Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation in Negril

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The staff, food & entertainment
Location: walk to restaurants
Love, love, love, The Seastar Inn, Very homey, relaxed, & comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples, fl

Chilling in west negril

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff, especially barbara, who kept the bar spotless and always had a beautiful smile on her face!
Cons: Coffee service available earlier. Nicer towels. TV that is easier to operate.
Location: Rick's cafe.
This hidden icon is down a short lane. Walk through a big gate into a courtyard surrounded by gardens.the check in process involves a introduction to the property and turning on the tv, which always was a problem, btw. The room was large and comfortable with a kitchenette that included a fridge and coffee pot and coffee, but no filters anywhere to be found. This was an oversight by the housekeeper but it was hard to wait for 2 hours until coffeemaker prepared for breakfast. Beds were comfortable, nice fan and air conditioner that we never needed. Towels were a bit worn, but nice and clean. No plug for the bath tub😨. Food in the restaurant was nicely prepared and served. Drinks were strong and good happy hour prices. Nice guests from all over, but Winnipeg well represented. This hidden icon is walking distance to the action at rick's cafe. Watch the cliff diving and sunset cocktails if you want some of that scene.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden charges

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Paid in full for four persons, then charged $80 extra when we got there because we had four people instead of two.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Gem of Westmoreland, Negril, Jamaica

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
We were booked for only 2 nights. When we got to the other hotel, my husband got sick with bronchitis, the bed was like laying on a cot, no a/c, pool was dirty. I called Seastar back and they booked us asap at the same low rate! I only wish I knew there was airport pick up.
4 out of 5
by Gisela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lorraine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Paul from Myrtle beach

Pictures can deceive you!!!

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Not in a good location at all! Very run down and depressed area, Service was good and friendly. Slept with chair jamed against the door to feel secure! Cute as can be from the front But open your back door and there is The Getto!!
5 out of 5
by Amanda from Dallas

Ganja filled vacation at an extraordinary Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is the best, most relaxing vacation I have ever had. Although Jamaica is not a wealthy country monetary wise, the people are great and if going for vacation and to relax, I highly recommend. We stayed at the Seastar Inn and were very impressed. If you are a ganja or cigarette smoker, then definitely stay here. Smoking in common areas, such as restaurant, pool, etc Is acceptable. However, if you're not a smoker, please be aware of this. Although this property is very clean and maintained on a daily basis, it is not a 5 star hotel w those type of accommodations. You get more of a Jamaican experience and enjoy your vacation how you want to. The drinks and food are a la carte, which allows for getting out and exploring food and drinks at all the places around the island. If you are looking for a great relaxing, ganja filled Jamaican experience, stay here. People (even vacationers) are very friendly. If looking for upscale, all inclusive, stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

A modest place with fabulous people

Posted Nov 6, 2015
The best thing about Seastar is the people. It is a modest Inn close to Rick's Cafe. It provided the means to explore a little more of the local life, All inclusive tend to draw you away from that.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Very secluded

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Had a late checkin and was greeted by Chris, the owner who was kind enough to upgrade my room from #12 to #3. However, room 3 was not prepped. Found a few items on the floor, that were disposed of by previous guest(s). One of the table lamp's bulb was blown and it took 4 nights before the owner changed it (after I reminded him). I was somewhat disappointed. The reviews I read about the staff were great and that the rooms were very clean. That's what had convinced me to book Seastar Inn. My experience however, proved otherwise. Rooms were clean, but somehow, housekeeping forgot to replace towels at one point and when I returned that particular evening, no one was available to provide towels. Had to ask an attendant in the dining area for assistance, who in turn asked the security guard to give her access to the towels.That didn't turn out too well either. The young lady gave me 2 floor towels & 2 washcloths. I also wasn't greeted in a friendly manner by the owner's wife. I made the effort to greet her first and our encounters that followed, didn't find her to so warm either. This is totally opposite to the reviews. I hate to make assumptions about others, so I'll just leave that alone. I can say though that Barbara, Clarol and Kadesha were extremely kind, friendly and warm. They always smiled when they greeted me and asked if I was OK. They're an asset to Seastar Inn. The newer facility is great! Got upgraded to room 20 last 2 nights & it was very pleasing. Much better than 3!