Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Bathrooms are terrible. Needs an upgrade. Toilet does not flush properly. Shower is mouldy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy With Really Bad Internet

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: My car was not broken into overnight.
Cons: Astonishing that Marriott bought this chain: No workout room. Internet doesn't work. Staff could not care less.
The Internet would not work for other guests and me. The hotel was adamant that it was not their system, and would not repair it. You have a choice of rooms overlooking a large generator that runs all night, or a busy road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pretoria, South Africa

Air-condition did not function.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: The restaurant and house keeping staff made a lot of effort to ensure we had a good stay.
Cons: Improve the ventilation in the rooms and passages. During a heatwave it is very unpleasant.
Location: Centrally located. Ideal place to book on your way for a stop over before travelling to the Kruger Park.
Our air-condition unit did not function. After two attempts from the hotel staff to set it up it still did not work. Only after a heavy discussion did the manager move us to another room. Before this we had been told they will provide us with a floor standing fan. We have also been informed that the hotel is fully booked and no other rooms are available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mildew and Ants

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Lots of mildew in unclean shower, ants swimming in the coffeepot. Spider in the bed. Sheets were clean. Staff was friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Passt. Würde wieder dort übernachten.
5 out of 5
by Iris from חיפה

טוב אך יקר מעט

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
הגענו ללילה בדרכנו לקרוגר. היה נחמד מאוד אם כי יקר בסטנדרטים הקיימים כיום בדרא״פ במיוחד לאור העובדה שהמחיר לא כלל ארוחת בוקר
4 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Good stay

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Cons: Staff Could be friendlier and more helpful. The hallway ceiling had a huge hole and did not see any signs of being repaired.
Overall good stay. A bit rundown maintenance, staff semi friendly
5 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Murielle from Cape Town

Nelspruit Protea Hotel, standard accommodation

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Location is ok near a small Spar shopping centre and main roads. The hotel is perfect for 1 night before or after a Kruger Park stay. The room is large and clean, with TV and internet access. The bathroom is a little dated and does not look the cleanest but has good amenities and water pressure. The restaurant is ok, although we did not feel like a buffet dinner and it took for ever to get our food ordered a la carte. It was very good, service a bit slow but food was good. Breakfast buffet is quite overpriced and we gave it a miss. The reception staff was friendly and professional and very helpful. On check in, the room we were given had a terrible smell of mildew (due to a burst pipe in the hallway), and they agreed to move us; although we had to categorically refuse to stay in that part of the hotel for them to make a plan.