Ratings based on 1,225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great if you are visiting Tx State Univ

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Loved the location because we came down for the Homecoming game. It was very close to the school and Lyft rides were dirt cheap.
Cons: The décor could use some updating.
Location: Visit the greatest outlet mall in the country and the greatest university in the state of Texas - Texas State University!
Great room. The room had an odor when we walked in but it just needed to be aired out a bit. It's rather dated in terms of décor however, I think that is part of their charm. I would definitely call it a 'cute and charming' hotel. It felt very much like a bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy agradable hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Todo excelente hace falta fumigar las habitaciones
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and the dining area were both very nice.
The hotel was clean, staff was awesome and our room was very comfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Clean room and close to business meeting. The staff knew I was leaving for meetings and always had coffee ready early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri City TX

Excellent Service

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The Staff and location
Cons: The breakfast could have more choices such as grits on the menu.
Location: It was located near a major high and restaurant.
The check-In Staff was very understanding and courteous. Location was close to Texas State University and a major restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Available and met our needs

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The room was clean but there were stains on the carpet that were unappealing. We asked for non down pillows and blankets when we made the reservation since I am very allergic to down. Our bed had down pillows and comforter. The hotel exchanged the bedding after we informed them. My husband asked the housekeeper the next day to remove all down items but instead she made it with down. We called and had them replace the bedding with non down bedding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly Maintained Facilities with MOLD

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and coffee
Cons: Mold mitigation is needed. This is a health concern. If you value your health do not stay here. Facilities need to be maintained more proactively.
Location: There is little to do nearby. Drive 35 - 45 minutes to Austin or 90 minutes to San Antonio for more activity choices.
- The hot breakfast was on par with similar hotels in the area, and the coffee is good and always available in the lobby - There is a mold problem (new filter in medical equipment was darkened by mold after only a couple of days) - The swimming pool was closed for maintenance for my entire length of stay - Internet connection was barely usable despite strong signal and low room occupancy - ATM machine in lobby not functional - Ground-floor elevator button not functional for 24 hours - Power was disconnected to the building for an extended period of time - Ice Machines on floors 2 and 3 are inoperable - Main parking entrance was blocked for an extended period of time while city power crew was at work - There was a light bulb missing from one of the lamps in my room upon checkin - Raisin cookies every day??? Most people don't care for raisin cookies - The management did not seem to care about resolving problems in a timely fashion, and management did not take a proactive role in identifying problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Pablo P., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Expedia. We take every complaint very seriously, and on behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I am elated to inform the ATM is functional, and the city of San Marcos finished infrastructure installation so we are not looking to have any more power outages for the foreseeable future. We have also hired a roofing company to fix some roof damage which causes increased humidity in the hotel. At the moment we are experiencing heavy rain once again in San Marcos as well as possible flooding. We were also able to diagnose that the reason for the ice machines not working it seems it was due to the power outages we experienced. I assure you we are working diligently on all the items you addressed in order to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Pablo G. Palomino General Manger Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleburne, Tx

Close proximity to Interatate and attractions

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Stay was quiet, breakfast buffet had a nice assortment. Will return if in area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
very nice, quiet and plenty of room. the swimming pool was closed or being repaired but did not have time for a swim anyway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McAllen

Great stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Delicious breakfast, spacious comfortable rooms very cozy, so cozy made it hard to leave the rooms each day to shop.