Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Updates needed and in disrepair!!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff was the best part of our stay! The lobby was nice and not at all like the disrepair of the room and floor our room was located on! Bathtub was totally patch and didn't appear useable! The vanity was also patched! The floor (carpet) was old and very used in appearance! Furniture, drawers scratched and messy looking! Our phone didn't even work! Not at all the standards I expect of a Hilton property! I will never stay there again and plan on sending a complaint to Hilton....Do not book the Doubletree in New Bern, NC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: The shuttle driver.
Cons: Read above!
The shuttle driver was very nice. Arrived around 12:30 a.m. First thing i looked for was the cookie you are suppose to get - none to be had. Got the room key, as i was walking thru the hotel, noticed how dirty it was. Tiles through all hallways were cracking, chipped. Got to the room and I was so exhausted I just plopped into the bed. Got up in the morning and found the headboard to be disgusting. Went into the bathroom and I would not step foot in the tub to take a shower, paint was peeling and it just looked dirty. Started looking around the room and I can't believe they would let a customer stay in it and stupid me - i paid for it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middletown, CT

Lovely location overlooking a marina

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect - parking was plentiful. Air conditioning was quiet and performed well. The staff kept the room clean and tidy.
Cons: We made 2 requests for a simple plumbing repair - one on our first day and one on our second day of a nine day stay. The repair never was made.
Location: Within walking distance of fun shops and restaurants. Tryon Palace is an interesting historical tour and is within easy walking distance of the hotel
On the plus side, our room was ready early allowing for early check-in; it was clean; bed was comfortable; decent amenities. On the minus side, our shower head needed replacement but despite two requests and two promises that it would be changed, this didn't happen during a 9 day stay. The pool (which was tiny for a hotel that size) was closed for repairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Nice view of the New Bern waterfront

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Room and the view were great. Hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Check in was a lil slow tho.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Enjoyed the shops nearby

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Checked into the room approximately 3:30-4pm. Dirty towels were outside of each room. Had planned to use swimming pool but it was half filled with water and in process if repair. Other than that, it was a pleassnt stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leland, nc

Weekend trip to New Bern, NC gone bad

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Did research on the internet
Cons: Better housekeeping and customer service, have a refrigerator in the room and offer discount since pool was not functional on a 95 degree day
Location: MJ's Raw Bar and Grille is outstanding. Great shops on Middle Street
Room's refrigerator had been removed, the dirty towels from the previous guests were not picked up until 5 hours hours ,5 calls / visits to the front desk and the pool had been drained. Great location on the waterfront but an embarrassment to the Hilton name.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD

Convenient location in a cute town

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity to downtown
The Doubletree is sprawling hotels with multiple buildings right on the marina. It is at the end of the main downtown retail and restaurant area so you can walk to everything. The rooms were larger than most and comfortable. the only downside was the air conditioning was a bit loud, but with temperatures in New Bern around 100 degrees, I'm not really complaining as our room was quite cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Location; but pool not open

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The location was ideal for the activities we participated in. The pool was not open which was a contributing factor in booking this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Needs some work on staff services

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Beautiful location on New Bern harbor; great river views. Unfortunately there were a few issues: we arrived at 420 and we had been told check in was at 3 but Tasha insisted it was at 4. Nevertheless, the room was not ready. She did give us free drink coupons but the waitress (Heather?) couldn't even tell us what beers were on draft. We had bikes and were told that the hotel didn't have room for storage and we had to put them in our room. This was the fifth hotel on our trip and this had not been an issue at any other one. We put the bikes on the balcony (as there were no chairs to sit on out there to enjoy the beautiful view.) The balcony door was REALLY hard to open. We used the commode in the room and it was not a major use of it (if you know what I mean) and it overflowed. We tried to call for maintenance but no one answered the phone at the front desk. My husband went downstairs; finally tracked someone down and he/ she handed him a plunger and some towels. Really?? We plan on visiting New Bern often and I was disappointed that this hotel with its very beautiful location was sub-par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Nice, Walkable to Historic Downtown

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location. Good pillows for a hotel.
Cons: Lamp by bed didn't work.
Location: Lots of boutiques, gift shops and restaurants.
I was here for business, so didn't have time to enjoy all the area had to offer. The Double Tree was convenient and I could explore the little shops and restaurants without having to Uber.