Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This hotel was clean and comfortable, would return and would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin ireland

Lovely hotel for family holiday well trained staff

Posted Sep 6, 2017
We went as a couple but it was a very family friendly hotel. Entertainment at day and night was really good. Breakfast was lovely and team of staff well trained to make busy times run well. The hotel was full there was 3 weddings during our time there aswell as summer holidaymakers the setting and facilities excellent. Only reason I didn't give it 5 was the distance from town was 30 min walk. Taxis were a rip off at 8.50 return at night. I would highly recommend it..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Angel, Hotel Management
Thank you very mach for your comments about the hotel. We always try to have the best breakfast and entertainment. We hope you come back to our hotel next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland UK

excellent hotel close to the beach fantastic room

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: excellent
everything about our stay was excellent right from the hotel the staff the food the rooms also the cleaning staff were all working hard to keep the hotel up to the excellent standards it was in would recommend this to any one looking for the excellent way the hotel is run . Thanks again for a great holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Angel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy you enjoy in our hotel. We try to do get better every year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Great for kids, nightly kid friendly show, buffet kids will always find something they like, on the beach and lovely pool. Good activities all day long. Bit of a dash for sun chairs though - just get more. Double beds need to be joined together not two singles dressed as singles and pushed together to act as a double - that's not very romantic! Thanks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Cristina Molina, Hotel Management
Dear B & P, first of all we want to thank you for your review. Marinas de Nerja is a family hotels and we are happy that your kids enjoyed it very much. Our animation team tries to make a varied programm to keep our guests entertained. They will be pleased to know that you enjoyed the activities all day long. We are glad to inform you, that we just bought more sun loungers. Regarding your preference of the beds, we would like to let you know that we have twin beds and doublé beds, you just need to inform the reception about your preferences who will do their best to fulfill your wishes. Once again we thank you for your comments and we would like to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Cristina Molina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Best of both worlds

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Hotel ideally situated. Family holiday with our 2 boys aged 12 and 13. There's many sunbeds on the grass area between the beach and swimming pools. We preferred to be facing the sea as its a bit quieter. We were not all inclusive, however breakfast was included buffet style. They cater for all food types, fry ups, continental, american. You get the idea. They even have a gluten free area. My kids went up 2-3 times each morning trying pancakes, churros, fresh fruits etc. It's about a 20min walk along the beach front to Nerja town centre. If recommend the kayaking that's at the far end of Burriana beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Cristina Molina, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, It is such a pleasure to know that you spent a fabolous family holiday with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations in all areas. We are happy to know that there were many sunbeds available between the beach and pool area. At Marinas de Nerja we always want to offer a good quality and variety of our products, offering even gluten free food, and we are glad that we were able to met your expectations in this area as well. All in one we want to thank you for your lovely remarks and we hope to welcome you back at Marinas de Nerja. Kind regards, Cristina Molina
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing, not worthy of 4 stars

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Pool and proximity to the beach
Cons: Cleanliness in rooms
Location: Right next to the beach, but a bit far from Nerja town, however a taxi is €8
I stayed last week with my 10 year old daughter. Our room was not great due the fact that we were on the ground floor and our terrace was right next to the pool area which afforded no privacy. Our door to the terrace was so stiff we couldn't open it, we asked the cleaner if she could help, but no response. Also we were right next to the entertainment which meant getting to sleep very tricky in the evening. My main issue is however that we stayed 8 nights and our sheets were not changed once. My daughter cut her leg on the first day and ended up with blood on the sheets, when I asked the cleaner if this could be changed she said no as they were not due to be changed! That compounded by the fact that the water glasses were not changed once either and one day we were left completely without towels and had to call reception left us bemused to how this can be rated a 4 star hotel. Waiting staff pleasant enough and the food, it is what it is, mass catering. If I'm being picky the desserts were quite poor and there could be more variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Cristina Molina, Hotel Management
Dear Nicola, Although we truly regret reading that your holiday Marinas de Nerja fell a little short of your expectations we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your holiday experience in our hospitality. We welcome the feedback from our guests because it give us a vision of our hotel through their eyes and we believe that if an area of our hotel has room for improvement we will endeavor to do so. First of all we are saddened, that you did not like your room on the ground floor, although it is very popular between other guests due to the direct access to the beach and pool area. We want to take this opportunity to remind you that you can always send us your room request beforehand and our reception staff will do their best to match your preferences. We are extremely surprised and shocked about your comment regarding our maid service. It is such a rare occurrence and we school each and every staff member to perform in a clear client service orientated way. After checking the records with the Housekeeping Manager, we would like to let you know, that the bed linen were changed every 3 days and after your daughter cut her leg, they have also been changed as informed by our Responsible of the Housekeeping department. Please let me clarify that the cleaning of the glasses or dishes is not included in the room and has to be done by the clients itself. The team is present and visible throughout the day, therefore we would have been grateful to have the chance to discuss your concerns mentioned above, in order to promptly done the relevant actions to ensure your stay would have been comfortable and enjoyable. Finally, I would like to transmit our illusion to welcome you again in order to change your first impressions with the aim of recovering your faith in our hotel. Always at your disposal, Cristina Molina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings

lovely hotel, superb amenities, perfect

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: the pool is lovely, staff are friendly and very efficient. Room were very good etc...
Cons: nothing
Location: Nerja is a beautiful sleepy untouched town, fantastic restaurants, beautiful scenery !!
only stayed for 4 days, loved it !!! will go back next year
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Marcos Guerrero (Head Reception), Hotel Management
Dear Shona; Thanks a lot for your reviews, we hope you to come back soon, best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and relaxing hotel.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Spacious and clean apartment with great facilities. Location was beautiful and our children loved the sea and pool.
Cons: Our children don't attend kids club as they are older, it would have been nice to have some inclusive activities for them.
Beautiful hotel with gorgeous views of sea and hills. Food was great and loved by all the family. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Marcos Guerrero (Head Reception), Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We want to thank you for writing your review about our hotel, we hope you to come back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of Ireland

Excellent facilities, very close to the beach.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The Staff, the beach location and the food.
Cons: Daytime-Poolside games. Speed of service.
Location: Right on the beach, which is exactly what we wanted. It is good 15-20 min walk into town of Nerja, but the coastal walk was beautiful.
The Hotel itself is very well presented, clean and excellent facilities. I thought the pool side games could be improved on for the kids as this was limited, and no balls allowed in the pool for the kids was frustrating, but apart from that, good. The beach was a little stony and hard to walk on underfoot, but you can buy beach shoes which cured that problem. it was lovely walking straight form the resort to the beach side every morning for a dip. it was very windy in the last few days of our stay which caused the 'Red' flag to be hoisted by the life-guards, which was also disappointing but shows that the area has the safety of bathers in mind, which is obviously good.We booked All-inclusive,The food was top drawer and aplenty..... Drinks service could be a little slow sometimes but staff were very friendly and you didn't have to wait to long. Rooms were clean and the 2 bedroom was large enough for a family of 5 and they were cleaned to perfection on a regular basis. Overall we loved our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Cristina Molina, Hotel Management
Dear Irish family, thank you so much for your review on Expedia.com . We are happy to read your charming words regarding our staff. We have certainly shared your comments with our team. Thank you also for highlighting the location right on the beach, which is indeed a privilege situation. On the other hand we want to thank you for your suggestions to improve the pool side games, but please let me inform you that we don't allow inflatables for security reasons. The food experience of our clients is of major importance for us and we are happy that we fulfilled your expectations regarding the food. At Marinas de Nerja we always strive to offer comfortable and clean rooms and we are also happy that you were happy with yours. Thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcome you soon! Kind regards, Cristina Molina
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food was horrible. Entertainment was a wash out!!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nothing to do. In the middle of nowhere. Big restrictions on the all inclusive!! I e. The pool bar. - I wouldn't recommend it. M
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Cristina Molina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen Marinas de Nerja to spend your holidays, as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is very important for us and we will be making sure your remarks are brought to the attention of the appropriate management so they can make the necessary adjustments in the areas you highlight in your review. It sadden us to know that you were not happy with the location. Although we are situated quiet outside of the center, it is the only hotel with direct access to the beach which is most appreciated by other guest. We deeply regret also your discomfort with the all inclusive. The drinks included in the all inclusive are local premium brands and the menus can be checked directly on our website. Again we thank you for this review and hope that you will consider us again in the future. Yours sincerely, Cristina Molina