Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maputo

Nice hotel, safe and good park, within the city

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Staff customer care orientation to satisfy the customer.
Cons: Needs to renew the bed clothes and towels. The clothes seems to be old and extensively used.
Location: Good location near the Nlhanga Mall, just crossing the road.
I like to stay in this hotel, special when I travel with my family. The hotel has family rooms that are very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Karien, Hotel Management
Dear Sidonio Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely Karien Linde Rooms Division Manager Mercure Hotel Nelspruit
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maputo

Hotel needs a serious interior facelift.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The grounds of the hotel are fairly pleasant, and the assigned parking.
Cons: Interior facelift and friendlier receptionists and hotel staff.
Location: Shopping, shopping, shopping.
Upon arrival to the hotel from a long road trip with kids, I was denied an early check-in immediately upon request and told to come after 2pm. The receptionist never even tried to accommodate us in any way. The interior of the room we were given was in extremely poor condition (old and stained couch, broken cabinetry, dark room, 4 TV channels, dirty carpet, broken lamp, etc.). The room furniture resembled furniture one could find at the end of a garage sale.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MZ

argumentative lady desk manager,

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Between the argumentative lady front desk manager defending the fact that there so may light bulbs missing in the rooms we were given and the dreariness, tired and worn out facilities, I'm sorry but I've finally had it with this place after having been coming here for over 4 years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Good location. A/C could be better Light in bathroom was not working Big room with all amenities to cook
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Arrived and checked in, staff very courteous and helpful. Met every ned while we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a stopover

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Easy access, but not easily found if you do not use GPS.
Cons: Signage to the Hotel.
Location: Right next to a mall for shopping and easily accessible from the N4.
I stayed the night in Nelspruit on my way from Mozambique to Johannesburg. I enjoyed having a spacious room with cooking facilities. I will stay again for future stopovers and if I am needing to stay in the Nelspruit area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maputo, Moçambique

This is a nice hotel, close to the Lhanga Mall.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Rooms are comfortable. The parking is secure.
Cons: New towels are needed in the rooms to serve the guests.
Location: Either in Johannesburg or in Mbombela, where I used to travel to, the hotels are located near the malls, which makes easy for shopping.
Overall rating is very good, but for some time now, the hotel keeps some old towels for guests in the rooms. My suggestion is that the hotel management could start changing the towels. The rest is fine. I like to stay in the Mercure hotels chain, wherever I go, either Johannesburg or Nelspruit (Mbombela).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potchefstroom

Needs More Plugs

Posted Jun 18, 2015
We had heard of this hotel from friends and it lived up to their comments. Thanks to Expedia we got a great rate. The only things that we had a problem with was the lack of plugs for our many chargers and the rather poor quality of the towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maputo, Mozambique

Spacious and convenient-bad in the summer

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The rooms are, on a square footage/meter basis, the BEST deal in Nelspruit. They also have a great pool!
Cons: THE AIR CONDITIONING.
Location: I'langa mall is right across the street. You do not hear street noise. Easy parking right in front of the room (almost always). Close to hospital.
I have stayed here on many occasions, so I have a lot of experience in different kinds of rooms. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and the beds and very comfortable. However, they have the worst air conditioning system I've ever experienced. For one, the 2-bedroom suites have NO air conditioning in the smaller room. No ceiling fans either, in any of the rooms. The air conditioner in the rooms seems like an old-school hotel air con, but they are new. Sometimes, the remotes are hard tooperate. In my most recent room, it kept turning off every 45 minutes to 2 hours, but I could re-start if I flipped the switch. This is not the first time we've had a horrible broken air con experience. On my recent stay, it got no cooler than 80 degrees Fahrenheit in the room! It was horrible. When you complain to the front desk, they may move you at night, if there is a room available. But, who wants to move when you have a 7-year old and it's raining outside?? So, TL; DR, it's hot in the summer, better during other times of the year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the weekend

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Good choice because of the proximity of I'Langa Mall