Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Braunfels, Texas

Misrepresentation

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I reserved this room with the primary intention of being able to open a balcony door and see the river and enjoy outside sounds in my room. However, due to having made reservations via Expedia, I wound up in a smaller than average room, next to a storage closet, with no balcony and a view only of the parking lot. I will never go through Expedia again and I will never pay for a hotel in advance, as there was absolutely no option for upgrade, etc. In addition, the manager on duty was curt and disrespectful toward me. She would not even consider my request. I'll not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Best place for families!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Lake access and price
Location: tubing, Schlitterbahn, swimming in Hill country, San Antonio and Austin are great day trips. San Marcos outlet shopping
So this is our 3rd stay at this hotel. What I love is that it's close enough to tubing, Schlitterbahn, etc. without being in the middle of it all. They provide enough activities along with water access that my family opted one day just to hang at the hotel. The staff is amazing and nice, they make you feel very welcome to stay. The rooms are clean and modern as is the atmosphere of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

River View

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Make sure to get a balcony or river view room. The grounds are lovely and water activities are run by a really cool couple. We played outdoor games provided and enjoyed the live music on the weekend nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great location on the river

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The property grounds and location
Cons: Please allow pets
Location: centrally located to both the Comal and Guadalupe rivers, San Marcos outlets not too far.
What a great surprise this hotel was. Not your typical Courtyard experience, it has a bit of a resort vibe to it. We stayed for a Saturday night and I wish we had stayed more days to explore the hotel. They had entertainment for the kids and a nice little trio band playing over the beautiful lawns that face a very private section of the river. I wish we had brought our paddle boards but they do have rentals available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK experience

Posted Jul 18, 2017
For what the room cost was somewhat disappointed. No balcony, loud AC unit that interrupted my sleep, noisy neighbors and horrible breakfast which should have been free considering the over priced cost of the room. Will not be going back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Texas

Nasty swimming pool

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Not exactly a top notch hotel. But it's nice. Then you walk outside and see the river and it's pretty. Then you see the swimming pool and get disgusted. I suggested to an employee that the water be tested and maybe chemical added, but that fell on deaf ears. I didn't want my family in it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beds not so great

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Everything about this hotel was nice with the exception of the beds. There was no mattress cover on the beds only a fitted sheet. The bedding in general was limited. I found it surprising considering the rest of the place was nice. If this doesn't bother you then you'll love this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

This hotel was lovely and very family friendly!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel grounds were picturesque and unexpected in the middle of a busy city. There is access to the Guadalupe River and fun water activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to river for floating

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Everything was lovely - the only gripe I have is that there's no complementary breakfast. For the money you pay for the rooms, I would think that they'd throw in something!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Needs work

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The campus offered nice perks but one day no room service, no clean towels which ordinarily wouldn't be a big deal but this property is on the river so you spend a lot of time out in it. Our door lock had an issue and needed a repair, housekeeping could not get it to close so they left it cracked. Our room smelled horrible, they said it was newly redone. Employees were very nice but many inconsistencies with the property.