Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice enough Motel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Room was fine
Cons: Wifi that was reliable and worked
Location: Walk to the shops.
Wifi was useless. Room was cleaned well but having to share facilities with the backpackers was not appropriate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel attached to backpackers

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Motel is attached to a backpackers and didn't feel like a 'luxury motel' as advertised. Lots of noise from the hostel at about 2.30am. Pool was in the hostel part rather than the motel part so probably not really usable for motel guests. Advertised as a 10-minute walk from Trafalgar St - this is true, but it is 10 minutes from the uneventful end. Realistically more like 15-20 minutes to shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, NZ

Backpackers or Motel?

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpful and attentive.
Cons: It would be nice to check-in at the Motel side (there was an office there). I am not sure how you would solve the pool issue.
Location: A little far out of town but there is a pub, store and take-away close by.
Arrived very early in morning but was able to have my room straight away which was wonderful. Unfortunately, check-in was at the Backpackers Office and you felt like a back-packer waiting in line with the youths. I had picked this motel for the pool but being surrounded again by back-packers felt uncomfortable with the loudness of music and shouting. The motel was quite noisy at night with them sitting chatting outside in the car-park till the late hours. The distance from the town was a little more that I was expecting but a pleasant enough walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Don't get fooled

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I arrived before the reception closed (8.15) but no one was there. They left for key out for anyone to help themselves to. Don't get fooled by the pics online. The pool is at a backpackers. You have to walk through their kitchen to get there. Our WiFi didn't work till the next morning as it wouldn't take us to the log in page.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Cons: Maintenance in room 9.
Location: Everything was a rather long walk from this place. OK location if you have your own transport.
My request to have the kitchenette tap lever fixed was not actioned. (I stayed for 5 nights so there was plenty of time to address the problem). There were other small maintenance issues that I didn't bother to ask to be fixed-seemed to be pointless when the one thing I asked to be fixed was not actioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat apartments walking distance to centre

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Although staff at reception were not easy to find, they kindly left our key in an envelope with my surname to self-checkin. The apartment is really neat, no complaints at all, the wifi reception inside my room was really good. I could stream movies in my computer without any problem. Nice and easy 10-min walk to the i-site with lovely views to the "centre of NZ" hill and pretty cottages on the way. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wairarapa

Good to return

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Location suits us for family reasons but is also an easy walk into the city centre
Cons: Was happy with everything
Location: 1minute walk to city centre & handy to a boutique brewery b and god general store
Have stayed previously & found all standards maintained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Pleasant area and walk to city not too far
Great spa bath and also could have had sauna,spa or swimming pool on premises
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Gem in Nelson

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Just a one nighter in Nelson for business but this is a great stop. Actually backs onto a backpackers but do not let that concern you as it is very quiet and well run establishment. Good comfortable room.