Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
What the hotel lacked in amenities the staff made up for in attentiveness. However, one staying here should know that some of the rooms are outside entrances and others are accessible from the lobby via a hallway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Hotel Violates Americans With Disabilities Act

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Gruene, a scenic old farming town, is within New Braunfels and has many nice shops and restaurants.
The hotel refused to give us a first floor room for our 3 night stay, despite that fact that they had first floor rooms physically vacant on the day and time of our arrival. The hotel staff insisted on sticking with that decision despite the fact the hotel has no elevator or other way for a customer in a wheel chair to get to a hotel room on the second floor. Apparently the hotel thinks it can treat customers who book through Expedia as second class citizens, that the amount we pay for our hotel room booked through Expedia extinguishes any rights a customer in a wheel chair may have under the Americans With Disabilities Act. Boy are they wrong. So we will be filing a written complaint with the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division, which enforces the Americans With Disabilities Act. We encourage any other handicapped customers to do the same.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Used this hotel as a base for house hunting. Lots of restaurant options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel style and noisy, smoky neighbors

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The pictures were true to the room--newer decor, nice and comfortable. There were crickets everywhere outside (including in the hot tub, so we decided not to use it), and a few dead ones in the room. The big issue I had with my stay was the fact that the back half of the hotel was motel style with the doors facing the parking lot, so our neighbors felt they could hang out half dressed on the sidewalk outside our rooms and smoke and chat half the night--apparently the side walk is their personal living room. So as we unloaded our vehicle, our room filled with smoke, and any time we opened the door, we got another waft of smoke. I think it was coming in under the door too. Would have asked for a different room, but there is no elevator and the only other room was upstairs and my husband is disabled. So with tired kids and no desire to pick a fight or breathe in the smoke again while trying to sort it out, we just put a blanket at the bottom of the door to block the smoke and fell asleep to the sounds of some woman talking outside the door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not use this property again..

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Everything could be improved!!!!
Location: Not the best location..
Room and staff were below expectations for BW....Room smelled...My allergies were blow off the wall...Room was not cleaned, or towels provided...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

The hotel's location was vey ideal.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
I was not very impressed with the condition of the room. I booked a nonsmoking room & as soon as you walked in the door in you were hit with the pungent stale cigarette odor. It was very overwhelming. I ended up with a headache. I called to the front desk asking if there were any other rooms. She said they were booked completely. She suggested an air spray to "help" with the smell. Then she suggested I call around to see if any other rooms were available in the area. I was told upon checking in to not smoke in the room as it was a nonsmoking room. Ironic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Not quite what I expected. Close to shopping and free breakfast were benefits.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best trip I've ever had

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The room was nice and comfortable with good shower pressure and a nice TV. I really really enjoyed my stay here and Nwe Braunfels is maybe my favorite town in the United States. I wish I could have stayed longer and I would absolutely go back to this hotel. I recommend it to anyone looking to stay in New Braunfels. It was wonderful. I felt right at home.