of us, We will go back one day, Oh, the sunsets were the best!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the sea

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The view of the sea and the pool
Cons: Better maintenance of the room and facility. Some area and bathroom fixtures were very old
Over all it was ok. The jacuzzi was defective and had to change my room due to bad smell and inoperable telephone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view beautiful the place not so good!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: View
Cons: Repair rooms, pool and the outdoor area near cliffs. Put lighting out by cliffs and around the rooms better. Stop the dogs from barking all night.
Location: Location good, Ricks café, Mayfields falls, Head to beach.
The only good thing about this place is the view and that your on the cliffs. The place is run down, the cliff area has broken concrete with many trip points and no lighting at night. Pool has lots of broken stuff. There was much wrong with our room, to much to mention. Frig leaked all the time all over the kitchen area and they never fixed it. The worst part was the barking dogs every night on the left side of the complex right under our window. Brought all this to there attention, some things were fixed most weren't. We been going to Jamaica for years and always wanted to stay here but definitely wont be staying again.