Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome, just awesome!

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Fantastic owners, great breakfasts and comfortable rooms. We recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice B&B with great, owners. Excellent breakfasts

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Owners, scrumptious breakfasts, advice on local attractions. The room was very pleasant and the bathroom was immaculate.
Cons: Only the description. We booked the Honeymoon Suite. It was a nice bedroom and we were very happy with it, but it was not a Honeymoon Suite.
Location: Although on the main road, the room was sheltered from the sounds. Main attraction -- Abel Tasman National Park about 45 minutes away -- Excellent!
The owners knew the entire area and were able to give great recommendations about what to do and where to eat. They provided a very homey and welcoming atmosphere. During our stay, I incurred a small medical problem that led me to bleed on the bath mat in the bathroom. While I was embarrassed, they put my mind at ease and let me know that they would take care of the mess -- NO PROBLEM! This was only my second experience with a B&B and in my mind, this is what a B&B should be all about!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serenity at its best.

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
Robyn and Kees made me very welcome and very comfortable. It is a lovely place to stay . A home from home that I will gladly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable accommodation

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Comfort and welcoming, helpful hosts.
Location: Located on busy road, a few km. from Central Nelson. A bit of a challenge to find first time if the traffic is heavy, but not a big deal. Very good ac
Very comfortable, with excellent, welcoming hosts and beautifully cooked breakfasts. Location is a bit out of Nelson, but well located for the airport. Bedroom is not large, but provides comfortable accommodation.
5 out of 5
by Kusum from New England, USA

Cute and hospitable home away from home

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Our warm and hospitable innkeepers Robyn and Cornelius gave us a heart-warming and tummy-filling three days in Nelson. Would highly recommend this lovely B&B. They have a beautiful garden, with flowers and fruit trees, a lovey outdoor table for breakfast in the morning, and ducks and eels in the stream at the back, that Cornelius feeds every morning and evening. Breakfast was delicious -- healthier and tastier than any you will find in hotels. Case (sp?) cooks his own fruit so we had yummy fresh and preserved plums, apricots, and peaches. The couple are so friendly and welcoming. It was also lovely to get to know the other guests at breakfast. Nelson and Ambleside are both must-sees for anyone going to the South Island.
4 out of 5
by Janelle m from Brisbane QLD

Quaint little B&B

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
This being a B&B we found the hosts to be very welcoming and helpful. The room was quaint and inviting, they did little extras such as chocolates on the bedside table, a glass of port upon retiring, lollies in the lounge room and a lovely court yard to have an afternoon drink if you arrive early enough. Breakfast was plentiful and a great variety. Bed was comfortable. Being on a busy road the traffic noise was obvious with the windows open but shut it was not as bad apparently they have double glassing on the windows.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Host and hostess
Cons: Small en suite
Location: Just right
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Fantastic; Service: Remarkable; Cleanliness: Spotless;
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate any feedback we receive so regarding the small en suite bathroom, yes two of our bathrooms are small, but our Burgundy Superking room has a large spacious bathroom, so it does depend on the room one books.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Lovely couple at this charming B&B

Posted Nov 4, 2014
The couple who run this small (three rooms) B&B love New Zealand and are happy to offer recommendations and tips. They did several kind gestures for me while I stayed there. My room was comfortable and clean, the locally-sourced toiletries were very nice, the other guests were interesting, and breakfast was good. I definitely recommend Ambleside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ambleside Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Everything. The room was cosy and comfortable, the breakfast absolutely delicious The house itself was beautifully appointed and we felt most welcome
Cons: Just my decision to only spend one night here. I cannot think of anything that needs to be improved at Ambleside. Kees and Robyn were great hosts.
Location: As we drove in at night we missed most of the great landscape and only saw it on drive back across to Kaikoura next morning.
My husband and I took a break over Easter and unfortunately I only booked the one night in Nelson. What we saw we loved but left ourselves time poor to really enjoy the wonderful Nelson area. Robyn and Kees were great hosts and we both enjoyed our all too brief time at Ambleside immensely. Next time we would choose to base ourselves at Ambleside for at least a week to give us time to explore the surrounding area extensively. Robyn on hearing about our itinerary quickly gave us a run down on the not to be missed activities and locations along our route which we are very glad we followed. We arrived back in Australia feeling very rested and relaxed but with a more realistic idea of what to plan for our next trip to the South Island as I am sure we will be visiting again.
5 out of 5
by Connie from Tucson, AZ

Lovely B&B close to downtown Nelson

Posted Apr 4, 2014
The Ambleside is a great choice for a stay in Nelson. Robyn and Kees are wonderful hosts who are anxious to make your stay a pleasant one. They were very helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. The Cream Honeymoon Suite at the back of the house is very quiet and private. The bathroom is a bit small, but spotlessly clean. Breakfast on the outside patio was delightful, with a very generous continental breakfast and eggs if desired. It is located on a busy street, which can make exiting the drive a bit challenging, but there is off-street parking.