Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel and friendly Staff

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Staff is great!
I had one night stay at the hotel. Everything was well organized and the staff was super friendly. The food choices are good, breakfast is somehow expensive, but the quality is ok. The room is a standard room very good for business trips. The furniture is not modern, but still ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Close to airport, resort-like hotel, vast grounds

Posted Nov 28, 2017
We were there for an overnight stay while transiting in Frankfurt. We booked the hotel at the airport upon arrival. 20 minutes from the airport. Beautiful marble-clad renovated building on three floors, with views on a small lake and large gardens. The room (superior) was spacious will all the standard amenities. No balcony. The Wi-Fi throughout the hotel was weak and the tv in the room was difficult to tune to the your desired channel and was often reloading for minutes. Decent Lebanese restaurant. Cigar lounge and a large bar area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to read that you liked the surroundings and the atmosphere. At the same time we are very sorry for the inconveniences with the Wi-Fi connection and your TV. We already informed our IT Manager to check this issue. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again back soon. Best regards from Frankfurt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Gardens

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Beautiful facilities and Gardens. Great breakfast. Probably too distant of Frankfurt city which makes it not to convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for sharing your thoughts. Very glad to read that you enjoyed your time here in Gravenbruch and liked the surroundings. The hotel is located approximately 10 minutes from the city centre. Our concierge team is happy to assist with transportation services. We hope to welcome you again back soon. Best wishes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and Spa is outstanding
Cons: Small. Lounge with tv for non smokers would be appreciated
Lovely place even in off season.We got great recommendations from concierge what to visit within short drive.Every aspect of service was great and that’s what makes us always to come back to Kempinski.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Dorota, thank you very much for your review and the kind words. Very happy that we convinced you of our team and that you will visit us again soon. Bye for now
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Too far , In the middle nowhere.Rude reception

Posted Oct 15, 2017
So apart from the fact that it costs 30 euros to go any where even for a smalldinner . Unless your planning a weekend retreat . Stay away from this Hotel I was greeted by a trainee intern at check in who had no clue how to handle my reservation . Afterwards , i was told that the king bed for the room I had booked wasn't available despite the fact that I had a non refundable booking that said KING bed. Instead of upgrading me The nervous intern told me I had to pay a extra 50 euro a night to get a bigger room and that I never had a guarantee that I would get a King bed. Which of course was rubbish but being two people and it was already 11pm . What choice did I have ?!? I tried to call Expedia to deal with the issue but I was put on hold too long so I gave up and ended up paying the ransom money Of course what made this worse was that the nervous intern kept going back to her boss and discussing in german what to do instead of the front desk manager coming and handling the issue himself which was totally disrespectful. After that incident . It really didn't matter what the hotel had to offer . They totally ruined the experience . Germans are great at making cars but horrible at running luxury hotels. Stick to a Hilton or a Marriott. I know I will next time I'm in Frankfurt
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Momed, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences of your last stay. We are very sorry for the inconveniences. The booking you made was for 1 person. Here we arranged a room with a queen bed. You arrived with a second person, so the colleague informed you about the extra charge for the second person. Please note that due to the fact that you were two persons, we gave you an free of charge upgrade to a Grand Deluxe Room with King Size Bed. The extra charge of EUR 50 was only for the second person. Many thanks for your understanding. We hope to convince you of staying again here with us. Best wishes from Gravenbruch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Warm welcome, cozy atmosphere with amazing rooms and facilities. There’s a bar, a lounge, a spa, a cigar lounge and business facilities. Great experience overall. A little out of the city but that’s part of its countryside charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for reviewing your recent stay. Very glad that you liked the location and the facilities. Looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oman

nice hotel on a pond

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Quality and luxury
Location: Nice location , situated on a pond and green surrounding area
The hotel was nicely located on a pond and greenery area.it is a bit far from city center but good for relaxing and being away from city loudness
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Issam, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to read that you liked our location and could relax. Bye for now.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room and pool were great, but the food was so expensive that we decided to eat elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the opportunity to rate your recent stay. Very glad to read that you liked our Country Club & Spa and your room. For your upcoming stay we recommend the restaurant Torschaenke which serves regional dishes and is not that expensive. We hope to welcome you again back soon. Best regards Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Resort nestled into German Woods

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The spa.
Location: This is really a self-contained resort. For site seeing you must have a car or take a taxi.
This suburban resort hotel has recently been spectacularly re-furbished. Set surrounding a pond on the edge of a woods you feel as if Hansel and Gretel might have stopped here...except the style is five-star. Four excellent restaurants. An amazing spa with two pools. Very good service. First rate concierge. I have stayed here for years and would recommend it to anyone. It is a 30 minutes and 25 euro taxi ride into downtown Frankfurt. There is public transportation but it requires a combination of train and bus and is somewhat inconvenient. Twenty minutes and 25 euro taxi ride to the airport. This hotel is a gem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Andy. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure having you as our guest and we highly appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon to Frankfurt! With best regards, Management Team
3 out of 5
by isfand from dubai

Great Hotel. But experience at checkout shocking

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
hotel is great. location isnt bad as theres a lake right besides it. we were supposedly given a free upgrade of a room too. breakfast good. the room is fully updated and very comfortable. my only reason for 3 stars is the experience at checkout was quite horrible. i was told that we were charged a no show fee for a massage appointment. yeah sure my wife did call the spa but never confirmed the appointment. honestly because the english of the staff wasnt great there was a mis-communication. completely understandable. problem was the arguement with the checkout staff telling us we didnt read the fine print in one of the books in the room and how he is very exprienced and has worked in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Seriously who cares? I am living in Kempenski. one of the more expensive and reputable hotels. do i care about money? NO! do i care about my reputation? YES! why would I lie for 50 Euros? i am telling you i did not confirm my appointment! on the phone my wife wasnt even told that appointment is confirmed and no show fees of 50 euros. the least they can do is trust their "Guests". the charges were removed but it was made to look like he did us a favor. if it was any other hotel especially the US the charges would have been removed and we would have been given free spa and starbucks coupons for misunderstanding the Guest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Dear Isfand A, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay. It is nice to hear that you like our hotel and you were happy about the upgrade. We hope you also enjoyed the free late check out. The deluxe rooms are really beautiful and you have a wonderful view into our park. We apologize for your experience at check-out. This is not the standard of our hotel at all and the responsible employee in the spa is extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. Unfortunately, the lady was not present at your check-out. Please be assured that we will have a conversation with the receptionist about how to deal with such situation, that this does not happen again. As of now we will wait for the reconfirmation from the guest for a treatment. Dear Isfand A. we could not turn back the time but with your comments please be assured that we learned and hope you will give us a second chance to showcase that we understood the situation and change the process. With best regards Management Team