Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room and pool were great, but the food was so expensive that we decided to eat elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the opportunity to rate your recent stay. Very glad to read that you liked our Country Club & Spa and your room. For your upcoming stay we recommend the restaurant Torschaenke which serves regional dishes and is not that expensive. We hope to welcome you again back soon. Best regards Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Resort nestled into German Woods

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The spa.
Location: This is really a self-contained resort. For site seeing you must have a car or take a taxi.
This suburban resort hotel has recently been spectacularly re-furbished. Set surrounding a pond on the edge of a woods you feel as if Hansel and Gretel might have stopped here...except the style is five-star. Four excellent restaurants. An amazing spa with two pools. Very good service. First rate concierge. I have stayed here for years and would recommend it to anyone. It is a 30 minutes and 25 euro taxi ride into downtown Frankfurt. There is public transportation but it requires a combination of train and bus and is somewhat inconvenient. Twenty minutes and 25 euro taxi ride to the airport. This hotel is a gem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Andy. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure having you as our guest and we highly appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon to Frankfurt! With best regards, Management Team
3 out of 5
by isfand from dubai

Great Hotel. But experience at checkout shocking

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
hotel is great. location isnt bad as theres a lake right besides it. we were supposedly given a free upgrade of a room too. breakfast good. the room is fully updated and very comfortable. my only reason for 3 stars is the experience at checkout was quite horrible. i was told that we were charged a no show fee for a massage appointment. yeah sure my wife did call the spa but never confirmed the appointment. honestly because the english of the staff wasnt great there was a mis-communication. completely understandable. problem was the arguement with the checkout staff telling us we didnt read the fine print in one of the books in the room and how he is very exprienced and has worked in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Seriously who cares? I am living in Kempenski. one of the more expensive and reputable hotels. do i care about money? NO! do i care about my reputation? YES! why would I lie for 50 Euros? i am telling you i did not confirm my appointment! on the phone my wife wasnt even told that appointment is confirmed and no show fees of 50 euros. the least they can do is trust their "Guests". the charges were removed but it was made to look like he did us a favor. if it was any other hotel especially the US the charges would have been removed and we would have been given free spa and starbucks coupons for misunderstanding the Guest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Dear Isfand A, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay. It is nice to hear that you like our hotel and you were happy about the upgrade. We hope you also enjoyed the free late check out. The deluxe rooms are really beautiful and you have a wonderful view into our park. We apologize for your experience at check-out. This is not the standard of our hotel at all and the responsible employee in the spa is extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. Unfortunately, the lady was not present at your check-out. Please be assured that we will have a conversation with the receptionist about how to deal with such situation, that this does not happen again. As of now we will wait for the reconfirmation from the guest for a treatment. Dear Isfand A. we could not turn back the time but with your comments please be assured that we learned and hope you will give us a second chance to showcase that we understood the situation and change the process. With best regards Management Team
5 out of 5
by Hans Joachim

A good nights sleep after relaxing in the bar.

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet location, easy to find, pleasant welcome, excellent service, reasonable bar prices and excellent in- room menu. Clean, comfortable and spacious room overlooking the lake. Sadly, the Asian restaurant was fully booked and the International restaurant menu was limited; nevertheless the breakfast was of good quality and variety synonymous with Kempinski hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Dear Hans Joachim. Many thanks for your review and the rating. Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are really looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes from Gravenbruch Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice, Nice, Nice

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Just one of the nicest hotels I stayed in.
Location: In proximity to lots of nice restaurants. Close to main city and very easy to find.
Splendid!!! Very nice and comfortable room. All staff members very nice and attentive. In proximity to lots of nice restaurants. overall a place to stay many times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Allen, in the name of the entire team we would like to thank you for your overall positive feedback. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to welcome you again back soon. Best wishes from Gravenbruch
5 out of 5
by Philippe

Quite and Upscale

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here due to proximity to stadium. Was very pleasantly surprised by the grounds, lobby, etc. Great breakfast buffet. Good food at the lobby bar as well. Very comfortable room (though a bit far from the lobby because only 2 floors). Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017
Dear Philippe, many thanks for reviewing your recent stay. We are very glad to read that you had an overall satisfied stay with us and we also hope to welcome you again back soon. Best regards Management Team
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for rating your recent stay. Very glad to read that you had a nice stay with us. Bye for now Best wishes Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Excellent Hotel on all levels, can only highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Comment from hotel management, Hotel Management
Dear guest. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for this review. We appreciate your comment and hope to have a chance to welcoming you back in a not too distant future. Kind regards, The Management Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stunning Property

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This hotel is A++... from amazing service to outstanding dining options. The dinner was great and our suite was absolutely amazing. Lots of amenities and little special touches will make a stay here memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for reviewing your recent stay. We are very happy about your kind words and the overall positive feedback. Very glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again back soon here in Gravenbruch. Best wishes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fancy, but lacking in the finest of details.

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are too hot and can be cooled to only 18 degrees. Indoor pool was nice, but not heated. WiFi reception was suboptimal in rear of hotel where we were.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for rating your recent stay. We are very sorry for the inconvenience that happened during your recent stay. 18 degrees is the minimum temperature that you can adjust in our rooms. Many thanks for your hint regarding the indoor pool. Our technician has been informed as the indoor pool is normally heated. At the same time we informed our IT department to check the Wi-Fi connection. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again back soon. Best regards from Gravenbruch Management Team