Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and fly filled room

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Just about everything. Dirty and broken would be my summary
Location: Book earlier and stay at newer hotel across street
I stayed for Texas State game, just needed a place to sleep. First room was fly filled. 30+, next room had hair in bed, broken counter tops, tv, phone, and walls. Very dirty floors and not up to acceptable. Choice Hotel parent company basically said, better luck next time. Wife and I bought sleeping bags instead of sleep in bed. I never leave reviews, but this place was soooooo bad, I felt compelled to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The place is really dirty. They need to clean everyday. The stairs were really dirty, the ice machine was dirty too they need to really clean the place. The room was ok but the carpet need to be washed and the furniture need to be in better shape the drawers were broken. And we found a pair of dirty socks next to the bed...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
The rooms are disgusting & the staff are rude. No extra linen available, I was actually given dirty pillow cases when asking for another one. Spend the extra $20 on a better hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Good price, not so good experience.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Good price, reasonable distance from where I needed to be for the weekend.
Cons: When we tried to use the microwave, it would not turn on. However, when I went to open the microwave it turned on with the door wide open...not good.
Location: Very close to many hot spots in San Marcos, and was within a good distance from Austin.
Easy check in process, convenient location. Bathroom didn't appear clean, and microwave was broken. Many loud neighbors between the hours of 1am-4:30am. Made for a short night's sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Disappointing

Posted Mar 16, 2016
I don't expect much from a 2-star hotel. Just needed a cheap place to stay for 1 night. But I still got less than I paid for. I could have saved some money and stayed at a local roach motel and gotten the same experience. Didn't feel clean, room was uncomfortable and smelled bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
They did accommodate our request to transfer to a different room but took a cold shower rooms are not in that great of shape
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rude front desk person. air condition didn't work.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING! starting with cleaning out the entire hotel
IT WAS AWFUL!!! BED BUGS!!! I woke up with bites all over my arms!! my doctor says that it was probably from the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

C- at best

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Proximity and location
Cons: Beds, pricing
Location: Good location
Beds are uncomfortable and for the money not a good deal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical EconoLodge

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: No a lot. air conditioner worked well. Sheets and towels were clean.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Don't know. Stayed to visit family and did not explore the area.
Run down, minimal repairs, owner obviously maximizing profits by providing minimal -- though clean -- accommodations. A positive is the sports bar next door. It was packed with locals and I saw why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Last Minute Booking

Posted May 16, 2015
Experience went well, found deal on app, was able to check in no problem, attendant informed about breakfast, didn't speak much. overall room itself was great! Would consider staying here again if necessary.