Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Cliff-Side Resort

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I loved the privacy and the view of the South Pillar, as well as the food at the restaurant.
Cons: The lock boxes were quite old and cost $100 if you lost the key. An electronic safe would be much better.
Location: Tensing Pen is located right alongside all of the other resorts in Negril, so it is never too far from a restaurant or market.
We stayed in the South Pillar, which was a stand alone house with an outdoor shower on the bottom and the room with a bathroom and balcony on the second story. The view went straight out to the ocean, over a foot-bridge where you could jump into the water. The privacy was absolutely perfect and waking up to the sound of the ocean could not be beat. The view from the balcony made for a phenomenal sunset. It was so nice to walk into the resort and be handed a welcome drink and upon entering the room, finding rose petals on the bed and complimentary waters and Red Stripes in the fridge. The staff was wonderful, notably the chefs in the restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast with them, that were obviously made with great care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Terrian, Hotel Management
Thank you Emilia for choosing Tensing Pen and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here and looking forward to hosting you again and hope you will bring some friends with you next time. Have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Most relaxing vacation ever!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Privacy, privacy, privacy. Love all the little areas where you can just chill with each other.
Cons: Maybe the water in the showers? Scalding hot to freezing cold no matter how you try to adjust. Water out of bathroom tap only trickles.
Location: Try the jerk chicken across the street at kool vibes, it's delicious! Coldest beer around is next door at Sharks! LTU pub has great sandwiches.
My husband and I chose to celebrate our 20th anniversary at Tensing Pen and we were not disappointed. This was far and away our best vacation experience to date. Even though it was a "full house" during our stay, we couldn't tell. Everything is so quiet and private that it feels like you have your own little slice of paradise. The staff is amazing, the food exquisite, the grounds immaculate. We read several reviews before booking and are now ready to stand ground against the negative. Some of the things people complain about are just ridiculous. First of all, you are on vacation, so just relax mon. It's called island time, your drink gets to you when it gets to you, sit back and enjoy the sunset... Second, the dogs are the most chilled, relaxed dogs I have ever met. Not sure how anyone could be offended that there are pets on the property. I never saw any of their "business", heard a bark maybe once, and actually had to seek them out to get some dog snuggles if I wanted any. Third, I saw maybe one bug. I read some complaints about bugs!? Yes, I am from Minnesota, and my tolerance for insects is much higher than most, but seriously, like one bug... We will definitely be returning, but not soon enough. Until we do, I will hold onto the memories of snoozing in the late afternoon with the doors wide open and the waves crashing on the shore and soft reggae in the background. Much respect mon, much respect
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Terrian, Hotel Management
Thank you Nicosia for choosing Tensing Pen as your vacation spot and hope this was you best anniversary ever. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself looking forward to hosting you again and hope you will bring some friends with you. It was a pleasure having you here and do have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

“Amazing!!!”

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Location: West end of Negril near many restaurants and other resorts. Close to Catch a Falling Star and Ricks Café .
The views are breath taking and makes for a wonderful relaxing vacation. The cottages and villas are beautiful and truly making for a welcoming stay. The staff was always very friendly and willing to go above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed from the second we sat down for lunch or walked in from an excursion they always were attentive and asked if we needed anything. We've stayed on the 7 mile beach several times before trying a place in the cliffs and we were so happy to change it up. From the views, service, and experience we will definitely be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BirthdayTrip

Posted Oct 9, 2016
This was my first trip out of the USA! The Tensing Pen was MORE than I hoped for in an exclusive hotel!!! Great staff, AMAZING food, and the views were breath taking!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome! Everytime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Amazing time! Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. My family and I had a blast.
5 out of 5
by vanessa from Atlanta, GA

Favorite hotel in Jamaica

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is my second time staying at this hotel! Absolutely love it! The views are amazing. The staff is super nice and accommodating. All of the staff, from front desk to house keeping, are extremely friendly and make you their priority. The location is great. Only a few minutes walk from Rick's Café and several restaurants. Hotel provides free transportation to the nearby beach. Perfect place for a relaxing and rejuvenating time.
5 out of 5
by Marlon from Austin, Texas

Heaven on Earth!

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Tensing Pen Resort, I couldn't thank you enough for the best hospitality you have provided. The resort is far beyond stunning and one of the best resorts I have ever been to in my life time! I enjoyed jumping off the cliffs and pampered by sunshine constantly. The food and service was outstanding! Beautiful bungalow we stayed at! Definitely a memorable retreat for the both of us. We definitely miss the adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs as well! We will be sure to come back someday!
5 out of 5
by Rosalind from Jupiter

A week is not enough in Negril.

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
This was our 7th time in Negril although it had been 29 years since the last time. The cliffs are where we always stay. Tensing Pen was perfect for us. Beautiful, great staff, affordable food on the grounds,free continental BF. Life Guards around for both pool and ocean. This is a truly lovely place to decompress and we won't hesitate to return. I would not recommend Tensing Pen to parents traveling with young children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
best place to relax, should stay in one of those pillar houses.