Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A Major Let Down

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything.
Location: It was 17 miles from North Adams which is how we ended up there.
We spent the last three years coming her for the festival FreshGrass in North Adams. Not really close but reasonable priced and adequate comfort. This year was a disaster. From the mice running around outside, to the carpet in the room which was not vacuumed in days, if not weeks, it was poor. When we mentioned that room had not been cleaned during the first day - no cups, or coffee, or towels, or bedsheets - not even a quick freshen up, we were told that it was done every other day and that there was a new person on the job. It sounded like an excuse for poor management. The apples at breakfast we mushy, the electronic keys stopped working night.... need I go on. We paid more than the standard rate during the festival time which is fine, but this place was not worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, MI

Rooms need updating

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Staff continental breakfast
Cons: Rooms need to be updated including window treatments, carpet and furniture.
Location: It was further from the dance festival at Jacobs Pillow than we thought. The hotel had a map with many things to do in the Berkshires.
The staff was nice, the lobby was large and pleasant, and the breakfast was good but the room was very old and smelly. The curtain wand fell off when we tried to close them because the top of the curtain was torn. The furniture was old and minimal and the carpet was old and dirty. It just smelled old and musty. I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice place and location, but...

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Very nice staff, excellent location close to the highest point in Massachusset, large rooms and decent breakfast. The only problem is whoever doing the cleaning is doing a bad job! Finger prints in many places such as mirrors and windows, strong smell of a cleaning detergent and some areas was sprayed with it but not wiped out, fridge not clean, bathroom mainly clean but missed many spots such as the behind the bowl, mixer not working in the tub and towels did not have the fresh clean smell like most hotels! Otherwise everything else was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury, MA

Present owner renovating...very neat and clean...

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Responsive and caring staff.
Cons: Above
Location: Central location between Pittsfield and Williamstown
Historic motel,allowed to deteriorate, now slowly being restored by determined owner. Pets allowed . Comfortable beds and clean, well lit bathrooms. Needs new towels and a small freezer in the fridge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Worn and weary rooms

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location and price. But would pay more for a better room experience.
Cons: Clean, paint, replace some furnishings
Room was sloppily painted in places, and carpets, furniture cushions had stains. Dust on dresser and TV, bathroom was worn and aged. Tile dirty in the bath. A motel that has not aged well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another place to stay

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was quite disappointing, and I would not recommend staying here. The staff forgot to clean our room and replace/linens and towels when we returned to the room late at night after a day out. The mini-fridge froze all of our food and beverages, including expensive craft beer. The temperature adjustment knob was missing. The shower is an old-style, three-knob affair, and the shower/bath knob was nearly impossible to turn on/off. The heating unit was unusually loud. On the plus side, the room was relatively quiet, and the mattress was comfortable. Upon checking out I told the manager about the above issues (especially No. 1) and requested a refund of one-night's fees (we stayed for 2). He offered a 10 percent discount, which was unacceptable. We eventually settled on a 20% discount. I waited about 10 minutes for him to process the invoice, which he was never able to do ("Terrible system," he said), so he gave me $40 in cash. Frankly, I'm not sure what I ended up paying. I believe this place was once charming. Today, it is dilapidated and poorly run. You can find something better!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please update this hotel!

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in need of an update. Bed linens were clean, but chair and carpet needed to be cleaned wicked! Tolerable for a night or two.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
A basic and comfortable motel. Convenient to skiing.
4 out of 5
by meri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels