Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Julie

Had a Great Experience

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
There is much to love about this hotel. And what you don’t love might just be quirky enough to make you smile anyway. Stayed for 8 nights and you can’t beat the location for easy walking access to many main sights. Staff is young and friendly and speaks English well enough. Room was spacious and quiet (from outdoor noise) but not well sound-proofed. That wasn’t a problem for me as guests are asked and expected to be courteous. In- room safe and mini fridge were handy. Loved the bathroom nightlight on a sensor and got used to the water system (shower is not a highlight even with the rain faucet). Bed was so comfy and linens were soft. A cloth robe and disposable slippers made evening room lounging comfortable after a full day of sightseeing. Breakfast was a choice from about 7 pre-arranged menus and I sampled all of them. Usually sat on the terrace and was served by hotel staff eager to make my day start right! Not gourmet but tasty and filling. There are also snacks and beverages for purchase. Entry to hotel is through 2 locked gate/doors with a buzzer system. I really liked staying here and I would return…just know that if you have demanding standards, Sky Hotel will probably not suit. And that’s too bad because it’s a great place to experience.
3 out of 5
by Valerie e l

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ann

Fantastic location!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
This little hotel is on the 6th floor of a sad looking building, so be prepared. On the 6th floor you will be presently surprised. It has a fantastic location in the middle of an expensive area. You can walk to many of the tourist attractions and shop the main street within minutes. The only problem I had was of my own making. I booked @ 140 per night not realizing that I had booked a shared bath, which I should have just kept. Another 80 later I had a bath for the two nights. I could have booked today @120 with a bath. Bummer-did leave me a little less than pleased, but I still would highly recommend. Just beware of the type of room you are signing up for
5 out of 5
by Victor

Excellent value

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Sky Hotel is a small hotel, just as advertised. The rooms are indeed very small, but they are surprisingly cozy and comfortable. Everything you might need when visiting Saint Petersburg. They also offer breakfast which is quite decent. Very clean place all around. It is worth mentioning that the location is superb, at walking distance of most sights in the city, and about 10 minutes from a metro station. Definitively would stay here again whenever I go back to Saint Petersburg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome location

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
The 24hr desk comes in handy and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are awesome! Overall this is a great hostel/hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zagreb, Croatia

excellent stay in the center of the city :)

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Cons: the cleanliness of the shared toilet/bathroom must be controlled every time. The choices and the quality of the breakfast meals.
Location: Great location within just few steps to the main points of interests, including the nightlife ˝hot spots˝ along the Nevsky boulevard!
I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I travel back to St. Petersburg. The staff are friendly, the room is clean, tidy and comfortable. But if you expect more for the breakfast its better to find a rather higher rated hotel, since they provide breakfast from one of the bakeries/patissery near the hotel. On the day of my arrival, I was warmly greeted and welcomed by a nice and lovely receptionist lady (named Raisat) who speaks excellent English and very helpful, especially in helping me to find money changer office and directions to some places. Its very easy to find places to eat as you are in the center of the town and any points of interest are within walking distant. My experience of staying in this hotel for 3 days completed my fantastic moments in the city. It is indeed a great alternative for backpacker traveler who is accustomed to stay in the hostel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida, usa

Bad hotel, bad area, smallest rooms and bathrooms

Posted Jun 8, 2016
The hotel rooms were extremely small, beds also- we were almost falling. Room was that small that we hardly could move! Same with shower! No elevators all the way down - had to carry heavy laguage way too far. Breakfast area is bad, and same woth breakfast- also bad. It was also loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Cozy and comfortable

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Small hotel with good facilities (disregard the entrance on the first floor because the actual hotel is in the sixth floor). Breakfast is not a buffet; they have a list of about eight choices that are OK. If you are a coffee addict, you can buy it from a machine (no complementary coffee and only one coffee is offered with breakfast). Staff speak English and are very nice. In overall, I liked this hotel and I'd recommend it. Location is great and you can walk to almost everywhere in the city center.
5 out of 5
by Rosa

Excellent location, nice room

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a single room with bathroom. The room was clean and newly furnished. Staffs are helpful and friendly with good English. You can pick your breakfast from 8 menus and they are interchaagble! Location is excellent, it's close to EVERYTHING! 10 min walk to Saviour Church on Spilled Blood and Winter Palace. The entrance is a bit difficult to find for the first time though. You have to ring the bell to open the big iron gate, then walk inside for like 50m to reach your building and ring the bell again. for those with big suitcase, there's an elevator to go up to the hotel reception, it's located on 6/F. But if you book a room with bathroom, you will have to walk a few stairs to reach 7/F.