Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Apr 16, 2018
I would not stay again. It was fine for one night but that was about it! Staff was nice but the the place is dirty, outdated and old. The pictures look definitely better than the reality alone!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Nevada City Inn evaluation

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Toilet not fastened to the floor (believe it or not), bathroom flooring loose, shower grimy, tiny room, generally unkept. Bad experience in an otherwise colorful city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Complete disappointment

Posted Mar 19, 2018
We had planned to stay for the weekend and upon arriving the hotel looked clean from the outside. We checked in and entered the room, it was smaller than it looked in the pictures. The first thing we noticed is that the beds were completely broken and sagging in the middle down to the ground. There were still various crumbs and other small pieces of trash beneath the beds and around the night stand etc. Due to an emergency my girlfriend who payed for and booked the hotel was not able to stay past the first night out of three that we had booked. I went to the manager and explained the situation asking if there was any possible way that we could get a refund and he refused. At this point I was upset but decided I might as well stay at the hotel for the remaining days if it wasn't possible to get a refund anyhow, even though it made it difficult to commute to where my girlfriend was to see her. The next day the manager came to my room and informed me that if the card holder wasn't present that I would have to leave, I had to argue with him about it and finally he accepted copying my ID. There were incredibly loud tenants on either side of our room, slamming the doors repeatedly throughout the day and the night, loud banging against the walls and yelling/screaming. On the final day when I returned to pack up my belongings after a 30 minute trip to the local grocery store, I found that my room key was no longer working. I had to go back to the front desk to reset it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: complete re-model.
Location: We liked the surrounding town. We didn't really get to explore to much. We attended a wedding.
Nevada City Hotel was a terrible experience! The outside appearance of the hotel was nothing like the picture on Expedia. This place was really in bad condition. It needs a complete make over. The rain gutters were broken down, cable wires and electrical wires hanging down from the eves. The room was in order but really outdated. The floor sloped downward. The foundation is not level. The room was a non-smoking room but wreaked of musty smoke. The bed needs to be replaced. It was broken down and the pillows were small and inadequate. The bathroom was terrible. Mold on the walls and tile of the shower. Needs paint for sure. The water faucet was broken and we had to mess with it to get hot water. The room just felt dirty. The patrons were also very questionable folks. We felt unsafe staying there. The worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Expedia should really check into this hotel before advertising it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grass valley,ca

Worst experience ever

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Hotel owner threatened to call the police on me because i complained about the heat not working all night. Lady at front desk wouldnt let me speak to manager to make a complaint. Told me i had to talk to expedia. When i insisted that wanted to handle this issue before i checked out and was still technically a customer, she became upset with me and refused to cotact the manager. But i could see his car in the parking lot, showing he was there the entire time, he finally called and threatened to have me arrested for being so persistant about my complaint. They tried to use thier authority to make me look like the bad one in the situation so they wouldnt have to pay the refund. Expedia was good enough to refund me the price of the room. This place is run by bad people just trying to make money of unsuspecting people. Once they have your money, they dont care what you think about thier establishment. This was just one huge issue of the many. ( hidden pet fee, i could hear everything from all the rooms around me, wifi was unavailable, rooms were dirty, no breakfast) ligerally everything that they advertised was misleading. Beware please!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cameron Park, CA

Blast to the Past

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: I like its coziness, wall heater, comfy bed, refrigerator, TV and microwave.
Cons: New paint, better cleaning of shower.
Location: This motel is in Nevada City. We went hiking on the nearby trails, so that was fun. The trail had a fun suspension bridge.
My guess is that this motel was built in the 1950s. The gas wall heater, the large, boxy tiled shower, and its old-fashioned push-up windows were just some of the clues. Rather than update, management ignores the cracked peeling paint, the cracks in the sink, and "repairs" doors by putting blatant pads on whatever part of the door hits another surface. If they need to put the pad smack dab in the middle of the door, so be it. In spite of its age, however, the room was clean (well except for the used soap left by other guests on the top ridge in the shower that the cleaning crew didn't see) and cozy. I liked the creaking, moaning wall heater since it reminded me of the one I had when I was a kid. The TV worked well, and the room also had a little refrigerator and microwave that was very handy. The bed was comfortable and we made use of the extra blanket. The walls were a little thin, but we slept well, so one night was fun and memorable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible condition and frightening guests

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Entire building should be torn down and rebuilt. Rooms should be cleaned thoroughly and sheets/pillow cases bleached. Needs security guards/cameras.
Location: Broad Street is close by and it's pretty fun there.
The first room they gave us was dirty, the air conditioner/heater was broken, and no toilet paper. The second room they gave us was better but the front door didn't lock and the bathroom door was hard to close. The bed had dirty sheets, so they gave us clean sheets that were yellowed. Both rooms smelled like cigarettes. The guests who stay there are scary and is one of the main reasons we left. They need a security guard and security cameras, for sure. One guest had a barking dog that wouldn't be quiet. There's also a school right next to the inn. Another no no. We stayed for one night and we had paid for three. A staff member said they would refund us the third night but we still haven't received refund thru Expedia. The staff is friendly, though, and did try to accommodate us, but it's just a terrible place to stay in. Never again will we stay there. Ever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Bay CA

Oh too early

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Well having a toilet paper holder that is attached to the wall would be a good start... and oh that noisy neighbor!
Location: My parents live in the neighborhood
The staff is a little distant, the room not well thought out. The real problem was the neighbor who was loud from 5:15 am until we left at about 7:00. I don't know if she is a regular but she was obviously under the influence of something!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Room was clean enough.
Cons: Advertisement on Expedia said free continental breakfast but next morning checked out before 9 a.m. and saw no sign of food or a breakfast.
Group of men outside smoking marijuana nearby were rather loud at times--just across the parking lot. Walls of hotel were very thin and could clearly hear very loud guests that entered room next door at 3 a.m. Bed not very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca.

Memorable for all the wrong reasons

Posted Dec 27, 2017
To start, no one was at the front desk to check in, had to wait 25 mins for them to show up. Messages were written in sharpie around the room which had clearly not been cleaned from the previous occupants ( there was hair in the bathroom and a used shaving razor still in the shower). Only perk was that the heater in the room worked. Also no one at the front desk to check out, waited around 30 mins before giving up and just leaving.