Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

great location can walk to town

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful
Cons: WIfi should be offered for free instead of for a limited time.
Location: Can walk to town Great location Cant' be beat
They have a Japanese Restaurant in the hotel which is a nice treat. Would be convenient to offer an ice machine so guests could get their own ice instead of having to call for it . I must say though, they were quick to bring it up to the room .Olympia at the front desk was very friendly and gave out a lot of good information to inform us of things to do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Can do better

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Check in staff apathetic Help with bags good but clearly disappointed about no tip (we had just arrived from overseas, jet lagged, no local currency) Check out staff slightly better Breakfast arrangement "nit-picky" about about what you can & can't have, and how much, cooked food poor and parsimonious View not worth looking at
Cons: Work on getting towards actually being world class - it's the only hotel in town that purports to be
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Nice hotel but more like a 3.5

Posted Jun 22, 2016
This is a nice hotel with some great charm. I would stay here again. Of all the hotels I have stayed at this hotel had the best internet speed. In average I was able to get 20 megabit download speed. Unfortunately the amount of free internet was capped at 300 megs per day which is hardly enough to to watch one 30 min show. That was also only accessible from the lobby. You can but different packages but they cap the amount of data you download.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Very cool place.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Had fun and enjoyed the Sir Earnest Rutherford theme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AUS

Posted Feb 19, 2016
The hotel was very clean. The restaurant service was a bit slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We only stayed one night . Nice hotel, staff are friendly, great breakfast. I personally found the bed very very soft but thats just a personal preference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Convenient centrally located hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Location, restaurants
Cons: Would prefer that the wifi was offered within a data cap without a time limit
Location: Ample opportunities for dining out
Hotel was conveniently located for central city activities. Restaurants were very good. Facilities in the room were good. TV a little unresponsive to remote. Room lighting good. Desk good. Ample power points.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North NZ

Central hotel close to many restaurants and shops

Posted Nov 9, 2015
We had an enjoyable stay at the Rutherford. The room was well presented and clean. While we were there we had dinner at oceanic restaurant which is part of the hotel. The meal was very delicious and would certainly recommend trying it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Island

convenient location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: it was all good
Location: Cathedral, shops, very convenient location
close to all amenities, great to have choice of dining areas, plus coffee shop!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Frew wifi? Not really

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Nice hotel but to advertise free wifi is very deceptive. You get 30 mins free a day and frankly the quality of this free wifi is terrible. If wifi is not an issue for you, then I fully recommend this hotel.