Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
A great old house with a ton of character and amazing views across the city. Right in town but felt secluded and private with plenty of off street parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A wonderful house on a hill with great facilities.

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The character of the rooms, Good breakfast,
Cons: NA
Location: Close to central Nelson
Very comfortable bed with electric blanket if required. Very spacious, clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Overall neat place to stay

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Short walk to the city centre, with nice spacious lounge and kitchen areas. Not crowded and very peaceful. Enjoyed my stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place good location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Nice room. Excellent view over nelson. Big bed. Dishwasher in kitchen. Friendly cat.
Cons: Nothing to add to this section. So please enable an option to leave this section blank rather than harrasing me for further comments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loads of character

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Wotif
A grand old lady, but somewhat inpersonal staff never introduced themselves didn't know who was a guest and who was working. Gas hobs don't work, how hard is it to have a toaster that works.. will stay again if I can't get a better price elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Outstanding value

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Amazing looking old manor.
Location: 5 - 10 min walk from Bridge St, close enough to the city that I walked in and out each day without issue. Good takeout place down the road.
Couldn't believe the size of the room considering how much I paid. Very nice and tidy. Only complaint was it was a bit cold but the provided heater did the trick.
2 out of 5
by Nathan from Wellington

The Mary Celeste of hotel accommodation

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
I wish I could comment on the service here but there actually wasn't any. None at all. Upon entering the lobby there is a sign pointing you through to the dentist at the back (yes, this is a hotel/dentist) where you have to interrupt a rather unhappy dentist mid-procedure who brusquely tells you that your room is upstairs and the key is in the door (there's no receptionist at the dentist's either) The rest is pretty much left up to you to find out on your own. There is also absolutely NO breakfast or coffee/tea laid out for guests in the mornings despite what the room information states and the free "high-speed" internet access is slower than a 90's dial-up connection. The pros are: the room is nicely decorated and the building itself is beautiful; sky tv; and the hot water for showers was fine. The cons: no service; the room wasn't cleaned the entire two days I was there and, strangely, there were long blonde hairs hanging off the bedside lampshade; no continental breakfast or coffee laid out in the morning and appallingly slow internet. I think the owner needs to decide if they are running a dentists surgery or a hotel and add some appropriate staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Perth,Western Australia

Historic Boutique Accomadation

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Quirt intimate and a relaxing walk from the city centre
Location: Nelson, wine tasters paradise and a foodies nirvana
Quiet relaxing stay in a beautiful historic house 10 minutes walk from the heart of Nelson. Stunning views over the city of Nelson and out into Tasman Bay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place - Good Stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
This is a nice place. The room was very comfortable and quiet. I slept really well. More attention could be given towards details concerning cleaning and maintenance. Service was adequate but don't expect the kind of attention you might get at other B&B's. The foreign university students running the place were very nice but the property could be managed better.