Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Most lovely couple and B&B!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Everything!
My wife and I were on our honeymoon when we pulled into Nelson and checked into the Shelbourne. We were greeted by Wayne at the door and soon met Val - they are just the cutest couple! They were kind enough to upgrade us to the loft as it was our honeymoon and we could not have had a better place to stay. The room was large, had everything we could ask for (including sweets) and was very comfortable. They also recommended the Cod and Lobster just a couple of minutes away for dinner and that was a GREAT recommendation! It was nice to sleep in such a lovely room after a long day of travel and food. Breakfast was expertly prepared and very wonderful with all sorts of lovely local jams. Could not recommend the place any higher, plus their sailors to boot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy Apartment stay in Nelson

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
If I was staying in Nelson for a few days, this would be the perfect place!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Relaxing Stay

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Short walk to CBD for restaurants, bars, and shopping. The owners are great host, and make you feel like part of the family!
Spent just one night, but it was a great stay. Large, comfortable room that had nice views of the garden. Breakfast was yummy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just needed a basic B&B, but got lots more

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Location: The Freehouse for an eclectic pub with some great local craft beers.
Just passing through Nelson for the night. Wayne was very friendly and helpful. House & room were exceptionally clean. All round, great place to stay !!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good location.

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Charming bed and breakfast yet a little dated in style. Good facilities but no comfortable chairs to relax on in room. Car parking tricky. Very good breakfast. Location if hot water kettle needs to be improved on. Not good opposite toilet! Overall a good stay but possibly overpriced as not really five star.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Bed & Breakfast

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Incredibly well run B&B. We had a perfect 2 day stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

Lovely B&B within walking distance to town.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Fantastic hospitality, lovely house and gardens plus a generous breakfast. Would definitely stay again, highly recommended for anyone looking for a unique experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ChCh NZ

All around great

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: close to town
Cons: nope
Location: Food, shops, park and bars
Great location, great rooms and great people, thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Welcoming and comfortable.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
We were welcomed at the door. Lovely facilities and a quick walk to town. Lovely gardens and a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lovely stay right in the heart of the city

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely old villa with lots of character. Friendly welcome, really large comfortable room and fantastic breakfast. Thanks heaps :)