Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This hotel though not fancy has top notch food.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The staff were very nice, good restaurant.
Location: We took a bus to Bellagio then a ferry around from there. It's the real Italy in this village.
Antoinetta welcomed us and we had room 22 with a balcony facing the lake. The bathroom was spacious and the internet worked fine. This is not a fancy hotel but in a lovely quiet village away from tourist groups and the food was wonderful. The seafood spaghetti was perfect. The bus stop is directly in front of the hotel and there is an alimentari down the street to the right with everything needed for a picnic. The bus took 30 mins from Como Lago and 20 mins to Bellagio, it was cheaper to buy the bus tickets at the Alimentari.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kirkbymoorside

Good base for exploring the Lake Como area

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very attractive with the four rooms at the front giving the best views across Lake Como. The staff and food are excellent.
Location: Explore the lake using day tickets on the ferry from Como and Bellagio. Varenna was especially enjoyable.
We spent a very enjoyable 10 days at the Tre Rose Hotel using it as a base to attend the Italian Grand Prix, visit Milan to see the Last Supper and explore Lake Como. Antoinetta and her staff were very welcoming and encouraged our attempts to speak Italian. Evening meals were taken on the terrace overlooking the lake and the food was excellent. There is very little to occupy you in Nesso so a hire car is an essential. We used ours for a trip to Lugano and for getting into the hills behind the village for walking in the Mount San Primo area. If you enjoy walking pick up the leaflet on the bar showing mountain bike trails and use them as a basis. However, we would also recommend using the local service bus, which stops very close to the hotel, for getting to Como and Bellagio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from budapest

room with beautiful view

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, the room, the location...everything
Cons: Maybe...english of the staff. but as said, we understood each other well
Location: lovely location, the lake is stunning, bus stop is right there. perfect
Loved staying at tre rose. Luckily, we got a room facing to the lake, so it was beautiful. We saw the moon from our bed. The staff is lovely, but not speaking english, but as you are in Italy you understand each other :). The room is not very spacious, but more than enough for a good week to stay in. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel, so transportation is sorted well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Room made up beautifully. Quiet and beautiful location.
Cons: Waiters and staff want you to speak only in Italian. Then you will get better service, lol.
Location: Beautiful waterfall a short walk away, with medieval bridge.
Gorgeous location with restaurant right on the lake. Excellent value for room. Staff somewhat contrary at times, but overall good. Restaurant meals good to excellent, decent price. You will cherish every moment here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly family hotel in a fabulous setting.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Nice restaurant attached to hotel with great views over lake.
Lovely walks in area. Visited towns along the lakeside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Gem of Lake Como

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Wow! What else can I say about Hotel Tre Rose except it was a dream setting for our trip to Lake Como. First of all, the location is not only convenient via bus or car, it is set against a breathtaking scene looking out over the lake. Highly recommend dinner at the Tre Rose restaurant - it was arguably the best meal we had on our trip to Italy, which included Venice, Florence and the Cinque Terre. The gnocchi and pizza in particular were outstanding. Staff (especially Andrey!) were not only friendly but fun to talk to, as well as resourceful in helping map out our travels back to Milan for our flight home. Room was clean, spacious and equipped with a large bathroom with comfortable bed. Stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton keynes

Very nice hotel with views of lake como! Excellent

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Very nice hotel, small and basic but its all you pay for! Great for small stays and if you want views for less then look no further. Had a excellent service from the staff, gave me headache tablets as all pharmacies were close. Small niggles in the room but all got fixed in a jiffy. Very clean bathroom and clean bedding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

+ lake view - breakfast 8€, only Italian

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Lake view
Cons: Breakfast and an English dictionary
We enjoyed the lake to the view but don't take breakfast for 8€ .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Cute hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The beddings( needs new pillows and maybe new mattress)
Location: good location for a quiet place to stay and you can hop on and off the bus to go either to Como or Bellagio.
Cute hotel with a restaurant, it is a family run. Restaurant is pretty decent and not too pricey. Just to be aware that they don't have elevator so it could be a climb if you have the top floor, also breakfast costs 8 Euro per person, close to bus stops either direction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family owned place

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Staff and owner very helpful. Plus the good , especially the pizza very tasteful!