Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clarence from Long Island, NY

Our third time. Love the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Very nice staff. Limited food menus. Wait a tad too long for your order. Overall nice experince.
2 out of 5
by Tomara from upstate NY

..on the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was truly the most gracious and accommodating I have ever experienced in travel
Cons: rooms and food
Location: close to marketplace, on the beach, near other resorts
When I checked in I wanted to turn around and leave! It was extremely far from the airport well over and hour drive. The rooms need to be updated. I don't know whose idea it was to put tile in the bottom of the bathtub! The food was just ok. No real Jamaican food offered at this resort. No coffee makers in room. refrigerators are an additional charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allen from Kansas City

Small comfortable hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Modernized I little. But the could interrupt the character.
Location: It's close to everything to do.
I was at this hotel January 13th through the 18th 2014. I absolutely loved it. You can't get closer to the beach in Negril. Staff was helpful and always friendly. You had direct access to the owner as she was intimately involved with its daily operations. The food was great and appropriate for Jamaica. It's with in walking distance of downtown shops and party venues. The hotel seem to have something going on every night. I'm an excutive, single and believes in a good time. If you like action in a beautiful setting. Sunset On The Beach Resort is your place. I truly had a great time and will be returning there in January 2015.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only good thing here is the beach.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The grounds are very well maintainted and kept. The beach is combed several times daily and foliage provides a very relaxing and comfortable setting.
Cons: All staff needs retraining. Health codes should be monitored especially in the kitchen.
Location: Location of the hotel is fine. This is Negril, Jamaica, which was a remote fishing village. Expect beautiful beaches and some watersprorts.
First day...booked a suite received a two double room. Three people in the room, but only two towels, one wash cloth were provided. Third towel arrived the next day. On arrival asked for Beach towels. Received those 2 days later but only after multiple request. Second day...continental breakfast was provided but with the worst service imaginable. My husband was served bacon that was taken from anther guest's plate. We knew this because it had the wrapper from a container of butter stuck to the bacon. When we showed it to the waitress she apologised but made no attempt to replace. We also were still made to pay for the breakfast that we had ordered. One day I asked the waiter for a napkin and was told they had none so I was given a piece of paper towel. The beach chairs that worked were old and dirty. The rest were broken yet no attempt was made to remove or replace the broken ones. Housekeeping knocked at 9:00. If were not ready to leave the room they did not come back until late after ....like 4:00 pm. So many times we would leave for the beach at 10:30 am return at about 3:30 and the room was still not cleaned. On the first night we arrived we found the shower head broken and it flooded the bathroom, but someone came and fixedf it immediately. However, for the first 2 days there was no water in the sink. The plumber only came back to fix it after we complained several times. On the second day the water went off in the middle of a shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnny from Mississippi

Shocked at first...but ok later.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Quiet and Clean. Good price to visit the island and rest. I may try a room with kitchenette on the next visit.
Cons: Better food and portion for price. Food was bland considering it was to be Jamaican. Update bathrooms and bedding.
Location: I went on a boat ride that left from the Riu and went to Ricks Cafe. It was nice.
Hello: When I first arrived, I was shocked. I was accustomed to staying at all inclusive resorts and there was nothing going on the Friday night I checked in. The desk person was very nice and so were the security guards and bar staff. The yard and beach areas were very pleasant and clean. Staff assured that you were not bothered by locals walking though... After getting over the initial shock, I was ok. The place was quiet, clean, and a good place for getting rest. I stayed 6 nights, so I was looking for a good price. Only complaints: There was no tv remote, the phone would not ring ( do not disturb and staff could not fix), hard to get face towels - but staff would return with clean towels when they were cleaned, and little to do - entertainment. However it was the slow season, I was advised. The food was decent and pricey for the portions. Drinks were very good.
2 out of 5
by Sala from Atlanta GA

A Different Sunset

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: the beach was clean and the ground keeper was always working to keep it that way
Cons: Everything
Location: location is nice and close to town area
it has been quite sometime since my husband and I stayed at this hotel and it has changed a great deal and not for the better. up on arriving I used the rest room in front of the lobby and it was worst than a gas station rest room with an odor that stayed with you long after you exit, the air condition worked but if you flick the wrong switched it goes off and only maintenance could fix, so we had to call a few times. The TV did not work and the curtains were hard to close because the rods were old and rusty. we asked for a room switch and although it was a better room the toiled kept running and my husband had to adjust each time we flushed. turned on the shower and the water was nice and hot but waiting for me in the shower was a giant cockroach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sri

Best 47$ spent in Jamaica

Posted Oct 9, 2013
It sits right on the beach and has friendly staff, best 47$ I spent in Jamaica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good place to get- a- way for a few days. Pri

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Staff very friendly and eager to help. Near the beach and close to nature.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for budget

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Update rooms
Hotel room was very very old. Only new thing was tv. Great channels and reception. Not much water pressure but it was warm. Unbeatable location and price. Would stay again.