Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australian

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Room was clean, kitchen fine. Bed comfortable, but a thin pillow. plenty of social areas. Pretty good overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient place to base hikes in the area

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Low cost, adequate for base needs
Cons: Water pressure not high
Location: Good location to central city
Well located, good facilities and lots of information on the area. Staff were helpful and informative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great backpackers in Nelson

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great place with a great atmosphere. Close to town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice vibe

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Relaxed. View from room.
Cons: Pillows
Location: Quiet area near town
Nice Flat pillows Near town Nice little courtyard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Great accommodation, well located for events at Founders Park and a short walk from town. Room was classed as shared bathroom but we still had our own toilet and basin which was great. Really friendly helpful staff. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Blair from Hamilton, New Zealand

Great place

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Warmth (of place and of staff)
Location: Convenient to Nelson town and beach
Four things made my stay awesome: ice cream, chocolate pudding, wood fire and comfy coaches. Perfect place to stay in both summer and winter. Affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Waipu

Love Tasman Bay Backpackers & their chocolate pud!

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Tasman Bay Backpackers was great for us. We had a double room with onsuite and it was totally quiet - we couldn't hear a sound from outside our room. The room was painted in great colours, spacious, clean and comfortable. Their information book encouraged to make use of various things - mostly free; hot water bottles, bikes, books, and best of all the delicious hot chocolate pudding and ice cream served at 8pm! We thoroughly recommend it as value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from Whangarei NZ

Great meeting & resting place for young travellers

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Location, convenience, funkiness
Cons: One of the occupants and the bed mattress
Location: Very handy walking distance to town, just off the main highway
Great for backpackers without a doubt - we both in our 50;s and only needed a bed so felt rather old but it fitted the bill!! Didn't enjoy being across hallway from toilet where intoxicated male dry-retched at least 4x during the night Sat night (and left his calling card!!) but otherwise an excellent facility and well run with great heart and quirky cool NZ touches. Bed mattress and linen need updating would be my only constructive suggestion!! One of the pillows needed to be binned - pretty gross under the tired pillowcase!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: friendly folk
Cons: noisy room
Location: great location to town
nice stay although the ensuite room is a little noisy as its near the kichen and we did get waken up from around 5 am onwards however the hostal its self is very warm and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kölle

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Außergewöhnlich gute Unterkunft. Immer wieder gerne.