Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Erin

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Ambleside for just a night but what a wonderful stay it was. Peter did everything possible to make us comfortable and was such a delight to chat with. He makes a delicious breakfast, and being able to do a load of laundry was a huge help, as were the tips on what to do locally. One of the best places we stayed at in our three week trip to New Zealand by far!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Great B&B

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely house great people Warm cost house.Big bedroom with huge ensuite
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Janine, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review and for staying with us at Ambleside. Warm regards Janine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Friendly, spotlessly clean

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The service was friendly but unobtrusive, our room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was perfect.
Cons: Nothing. It was all great! We will stay again. Now I am just filling in space.
Location: Close to everything you want. Nelson is a vibrant small city and gateway to the Abel Tasman and vineyards of Marlborough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting with many amenities

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on CheapTickets
We loved our first visit to Nelson thanks to wonderful hosts and sunny weather. this is the best B and B I have ever encountered in the world! Grab it before the rooms are taken! Quiet, charming, informative, convenient to WOW Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome, just awesome!

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Fantastic owners, great breakfasts and comfortable rooms. We recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice B&B with great, owners. Excellent breakfasts

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Owners, scrumptious breakfasts, advice on local attractions. The room was very pleasant and the bathroom was immaculate.
Cons: Only the description. We booked the Honeymoon Suite. It was a nice bedroom and we were very happy with it, but it was not a Honeymoon Suite.
Location: Although on the main road, the room was sheltered from the sounds. Main attraction -- Abel Tasman National Park about 45 minutes away -- Excellent!
The owners knew the entire area and were able to give great recommendations about what to do and where to eat. They provided a very homey and welcoming atmosphere. During our stay, I incurred a small medical problem that led me to bleed on the bath mat in the bathroom. While I was embarrassed, they put my mind at ease and let me know that they would take care of the mess -- NO PROBLEM! This was only my second experience with a B&B and in my mind, this is what a B&B should be all about!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serenity at its best.

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
Robyn and Kees made me very welcome and very comfortable. It is a lovely place to stay . A home from home that I will gladly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable accommodation

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Comfort and welcoming, helpful hosts.
Location: Located on busy road, a few km. from Central Nelson. A bit of a challenge to find first time if the traffic is heavy, but not a big deal. Very good ac
Very comfortable, with excellent, welcoming hosts and beautifully cooked breakfasts. Location is a bit out of Nelson, but well located for the airport. Bedroom is not large, but provides comfortable accommodation.
5 out of 5
by Kusum from New England, USA

Cute and hospitable home away from home

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Our warm and hospitable innkeepers Robyn and Cornelius gave us a heart-warming and tummy-filling three days in Nelson. Would highly recommend this lovely B&B. They have a beautiful garden, with flowers and fruit trees, a lovey outdoor table for breakfast in the morning, and ducks and eels in the stream at the back, that Cornelius feeds every morning and evening. Breakfast was delicious -- healthier and tastier than any you will find in hotels. Case (sp?) cooks his own fruit so we had yummy fresh and preserved plums, apricots, and peaches. The couple are so friendly and welcoming. It was also lovely to get to know the other guests at breakfast. Nelson and Ambleside are both must-sees for anyone going to the South Island.
4 out of 5
by Janelle m from Brisbane QLD

Quaint little B&B

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
This being a B&B we found the hosts to be very welcoming and helpful. The room was quaint and inviting, they did little extras such as chocolates on the bedside table, a glass of port upon retiring, lollies in the lounge room and a lovely court yard to have an afternoon drink if you arrive early enough. Breakfast was plentiful and a great variety. Bed was comfortable. Being on a busy road the traffic noise was obvious with the windows open but shut it was not as bad apparently they have double glassing on the windows.