Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice view from the balcony

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Over all my stay there was lovely staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the facilities were top note. The only thing I can fault was the black marks on the walls obviously from previous guests suitcases and shoes etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ..

Great Location !

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Its Location Is Well Situated For Shopping !!! Easy Walking Distance To Restaurants ! Super Market ! ( '' Right Across '' Hotel By Crossing Bridge )
Cons: Although The Top Floor Is Not High. (1 Staff Was Of Great Help With My Heavy Suitcase ) To Carry IT UP..! An Elevator Would Have Been Very Nice..!
Location: GREAT ! FOR ALL NEARBY ACTIVITIES !!!
Very Pleasant !!!! The Front Desk's Staffs Very Helpful ! Lovely ! For Its Location ! ( Airport Within 20 - 30 Mns ) For Restaurants ! Shopping ! Super Market ! ( Just '' Right Across Hotel ''.Just Cross The Bridge ! ) 5-7 Mns Walking To Super Market.. And... For ITS Location ! The Price For Our Room Was Very Reasonable ! Also.. The Hotel's ~ The Tides ~ Restaurant Was Good..! Our Overall Staying At The Trailways Hotel Nelson Was Very Enjoyable ! Wouldn' t Mind Staying There Again...!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Ver good refurbishments are great bathroom really up market
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased with the result of our refurbishment and it certainly is reassuring to hear our guests agree. We would like to welcome you back to Trailways Hotel Nelson should you return to Nelson. Warm wishes from Trailways Hotel Nelson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Really good after the upgrade

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I used to stay at Trailways regularly but it had become tired. Now it's been upgraded with new bathrooms and bedroom fittings. It's really good and it's riverside location is ideal for the town center. I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to review Trailways Hotel. It is very heartening to hear you enjoyed the upgraded rooms, we are very pleased with the result. We hope, with our great location beside the river and being walking distance to town you will return for another enjoyable experience. Warm wishes from the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Spa bath spa bath spa bath did I mention the spa bath!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. The spa bath's are indeed a nice way to treat yourself. We do hope you will be back to treat yourself again. Warm wishes from the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality close to the city easy to find

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location and quality
Cons: No
Location: Business trip
Enjoyed the stay professional staff and good service
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your kind review. The Hotel certainly has a great location for a business trip being walking distance to the main business precinct and we are very proud of the consistent efforts our staff put in to ensure every guest has a memorable experience. We hope to see you back at the hotel in future. Warm wishes from the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch to Auckland

Lovely view of river

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great room set up with comfy bed and large TV to view opposite, balcony with river view and spa shower for ultimate relaxation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Dear Charlie, Thank you for taking the time to place such a lovely review. It is nice to hear you enjoyed the comfortable bed, river view and the popular spa shower. We hope you get the chance to enjoy the Trailways Hotel experience again. Warm wishes from Trailways Hotel Nelson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Great location for getting out and about around central Nelson. Friendly, helpful staff. Was able to check in and use my room a lot earlier than the actual check in time. Nice, comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to place a review about Trailways Hotel Nelson. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your room and our staff were able to get your room ready for your early arrival. Our central location certainly is great when staying in Nelson. We welcome you back to the Hotel. Warm wishes from Trailways Hotel Nelson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napier NZ

Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Large size room, recently painted. walking distance to township..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Hi Tina, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Trailways Hotel Nelson. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our freshly refurbished rooms. The Hotel certainly does have a great location being just a short walk away from shops, restaurants and bars. We would like to welcome you back to Trailways Hotel upon your return to Nelson. Warm wishes from Trailways Hotel Nelson
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CRAP EXPERIENCE

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: it was close to the shopping in central nelson
Cons: more than a coat of paint
Location: central to burger king i recommend this over their food
we are from nelson and when we have time off from our 4 children we choose to invest in our towns economy supporting local business and saving our time by not travelling far. So far we have stayed at 4 places and trailways is the worst of the lot and the most expensive, we paid extra for a spa bath room to find the "bath" was more of a SHUB tiny and my legs were up round my ears. The food at the restauraunt was also nothing flash to match its price tag we thought being they have earnt an award we would give it a go more fool us the walk down the hall to our room reminded us of a hostel if you are looking for a fab place to stay we recommend the castles motel on tahunanui drive, the quality inn on waimea road or aloha lodge along golf road tahunanui these places were by far a much nicer place to stay with comfort and style and plenty of amentiites close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Admin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is very disappointing you didn't enjoy your break. The Hotel has just completed a refurbishment which has given the rooms a lovely fresh look and do have some rooms available that have a large corner spa bath which might have been more suited to your requirements. On occasion it is better to book direct and our team can assist in choosing the room best suited to you. Warm wishes from Trailways Hotel Nelson