Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, NZ

Nice hotel with beautiful scenery

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Comfort and convenience
Cons: Ability to turn down the inbuilt heater.
Location: Close to Monaco and sea views.
This was a nice hotel with beautiful scenery to look at in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Very charming and cosy

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Very pleasant location. Excellent accommodation with traditional English look and feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by NickT, Hotel Management
Hi Chris Thanks for your review; we're delighted you thought your accommodation was great and that you enjoyed our olde world English village character. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

The cottages are wonderful. The studios are not.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Booking mistake by Monaco resulted in one, not 2 cottages being available as booked. As offered studio alternative no comparison, but Monaco did later compensate. Cottages are just great. Worth revisiting & staying, comfortable and good size, but suggest reconfirm ahead to ensure no booking error.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by NickT, Hotel Management
Hi there Lance Thanks for your review/feedback; it was good to read that you enjoyed the cottage and the amenities they office. It's a good idea to reconfirm booking before arriving as sometimes bookings made through Online Booking agents (such as Expedia) don't come through to hotels as they should, or as expected. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Cute Ducks

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely property in every way. We would definitely recommend it & hope to visit ourselves another time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017
Hi there Cute Ducks/Gregory (!) Thanks for your endorsement of the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything
Had a great meal in your restaurant lovely staff and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by NickT, Hotel Management
Hi there Thanks for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your meal and the service in our restaurant (The Monaco Kitchen). Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welly

Quiet comfortable and romantic

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet is very nice, after a long day on the winery tour and a very light night celebrating new friendships I just wanted to get away
Location: The place is not located close to town so but has shops and bars located close by.
This is the place to go to for peace and quiet, comfort and romance. There is a very friendly bar across the road and the view is amazing should you want to walk it off afterwards. Great customer service and very easy to get a taxi to town which is about $25 one way. You will fall in love with the character of the hotel and that is only the start of what Nelson has to offer!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by NickT, Hotel Management
Hi there Johnny Thanks so much for your great review - it sounds like you had a wonderful time in Nelson, and staying with us. We're delighted you enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Monaco Peninsula - we're so pleased you've fallen in love with the hotel, our location and Nelson! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canterbury NZ

Nice room with a view

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere was different to a modern hotel and very relaxing.
Cons: There appeared to be a problem with the heating system.When we arrived the room was unbearably hot and the bathroom floor was very hot.
The room we had was very good and had a nice view out to the pond and the tidal flats. It was very quiet and the bed was sooo comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by NickT, Hotel Management
Thanks April for your review; it was great to read that you thought the hotel modern and relaxing, and that you enjoyed the view from your room and found the bed comfortable (the beds all had new mattresses last year). Our apologies for the heating issues - we're only just turned the boilers on in recent days and there seems to be some teething problems. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017
Thanks Patricia for the 4/5 rating, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Wotif
Close to the airport, very comfortable, lovely staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by NickT, Hotel Management
Hi there thanks for your review - great to read to that you found your accommodation very comfortable and our staff lovely - thanks just what we hope to hear from guests. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
4 out of 5
by Janette

Mercure Monaco Nelson

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Mercure itself was great. The room we had was lovely with a beautiful outlook. Unfortunately the couple who was travelling with us had to settle for a very dark room which was open to the car park, because the booking agency forgot to book them. We paid for two double rooms and were very disappointed about this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017
Hi there Janette Thanks for your review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you thought your room nice with an equally lovely outlook. I was so sorry to read that booking agency forgot to book your friends as well, but thank goodness we did at least have a room available; I do hope this didn't completely ruin the stay for your travelling companions. I do hope you enjoyed your time in the lovely Nelson/Tasman region. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco